Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Using Hirens boot cd

This is a discussion on Using Hirens boot cd within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi Back in November I posted a question about xp with a boot problem. Your advice was to download a


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-14-2010, 03:16 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3


Cry

Hi
Back in November I posted a question about xp with a boot problem.
Your advice was to download a Hirens boot and burn a cd.
After much frustration I have now made a Hirens boot cd 12.00 and run it.
I have loaded the mini xp section and tried to run chkdsk /p C: and all I get is invalid paramitters.
When I run chkdsk I get the message read only, but it shows no bad sectors and 119807 kb total disk space amonst other information.
The command prompt shows up as X:\i386\system32
when I run chkdsk/F it says file system is ntfs cannot lock current drive
chkdsk cannot run because the volume is in use by another process.

If I try and chance directory to either cd /C: or cd /D: it says drive not recognised.
I have two disc drives by the way Windows is on C: . D: just has some files on it. Windows is xp home with sp3 installed
Windows was preinstalled so I do not have the windows disk.
Any further suggestions as this is driving me round the twist.http://www.techsupportforum.com/imag...es/1-upset.gif
:upset


Thanks

__________________
john-boy is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 05:38 AM   #2
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



Weel, to start with, the format for the command is chkdsk C: /p (or whatever switch you want, eg, /p /R /F).

For the cd command, have you tried just typing c: ?

__________________
CCT is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 05:51 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
fractalman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 361
OS: Win7 Pro 64 bit w/latest updates



Try "chkdsk c: /x /r" (without the quotes). The "/x" switch forces the drive volume to dismount.
__________________
fractalman93 is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 09:04 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 71
OS: Windows 7 Pro x86 - Xp Pro x86 sp3



First, when you see the message the volume is in use and chkdsk /f cannot be performed give it a minute or two then you will be prompted to schedule the scan for the next boot. When prompted to schedule the scan tpye y > press enter > type exit > press enter. The message you are seeing is perfectly normal for running chkdsk /f while the disk is in use.

<Mod Edit: Removed info on cd with illegal content>
__________________
TechGeek2 is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 09:38 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
fractalman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 361
OS: Win7 Pro 64 bit w/latest updates



TechGeek2, he's booting with Hiren's Boot CD. That's not the problem. It's just a BART CD with a bunch of apps on it. He just needs to add the "/x" switch to dismount the drive as I instructed him.
__________________
fractalman93 is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 03:07 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



Thanks for the three replies
I have tried chkdsk C:/x/r and I get the message "cannot open volume for direct access"
Every variation of chkdsk gets me the same mesage or no result at all. Having looked at 'my computor' it shows the following
3.5 floppy drive (A) B ramdrive 358mb D= cd drive, E=cd drive
x mini xp 116mb.
No metion of the two hard drives which were C & D.
It seems as though the system is not seeing drive C: or D:
I have tried chkdsk on D, just in case the drive letters have become switched. but nothing more happens.

I have also tried some of the other items on the hirens boot cd and not of them have offered me a fix.

I am totally baffled, any further suggestions please.

Cheers john
__________________
john-boy is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:12 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


In the Mini-XP either click on the command prompt icon or go to Start/Run and type CMD. In the Command Prompt type C : and hit enter(this should change the X: prompt to C: ) If so then type chkdsk /F. If that fails, at the X:> prompt type DIR C:
This should show the contents of the C: drive, if Windows is not listed then this is not the boot drive.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 10:36 PM   #8
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by john-boy View Post
No metion of the two hard drives which were C & D.
It seems as though the system is not seeing drive C: or D:
You answered your own question. Sounds like boot disc you're using isn't recognizing your SATA hard drives or your hard drives are completely dead. Most likely the former. Try a different recovery CD or a Windows XP retail cd and use the recovery console. You could also try changing the SATA option to compatible mode in your Bios.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 12-15-2010, 07:57 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
fractalman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 361
OS: Win7 Pro 64 bit w/latest updates



Quote:
Originally Posted by Fred Garvin View Post
You answered your own question. Sounds like boot disc you're using isn't recognizing your SATA hard drives or your hard drives are completely dead. Most likely the former. Try a different recovery CD or a Windows XP retail cd and use the recovery console. You could also try changing the SATA option to compatible mode in your Bios.
Actually, unfortunately, I'd say it's the latter. Still, you can verify which of us is correct by finding someone who has a retail version of Windows XP slipstreamed with SP3. If you go to a "mom and pop" PC repair shop, they'll probably be willing to burn you a copy for a couple of dollars. Just tell them your using it for troubleshooting and not to actually install WinXP.
__________________
fractalman93 is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 05:05 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



Thanks guys for your suggestions.
Having tried most of them and none of them have worked, I have resorted to ordering a windows xp home disc with sp3.
This should arrive in the next two days and lets hope that it does the trick.
I will keep you posted.

John.
__________________
john-boy is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 05:09 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



To Fractalman93
My bios is Amibios 08.00.09 01/26/05 ID A0036001
I have been into the bios settings and cannot see where to change the sata options ?
__________________
john-boy is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 03:52 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 71
OS: Windows 7 Pro x86 - Xp Pro x86 sp3



Unless your hard drive is completely dead, imho you went around the block to end up in the same place. It would have been sooo much easier to create the Utility Disc I linked you to in my post above, boot from the disc into ERD Commander and attempt a system restore. The disc also has Windows Recovery console. Alternatively, if you didn't want to try the ERD Commander you could have simply created a bootable Recovery Console disc.

Of course, it should be noted that I do not know what your initial problem was other than a boot issue. Many boot issues can be repaired but, it would depend on the issue as to which command you use. fixmbr and/or fixboot repair a number of boot related issues. There is also a repair for NTLDR errors on the Utility Disc.
__________________
TechGeek2 is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 05:04 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 200
OS: XP



Run HDD Regenerator off the Hiren's instead of chkdsk.
__________________
Jonny Robot is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 09:56 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
fractalman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 361
OS: Win7 Pro 64 bit w/latest updates



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonny Robot View Post
Run HDD Regenerator off the Hiren's instead of chkdsk.
That takes a LONG time, but I have had it work where chkdsk and other methods have failed on a few occasions. It's worth a try.

Quote:
Originally Posted by john-boy
To Fractalman93
My bios is Amibios 08.00.09 01/26/05 ID A0036001
I have been into the bios settings and cannot see where to change the sata options ?
That was actually Fred Garvin how mentioned the BIOS settings.
__________________
fractalman93 is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:04 PM   #15
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
OS: WIndows



Quote:
Originally Posted by fractalman93 View Post
That takes a LONG time, but I have had it work where chkdsk and other methods have failed on a few occasions. It's worth a try.



That was actually Fred Garvin how mentioned the BIOS settings.
No, I think you are thinking of "SpinRite" which takes DAYS. (and I've never known it to work)

HDD Regenerator can run a 160 Gbyte (that has no bad sectors) in about an hour. Longest I've seen it run was 3 days, and that was on a completely dead HD with 10's of thousands of bad sectors.

Typically, I see errors on the order of 5 to 50, and expect it to run no more than 4 hours. More errors, more time however.
__________________
cucufata is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:06 PM   #16
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,469
OS: XP Pro



Is your hard drive recognized in BIOS? It sounds to me like you're trying to run scans on a drive letter that isn't assigned, either because the boot cd's you're using have assigned a drive letter other than C: to your hard disk, or because your hard drive is dead and can't be seen by the computer.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:26 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
fractalman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 361
OS: Win7 Pro 64 bit w/latest updates



Quote:
Originally Posted by cucufata View Post
No, I think you are thinking of "SpinRite" which takes DAYS. (and I've never known it to work)

HDD Regenerator can run a 160 Gbyte (that has no bad sectors) in about an hour. Longest I've seen it run was 3 days, and that was on a completely dead HD with 10's of thousands of bad sectors.

Typically, I see errors on the order of 5 to 50, and expect it to run no more than 4 hours. More errors, more time however.
No. Definitely HDD Regenerator. When I say long, I'm talking like 3 hours as opposed to 40 minutes for chkdsk /r.
__________________
fractalman93 is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:45 PM   #18
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 26
OS: WIndows



Quote:
Originally Posted by fractalman93 View Post
No. Definitely HDD Regenerator. When I say long, I'm talking like 3 hours as opposed to 40 minutes for chkdsk /r.
I've brought back HD's using HDD Regenerator that chkdsk would not scan.
__________________
cucufata is offline  
Old 12-16-2010, 10:54 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
fractalman93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 361
OS: Win7 Pro 64 bit w/latest updates



Quote:
Originally Posted by cucufata View Post
I've brought back HD's using HDD Regenerator that chkdsk would not scan.
Exactly. That's why I said it's worth a shot.
__________________
fractalman93 is offline  
Old 12-17-2010, 02:41 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: N-west England UK
Posts: 50
OS: xp service pack sp3



Just to let you all know how the problem first occured.
I was booting the computer up from cold and I get this message
windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt. \windows\system32\config\system
Reboot with widows disk (which I do not have)yet) and selct 'r' at the first screen.
The bios recognises the two disk drives as ft tx ary 1 and ft tx ary 2
I have tried to used the hdd regen programme but when I try it using dos off the hirens boot the menu item was there but when I tried it, it said something like not present (just forgotten exactly what).
When I used one of the disk checking utilities it seeme to show windows on disk C but on the second partition which I don't think I created ? could it be the problem that it only reads the first partition when I try and boot. If so how do I remove this first partition ?
Or am I just better waiting for my widows xp cd to arrive.
I shall try again Tomorrow, Saturday.

Thanks again guys.

__________________
john-boy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:25 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts