Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support


Windows menu/address bar missing in all folders!! HELP!!

This is a discussion on Windows menu/address bar missing in all folders!! HELP!! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys please help me to get my address bar and menu bar back in all of my folders. Initially


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-07-2007, 05:13 AM   #1
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Hey guys please help me to get my address bar and menu bar back in all of my folders. Initially I had them but now they are gone. I think my oldest daughter did something and now they are gone. Any sugestions? Thanks.
George Safford is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-07-2007, 05:26 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Ger_ryan22's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dublin - Residing In Manchester UK
Posts: 138
OS: Windows XP SP2


Hey there mate, what happens when you hold alt+ press 'f'?? Does that bring you a toolbar? If so, go to 'View' and select the toolbar and address bar!
Ger_ryan22 is offline  
Old 03-07-2007, 05:54 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Lydokane's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 526
OS: Win 7


Press F11

Lydokane
Lydokane is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 07:32 AM   #4
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Sorry guys niether one of thos work. Man this is annoying. Thanks for trying.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 09:42 AM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus
Open up Internet Explorer. Does that show you an "Address Bar" and "Menus"? If so, simply type in "C:\" into the address bar (if your HD is on C:\). Do the menus stay, or dissapear?

If the menus and address bar are not in Internet Explorer, let me know!
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:34 AM   #6
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System

Quote:
Originally Posted by _Icarus View Post
Open up Internet Explorer. Does that show you an "Address Bar" and "Menus"? If so, simply type in "C:\" into the address bar (if your HD is on C:\). Do the menus stay, or dissapear?

If the menus and address bar are not in Internet Explorer, let me know!
Yes I have all toolbars under Internet exploer.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 11:59 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus
And what happens when you type in "C:\" ... they appear then? If they appear then, than it's not a problem with your Windows Explorer ... what folder does this problem specifically happen in?
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:06 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 425
OS: Windows XP Home


I think that if you go to Microsoft explorer (not internet explorer) tools, folder options, view you can click the box that says display full path in address bar and the box that says, display full path in title bar you will get what you want back.
swaffml is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:06 PM   #9
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


When I type C:\ all the folders show under neath. There are no toolbars, menus or address bar on any window I open except IE.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:09 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus
Okay, so the menu bars dissappear when accessing C:\ from Internet Explorer. You should try resetting your Internet Explorer settings.

Go to control panel --> internet options

On the first page, click "delete cookies" and "delete files." If it asks if you want to delete offline content, select "yes". This will clear out temporary files and cookies that are bogging down IE. Also, click "clear history" on that page.

Go to the "content" tab and click "Clear SSL State".

Move on to the "Advanced Tab" and click "Restore Defaults". Let me know if this solves your problem.

Also reset your "Folder Options" ... these can be found in the Control Panel too.

Open up "Folder Options," and click "Restore Defaults." Click this on the "General" and "View" tabs.
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:21 PM   #11
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Still nothing and I rebooted after making all changes. If I right click in the far left corner and hit exploer then it will open a new window and all is present their.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:25 PM   #12
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus

What?! Wait, this only happens when you open a specific folder?
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:28 PM   #13
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by _Icarus View Post
What?! Wait, this only happens when you open a specific folder?
This happens with all folders except Internet Exploer. Hey go to www.webshots.com
look for topcat88 albums and look for the stupid album and you can see. The one in the back ground is what I get every time I open a windows folder and the one in the foreground is what I get when I right click the left corner and hit exploer.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:29 PM   #14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus

Uhhh ... can I just have the link to the photos? :) (EDIT: Nevermind, found them)
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:31 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus
Question

Ummm weird ... I will look into this. What's even weirder is the fact that IE is fine, but Explorer is not (they're both the same program!!!).
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:32 PM   #16
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Yes my control panel always had a menu bar and all others. Just loaded up another pick in my webshots with multiple windows open.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 12:34 PM   #17
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus

What happens when you boot your computer into "safe mode?" To do this, press F8 while the computer is loading, and select "safe mode".
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 01:02 PM   #18
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


I will give it a whirl and get back with ya.
George Safford is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 01:06 PM   #19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rhode Island
Posts: 198
OS: Windows XP Professional/Mac OSX


Send a message via AIM to _Icarus Send a message via Skype™ to _Icarus

Okay ... i'll be here!
_Icarus is offline  
Old 03-12-2007, 01:28 PM   #20
I helped the forums.
 
George Safford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Essex Junction, Vermont
Posts: 870
OS: Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit

My System


Nope no dice it is the same in safe mode. Should I remove IE and reinstall?
George Safford is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:59 PM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2017 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com