Hi and welcome to TSF.
Usually the 'other person' is actually the Operating System. It may well be accessing, or trying to access the file you want to delete. Often a simple boot to Safe Mode and deletion from there will solve the problem.
is a useful small programme that can delete files, even if you get that message.