Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

volume gone on a old h.d. computer with xp.

This is a discussion on volume gone on a old h.d. computer with xp. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi there :] i need some help re installing a volume driver?I somehow removed volume from my computer and am


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-27-2011, 01:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 1
OS: xp


Mistake

hi there :] i need some help re installing a volume driver?I somehow removed volume from my computer and am unable to retrive it,it say's window's is unable to do it,due to the fact the my computer no longer has the software.i have no disc's with this computer,do i need to buy it or take it in?or can i install from windows website,or burn a disc from somewhere like i did for my windows disc?ty for the help i really need it .i have a old h.p.widows xp. media centre edition 2005 ty :] and please keep in mind i'm a computer idiot and i hope i'm in the right thread,i'm greatful for any help.one very,very late night i clicked a lil icon that said volume thinking i was turning it off temp. i turned it back on then off again,since then the volume does not work,and it say's something to the effect volume ability is gone,when my neighbour came over to download some i-tunes,the mesg. said it may not work properly as well.i don't know how to reistall the volume software if that is what's needed,and i don't have any disc's with this computer,thank you for any help.

__________________
morrg is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 02:07 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


What is the make and model of the machine?

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 02:19 PM   #3
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,809
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



also see this How to find drivers
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 11-27-2011, 04:28 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,796
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Please tell us the exact error message you're seeing. Here is a description of a Volume There is no Driver or software to download or install for a Windows Volume, this is installed automatically when you add a Volume. But XP may not be recognizing the File system of the Volume. Did this Drive (Volume) have a Drive letter? Is the Drive Letter still listed in My Computer? You can run Check Disk on the drive to reclaim the file system. Please answer these questions and we can walk you through the rest.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 11:28 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,809
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



spunkfunk I think it may be the sound driver they are refering to here
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 11-28-2011, 04:26 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,796
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Ahhh! Good catch Joe, I see you speak noob. Yes Moorg, tell us the make and model# of your computer. Go to Start/Run and type devmgmt.msc and press enter. In the Device Manager are there any yellow marks next to devices? If so these devices need to have drivers installed. You can go to the computer manufacturers support/download drivers site and type in your service tag or your Make and Model# and download the Audio Driver for your computer.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 11-29-2011, 08:24 AM   #7
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,809
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



LOL I still think of myself in that way probably always will

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
System Restore Virus Not removed completely
I recently got a System Restore Virus and was able to remove a lot of it using Malwarebytes. My scan is now clean although my TrendMicro Software is picking up several viruses/trojans that it cannot remove and google searches are redirected. I had difficulty downloading and running dds (it runs...
tdoby724 Resolved HJT Threads 16 11-07-2011 03:04 PM
Being Redirected to other sites when Searching on Google
Hello, My problem is that I am being redirected to other sites when searching using Google. I searched around and was told it is a redirection malware/virus that cannot be detected with my normal virus scanner. I was also told I could use "Combofix", but not to use it unless directed to...
cheriserandle Resolved HJT Threads 24 07-31-2011 09:11 PM
Google Redirect
Hi everyone! Last week my computer had bluescreened and it had the Critical Disk Error virus which I was able to remove using rkill & Malware, but now it seems that I am having the Google Redirect problem. Not sure if these two are related, but wanted to include that in there in case it was. ...
irenekau Resolved HJT Threads 1 06-14-2011 02:06 PM
new issues with an old XP machine. Is it a virus McAfee can't find and clean?
For the past 2 months something is not right with our home computer, and I don’t know what. I run McAfee, but the scan does not seem to run, takes days to finish and sometimes only says 1200 files scanned with no virus detected. When I run task manager says CPU usage is 100%. IE hangs up or...
tony_g Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 20 05-26-2011 09:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:36 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts