Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] XP Professional stuck in boot loop

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] XP Professional stuck in boot loop within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey guys, I've got windows xp professional and it's stuck in a boot loop (it gets to the windows loading


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-20-2010, 10:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Hey guys,

I've got windows xp professional and it's stuck in a boot loop (it gets to the windows loading screen, crashes and restarts).
It gives me the option to boot into safe mode but when i try that i get a list of directories (maybe drivers) and then it restarts.
The "last know configuration" option crashes too.
My windows XP disk has no recovery console.

Any ideas what i can do?

Thanks
Chris

__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 10:53 AM   #2
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
speedster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: New York
Posts: 6,826
OS: xp pro SP3

My System


list your specs including your power supply and video card

__________________
speedster123 is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 11:00 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 770 Socket AM2+ 7.1 Channel Audio ATX Motherboard
AMD Athlon II X4 620 2.6GHz AM3
Kingston 4GB (2x2GB) DDR2 800MHz/PC2-6400 HyperX Memory CL5 1.85V
OCZ Stealth XStream 600W PSU
PowerColor HD 4850 512MB GDDR3 VGA DVI HDMI PCI-E Graphics Card

Anything else you need to know?

Thanks
Chris
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 01:10 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


Directly after the post screen, the startup screen that has your manufactures logo on it, when you see the black screen with the underscore cursor press F8 and then select Disable Automatic Restart on System Failure, then when it restarts and crashes you will get a Blue Screen of Death, BSoD, on there will be a Stop: code, reply back and let us know what code you are receiving.
__________________
Loope is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:21 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



The stop code is

*** STOP: 0x00000024 (0x00190203,0x8B012BB8,0xc0000102,0x00000000)

Thanks
Chris
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:36 PM   #6
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 45,510
OS: XP, Win 7



See if this helps:

http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=228888&sd=RMVP
Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:41 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



I'm sorry but that article is for Windows 2000 and it mainly talks about fixing it when you can already access windows.

However it did mention a boot disk and i've heard of this solution.

Does anyone know how i can make/obtain a boot disk

or

Is there any way of running a chkdisk in the situation that i'm in?

Thanks
Chris
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:44 PM   #8
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 45,510
OS: XP, Win 7



Do you have your XP installation Disc? . . you can boot from that and enter the recovery console to run chcdsk
Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:45 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


If for some reason in hell you accually have a floppy disk try this.
__________________
Loope is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:46 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


As for the disk ask around to friends and co-workers, somebodies bound to have one, I mean XP's been around for like 10 years.
__________________
Loope is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:47 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Yes i do have my XP Installation disk but it doesn't have a recovery console option

And unfortunatly i don't have use floppy disks anymore =P
If it is my only option then i will go out and buy some

Thanks
Chris
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:54 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


Well since Stop:0x24 is an NTFS File System Error you need to try and locate a reinstal disk with a recovery option, rememeber if you are running SP3 you have to have a XP SP3 CD anything eles wont work.

Another option would be to plug the hard drive into another computer as a second hard drive boot it up and check disk will run automatically.
__________________
Loope is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 02:54 PM   #13
Administrator

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 45,510
OS: XP, Win 7



The Recovery consol is part of a statndsr XP installation disc. See this for how to use

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/307654
Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:01 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



I think i'll put the hard drive into another computer and let it run a chkdsk.

I dont have any another XP cd's.

Thanks
Chris
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:11 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


Try simpswr solution. If that doesn't work; check this article It sounds like this should work for you.
__________________
Loope is offline  
Old 05-20-2010, 03:13 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



That looks perfect for me

I'll give that a shot tomorrow and let you know the results

Thanks guys
Chris
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-21-2010, 04:13 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Ok i tried that and two problems occured:

1) It says the prompt should come up as C:\WINDOWS but mine came up as C:\
I tried using the cd C:\WINDOWS command but it said "The path or file specified is not Valid"

2) I still tried to run a chkdsk and it said "The volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems".

So....... any other ideas?
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-21-2010, 05:53 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


Though the Recovery Console try "chkdsk C: /r" without the quotes. The "/R" tell chkdsk to try to locate bad sectors and recovers readable information. Being that "The volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems." is not a good sign. Keep fingers crossed the entire time :) Reply back with the results, and your hard drives information, i.e. manufacturer/model.
__________________
Loope is offline  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:15 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 20
OS: XP



Tried that and still got "The volume appears to contain one or more unrecoverable problems".

The make/model is Hitachi HDP725025GLA380
__________________
chrisdudeperson is offline  
Old 05-21-2010, 06:19 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Loope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 389
OS: XP Pro SP3; Vista SP2; Win 7 Ult. 64 bit

My System


Go here and download the Drive Fitness Test, run that and let us know the results.

__________________
Loope is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts