Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

trouble downloading anything

This is a discussion on trouble downloading anything within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. have a friend of mine that recently brought me is laptop to look at, and i cant put my finger


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-09-2006, 10:25 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO



have a friend of mine that recently brought me is laptop
to look at, and i cant put my finger on whats going on

it wont download anything, it will seem as though it is for instance

i went to download firefox for him
and i set to save to desktop when prompted however when its finished
downloading its not there, the download screen just disapears
upon completion even though box isnt checked,

so i tried just to run it and it gets to point where window pops up
to install and click instal and window vanishes and nothing happens

ive check temp folders and cleared them ive tried system restore
set all internet options to default closed all virus programs,
no firewall up and still nothing
and it does this on everything thats downloaded or rather attempted

its funny because there is no errors that come up it just acts as though
nothing happened , created a folder for downloads and assigned everything to download to it and following downloads nothings there..

im wondering if the windows defender is a culprit here but i deleted it and still nothing, but maybe still remnants in registry or something

i hope that made sense and if any1 has any ideas please help


i ran online panda scan and nothing shows , aside from that i checked
logs and comp seems to be clean

__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 04:24 AM   #2
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,124
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Can you take the file/program from a cd/floppy and successfully install?

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 10-10-2006, 05:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


thanks for quick reply!
i just threw norton in machine and it installed with no problem

so i guess its running everything fine via cdrom
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 03:29 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


tried some other software and everything is installing ok
however once again unable to download online
not even remnants of files showing up folowing downloads

weirdest thing.....
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-11-2006, 03:39 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


Anyone have any ideas???
ive googled this problem to no end , and the only thing that really turns up
is people re-installing the windows installer however they are all getting
system errors upon install attempt, i get nothing and i can install
via disc no problem
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-12-2006, 08:06 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


k i can download and install successfuly
on mozilla however i am still unable to on explorer
i think its as a result of windows defender however
i cannot uninstall it via add/remove it just
tells me it can find installer package, so to
remedy i tried to re-download defender however
it gives me an error that says it encountered a problem
and is unable to remove the current defender to rewrite
over it , that and it will also not allowing me to delete avg
either just get installation error when trying to do so
in add/remove .....is there a way to remove these programs manually ??
i can remove the folders in program files but i know that
remnants are in registry ect....


it seems as though i stumped everyone lol
with original post hopefuly , someone can shed some
light on myp current question
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 01:28 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


ok so i removed said programs however to no avail still
explorer is unwilling to give in ...
guess ill try seeing what windows updates there are and
hope that resolves it ,

i reinstalled explorer and that didnt work either
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 03:07 AM   #8
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,124
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


Perform a Repair Installation

Configure your computer to start from the CD-ROM drive. Then insert your Windows XP Setup CD, and restart your computer.

1.When the Press any key to boot from CD message is displayed on your screen, press a key to start your computer from the Windows XP CD.

2.Press ENTER when you see the message To setup Windows XP now, and then press ENTER displayed on the Welcome to Setup screen.

3.Do not choose the option to press R to use the Recovery Console.

4.In the Windows XP Licensing Agreement, press F8 to agree to the license agreement.

5.Make sure that your current installation of Windows XP is selected in the box, and then press R to repair Windows XP.

6.Follow the instructions on the screen to complete Setup.

If you have xp sp2 installed it needs to be incorporated into your xp disk or it will not offer the repair option only the clean install.

Slipstreaming Windows XP Service Pack 2 and Create Bootable CD
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 10-13-2006, 01:54 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


i will give it a shot later this evening
thanks for reply
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-14-2006, 12:19 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


just curious i only have a winxp pro disc with sp2 included,
will that work if the os on the notebook is xphome sp2??
__________________
munoshi is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 11:53 AM   #11
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,124
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT


No you cannot use the Pro cd
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 10-15-2006, 03:40 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 137
OS: WINXP PRO


no prob found the home disc, will post back im doin repair now

__________________
munoshi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts