Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Still have sound trouble!

This is a discussion on Still have sound trouble! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I made this thread a while ago, when my computer wouldn't play any sound. http://www.techsupportforum.com/foru...nd-633874.html I just got a new


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-15-2012, 08:18 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP



I made this thread a while ago, when my computer wouldn't play any sound.
Won't play any sound.

I just got a new sound card for my computer and installed it. I did a little test with the configuration and get it to say "Left Sound. Right Sound." But I can't get it to play any sound from Youtube or something. What can I do? just have the driver, the box, and the installation CD.

The card I got is a "Sabrent 6-Channel 3D PCI sound card"

__________________
JRBowns is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 12:23 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,659
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
play any sound from Youtube or something
Do you have 6 speakers hooked up to the sound card? Or are you just using stereo Right and Left speakers? Are you plugging it in the right outlet of the sound card? Can you double click the Volume icon in the System Tray by the clock and make sure that WAVE is not muted and the volumes are all the way up?
Attached Images
 

spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 10:49 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP



I'm just using regular left-&-right speakers, and they should be plugged into the right outlet.

As for the volume icon, no. There's no volume icon in my system tray.
__________________
JRBowns is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 07:42 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,659
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
make sure that WAVE is not muted and the volumes are all the way up
You can also go to Control Panel/Sounds and Audio Devices/Volume/Advanced to see the screen in Post #2.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 12:07 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP



I still have "No Audio Device."

I got the card because of all the sound problems (as listed in original thread; link in first post). Now after I put it in, I still have no sound?!

How can I get my computer to play sound through my new sound card?
__________________
JRBowns is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 01:27 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,659
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Go to Start/Run and type devmgmt.msc and press enter. In the Device Manager does you new sound card have a yellow mark next to it? If so, you must installl the driver for it from either the CD or from the manufacturers site.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 01:57 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP



There's still one on the "Multimedia Audio Controller," but not on the new card.

Do I have to fix the controller after all?
__________________
JRBowns is offline  
Old 03-17-2012, 02:15 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,659
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Install the updated driver from the web manufacturers site.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-20-2012, 11:52 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 15
OS: Windows XP



There's no "Multimedia audio controller" on the Device Manager list, with yellow question mark or anything. Plus I still have no sound, there's no "Windows Audio" on the Services list, and I still don't know if I have the new sound card hooked up to use it.

After putting the card in the PCI slot, was I suppose to take a plug and connect it to the card, like I did with my graphic card? Or was it simply "just put it in?"

And if you ask why I'm posting this now, I thought about maybe just getting a new computer, but I changed my mind.
__________________
JRBowns is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:24 AM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,659
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Sounds like you missing a lot of files.
First try this: Windows Audio Service Is Missing - The Elder Geek on Windows Then Go to Start/Run and type SFC /scannow and press enter. Put the XP CD in and it will replace any missing or corrupted files.
You can also try a Repair Install
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:34 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Win 7 & Snow leopard



Have you ensured the bios is up to date. Since this sounds like it started with an onboard sound card issue the motherboard may be causing a problem.

Also try taking a look at your bios and see if there are any issues. You can also try reseting your bios to default settings to see if that helps.
__________________
flanker_ns is offline  
Old 03-21-2012, 12:45 AM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,659
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
there's no "Windows Audio" on the Services list
Following the instructions in the Elder Geek link in post #10 should put the Windows Audio Service back in Services.msc

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Battlefield 3 - Constant Crashing (Not BSOD, but still restart requiring)
Hi everyone! I had this issue in the Beta of BF3 too, but not as bad (by about 5 minutes less). I have recently decided to buy Battlefield 3 for PC and sell it on my xbox. However, since I have purchased it, i got a couple of errors getting it to run, but now I have it running,. I play for...
deviess PC Gaming Support 30 04-02-2012 05:17 PM
Have internet but cant access internet or play games
Hello all...Im sure there is a post bout this somewhere but there are thousands of threads :/ But here we go. My computer it connected to the internet wirelessly but i cant broswe the web or play video games online. I am an avid world of warcraft player but it tells me i cannot connect to...
Dunner4804 Networking Support 29 03-29-2012 07:58 PM
Programs won't start, have to restart computer
Hi guys, lately I've been having a problem where I try to open a program, but the loading circle appears next to my cursor, and nothing happens, it just keep spinning. I have to restart my computer for it to work. A typical day: -Try to open Firefox, problem as I described happens -Restart...
MysterySandwich Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 2 03-14-2012 10:42 PM
After an awfull attempt at removing Search-milk.net redirect. I have no DNS
Ok So Im running Windows 7 Pro 64 bit. I;ve had this nasty redirect thing for a while. Whenever or most of the time when I would click a link in google it would always take me to Search-Milk.net. I eventually got sick of it and looked up how to rid myself of this. If you search Search-milk.net...
Lazethis Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 7 03-14-2012 08:49 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts