Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Transfer XP Operating system to a new hard drive

This is a discussion on Transfer XP Operating system to a new hard drive within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have my Windows XP operating system installed in the C Drive it came with. I recently installed a larger


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-26-2009, 09:34 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
OS: XP, service pack 2


Confused

I have my Windows XP operating system installed in the C Drive it came with. I recently installed a larger hard drive in a 2nd slot for it. Now, how do I successfully transfser the operating system on the original Drive C to the new hard drive, so I can boot up with it. Since the computer (Dell 4600) is a cable select system, I would then have to physically swap the locations of the 2 hard drives. I am afraid that it I simply copy the original C drive onto the new hard drive and then do a physical swap, it won't boot up properly.

Ernie Endes

__________________
endese is offline  
Old 12-27-2009, 05:24 AM   #2
Microsoft MVP
 
TheOutcaste's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 3,123
OS: MS-Dos 6.22 - Win7



Welcome to TSF!

You need to clone the drive, then change their positions on the cable before rebooting. If either drive is a Seagate/Maxtor or Western Digital, they have free software available to do that.

Imaging Software

Free:
Macrium Reflect
DriveImage XML
Easeus Todo Backup
If you have a Seagate HD, you can use this, which is based on Acronis:
Seagate DiscWizard
And from Western Digital:
Acronis True Image WD Edition Software

Commercial:
Acronis True Image
DriveImage XML
Macrium Reflect
Norton Ghost

__________________
Microsoft MVP - Windows Expert - Consumer
Of course I know all the answers; I just don't always match the answers to the right questions.
Rated R for Violence -- When your PC flies through a window, that's violent, right?
TheOutcaste is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:36 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
OS: Win XP Home



Hi, I need to do a similar thing, but I will remove the old hard drive and replace it with a new one. Any recommendations on what freeware is easiest to use? Does Clone Maxx do the same thing? .....any advice on step-by-step instructions somewhere on the net....

Thanks, Bevin
__________________
bevinb is offline  
Old 02-15-2010, 07:43 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Posts: 723
OS: Win XP SP3 and Win 7 Pro



I recommend Macrium Reflect free edition. It works great, and I really see no reason to buy the paid version.
__________________
A+ Net+
parttimetechie is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 08:59 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
OS: Win XP Home


Confused

I have been thinking about how to do this - is it possible with one drive? I am doing the image right now, then I want to install the new drive, but there is nothing on it....how is Macrium Reflect supposed to run?
Not sure how that works,,,,even with two drives, I mean, I don't want to install Windows XP on that new drive, that is what I am trying to avoid....does this process alllow one to do that?

Thanks, Bevin
__________________
bevinb is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 09:35 PM   #6
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Posts: 723
OS: Win XP SP3 and Win 7 Pro



SO you want to put an XP image onto the blank drive or not? You need to make a recovery disk that you put into the CD drive of your computer, then boot from the CD and that will start the reimaging process.
__________________
A+ Net+
parttimetechie is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
OS: Win XP Home



Yes, thats what I want to do, and I just went ahead and already did the above, seems to be working, we will see in the morning!
__________________
bevinb is offline  
Old 02-19-2010, 10:55 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Posts: 723
OS: Win XP SP3 and Win 7 Pro



Hope it works for you
__________________
A+ Net+
parttimetechie is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 05:48 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 4
OS: Win XP Home



it worked, the software is easy to use, I was amazed at how easy the whole process was......thanks for the help
__________________
bevinb is offline  
Old 02-20-2010, 04:06 PM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Orange County, CA, USA
Posts: 723
OS: Win XP SP3 and Win 7 Pro



Glad it went well. Let us know if you have any more questions. It is some great software, especially for free

__________________
A+ Net+
parttimetechie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts