Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] XP boot error:ntoskrnl.exe is corrupt or missing

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] XP boot error:ntoskrnl.exe is corrupt or missing within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I have Windows 7 installed on my System and I wanted to install XP on a partition. The installation is


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-05-2012, 03:32 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



I have Windows 7 installed on my System and I wanted to install XP on a partition. The installation is successful but whenever I choose to load XP from boot manager I get this error. I tried reinstalling but its not helping. How do I identify and differentiate between partitions and different Hard Disks? Please help !!

__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:13 PM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 51,376
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi please say what type of harddrive your trying to install on is it ide or sata it will help others to help you

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 01:14 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If you installed XP Successfully then you would not be getting this message. when you first boot your computer the boot manager comes up and asks you if you want to load Windows 7 or Other version of Windows. When you choose other version of Windows, and get that error, then the XP installation needs to be repaired. Since you just installed XP, it's best to boot off of the XP CD and choose to Delete the partition with XP on it, Create a new partition for XP. Format that partition NTFS, and Install Windows XP on that partition.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 11:00 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



Quote:
boot off of the XP CD and choose to Delete the partition with XP on it, Create a new partition for XP. Format that partition NTFS, and Install Windows XP on that partition.
Tried it. Still getting the same error message mate
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 02:21 AM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Did you Delete the partition? After Creating the partition, do a Full Format NTFS, not a Quick Format this will take longer but will mark and bad sectors on the partition. Then Install XP. Where are you seeing this error? Are you using the Windows 7 Boot manager? or some other? You can also try booting into W/7 and use Easy BCD Boot loader.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 08:44 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



Quote:
Did you Delete the partition? After Creating the partition, do a Full Format NTFS, not a Quick Format this will take longer but will mark and bad sectors on the partition. Then Install XP.
I did the above steps exactly as they are to be done.

You said format with NTFS, not Quick format.
Then install XP?????

Won't formatting with NTFS install XP itself? Is there a separate step to install XP once its formatted with NTFS?
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-06-2012, 09:50 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



I get the error message after I choose to boot XP at startup.
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 02:50 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


After Formatting is complete, XP starts to install files. It is a separate step but does not require interaction.
Did you Delete the previous partition first. Once you created a new partition, Did you do a Full Format? Not a Quck?
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 03:36 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



Exactly as you said mate. Recovery console time?
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 01:21 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


There is either a problem with the HDD or the Windows disc you are using. Running a Full Format would have marked any bad sectors on the HDD and would not allow Windows to save data to them. If you Deleted the Partition (so no traces of the previous install were around), and did a Full format (also removing previous install) then the Windows disc you are using is damaged and is not loading all the files. You can either try a different Windows disc or install to a new HDD instead of the partition. Recovery console will not help this situation.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 07:57 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



Now I'm getting
DISK BOOT FAILURE INSERT SYSTEM DISK AND PRES ENTER TO CONTINUE
when trying to boot from hard disk. I can still boot from a CD.
Another question:
during installing windws 7 the pc restarts a couple of times but after restart it begins install from SCRATCH and therefore never completes. How to continue the installation process after restart?
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 08:59 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
I have Windows 7 installed on my System and I wanted to install XP on a partition
I thought you already had Windows 7 installed and you were trying to install XP?
Disk Boot Failure means there is no OS on the HDD or the Boot file is corrupted. In whatever OS your trying to boot into.
If Windows 7 is failing to install, there is a problem with your HDD or possibly the RAM. Download the ISO image for Drive Fitness in my signature and burn the image to CD using IMGBurn also in my signature. boot off of the newly created CD and run the short and extended tests on the HDD. If there are any errors it can't fix, you will need to replace the HDD. If that passes, then download the ISO image for Memtest also in my signature, burn the image with IMGBurn and boot off of the newly created CD and run the tests with ONE stick of RAM in at a time. Again, any failures, the RAM stick will need to be replaced.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 09:36 PM   #13
Moderator - Networking
 
TheCyberMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: The Cyberverse
Posts: 6,935
OS: W8 Prox64,Windows 7 Ult 64-Bit SP1, Mac OSX 10.8.2 Mountain Lion, Android 4.1.1 Jellybean, IOS 6

My System


Ideally you would install xp on first partition and 7 on second partition xp would be marked active partition as it contains boot records windows 7 partion would not be marked active but you would have to add it to boot.ini of xp boot loader.
__________________
TheCyberMan is offline  
Old 01-07-2012, 10:15 PM   #14
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Or you can use Easy BCD boot manager to manage your boot partitions.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 09:37 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Lucknow, India
Posts: 315
OS: Windows 8 Pro 64-bit



My Windows XP cd was faulty. Got a new one and formatted it again. Everything fine now. Thanks guys
__________________
Akshay Dwivedi is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 12:22 PM   #16
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,235
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You are welcome! Please mark this thread Solved in the thread tools at the top.

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
MSE can't delete Trojan:win32/Sirefef.O
Hello, My laptop = Sony Vaio. Windows XP. Service Pack 3. My Microsoft Security Essentials detected "Trojan:win32/Sirefef.O", but couldn't delete it. I downloaded GMER, and followed the instructions. It ran for about 30 seconds, then it shut itself, the scan window disappeared. ...
atl1 Resolved HJT Threads 30 11-17-2011 07:21 AM
XP Internet Security 2012 Firewall Alert
Hello. Two days ago I got the virus XP Internet Security 2012 Firewall Alert. It does not let me open any file/folder/browser. When I try to google how to remove it, it redirects me to different websites. Please ...
lilbrat0326 Resolved HJT Threads 15 07-03-2011 06:49 PM
Please help I think I may have spyware/malware/virus & possible keylogger?
Hi there My other half was using my laptop yesterday (just regular web surfing) nothing untoward and she called out to me and said you have 30 viruses on your computer do you want me to remove them. Me thinks say what so I come out and have a look and notice - what seem's to be a dodgy...
scottietwenty3 Resolved HJT Threads 50 06-22-2011 11:42 PM
Sluggish Computer, possible virus
Hello, My computer has been running real sluggish lately and I am not sure what the problem is. At first I thought it was Maleware, but after running Malwarebyte's my computer has not gotten any better. So I am turning to you guys to see if anyone can help. Below is the DDS file. . DDS...
Suprk Resolved HJT Threads 10 06-07-2011 02:15 PM
[SOLVED] BSOD problems.
· Vista · x64 · What was original installed OS on system? None. Custom built. · OEM: Full Retail Version · Age of system (hardware): 3 years · Age of OS installation - have you re-installed the OS? 3 years. Yes. · CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo E8400 Wolfdale · Video Card: EVGA GEforce 8800 GT...
ajcc323 BSOD, App Crashes And Hangs 25 02-24-2011 04:31 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts