Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Windows XP won't start after disk cleanup.

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows XP won't start after disk cleanup. within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Ok buddy thatll work too. I'm on here now so I will stand by in case you need me.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-21-2010, 01:32 PM   #21
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Ok buddy thatll work too. I'm on here now so I will stand by in case you need me.

__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 01:40 PM   #22
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Oh one more thing to keep in mind. If when you copy a file it says that the file already exists do you want to overwrite it. Type y and hit enter. This will be a wonderful sign as it means that not only have you successfully used the command but that you have copied it to the correct folder. If however you do not get the prompt that simply means that the file is missing and so it needed to be replaced. Either way you will be on the right path to getting the computer to boot.

__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 01:49 PM   #23
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



I'm confused again....
grrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrr

I tried a normal boot... it showed I was still missing system 32\hal.dll.

Went back and re-read your instructions. I think I'm at the point I'm suppose to copy certain files from the D drive and send them to the C... not sure how to get that started. I did type in dir d:\ which showed the contents of the D (cd) but, that didn't appear to do me much good
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 02:16 PM   #24
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Ok When you used the dir command to look for the files in the D: what happened? Did a whole bunch of files scroll by? That's what should have happened. What it will show you are the folders and sub folders in the drive that you are using the command for. I believe the files that you are looking for will be in the systen32 folder on the D: drive so let's try this command.

First let see if we can find the .hal files on the CD drive so type in the following:

D:\ then hit enter. This should put you into the correct directory.

Now try

expand D:\i386\SP2.cab and hit enter if this command doesn't work try
expand D:\windows\system32

This should expand this folder so that you can see the files in it.

Now look through these files to see if you can find the .hal files in there. There may be as many as 7 or 8 of them. Also see if you see the ntoskrnl.exe and the ntkrnlpa.exe files in there as well. If you do post back and let me know.
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 02:41 PM   #25
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



Got to the expand part... both entries I received "access is denied"
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 02:43 PM   #26
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Once you've located the .hal file on the D: drive then the copy command should look something like this to copy the file to the C:\windows-system32 folder.

copy D:\windows\system32\.hal C:\windows\system32

This of course is just an example as I don't know the exact name of the file but where it says .hal you would type in the file name. You will need to do this for each file 1 at a time until they are all copied to the system32 folder of the C: drive.

Remember to switch to the C drive before you copy the file by typing C: and hitting enter.

That should keep you busy for awhile while I eat dinner I'll check back in a little bit.
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 02:53 PM   #27
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



hmmmmm, this is like trying to fix your computer with my eyes blind folded and my hands tied behind my back lol. Access denied huh? Well that stinks. Ok lets try this again then stop and post back what you see.

Type in dir D:\ and hit enter

Lets take this one command at a time and see if I can help you locate the files on the D drive. I know that youve done this already but I need to know what you see when you do it.
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:16 PM   #28
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



I see.....

The Volume in drive D is XP_HOME_SP2_ENG
The Volume Serial number is a541-9455

Directory of d:\

06/22/06 11:06a d-r----- 0 $0EM$
08/04/04 05:00 --R---- 110 AUTORUN.INF
06/22/06 0 DOCS
0 DOTNETFX
0 I386
34301 README.HTM
1324816 SETUP.EXE
85792 SETUPXP.HTM
0 SUPPORT
0 VALUEADD
10 WIN51
10 WIN51IC
10 WIN51IC.SP2


13 FILE(S) 1435049 bytes
0 bytes free


I stopped with the date, time and all of the -----r----"s after a couple.
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:23 PM   #29
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Ok lets look in the i386 folder if I can remember how.

Type D:\I386 and hit enter

That should change the command prompt to read D:\I386 Then you should be able to type dir and hit enter to see whats in there.
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:31 PM   #30
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



if you enter d:\i386 you get command not recognized

if you enter d: \1386 (note the space), it just pops back to D:\>
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:38 PM   #31
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Alright then lets try something else for a minute then.

Type C: and hit enter

leave the command prompt right where it is.

Take out the Windows disk and put in the disk you made that has the files we need on it.

type in copy D:\Halaacpi.dll C:windows\system32 and hit enter

If it copies the file from the disk to C: that way then leave it right there and post back that it did and I will tell you the rest of the files to copy.

If it copies and prompts that it wants to overwrite the file type y and hit enter so that it does.

Fingers crossed
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:44 PM   #32
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



%$$##@$$

I can't get the drawer to open
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:47 PM   #33
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Take a paper clip and stick it into the little hole and push that should open it. LOL
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 03:55 PM   #34
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



got the drawer open, replaced the disk

it says it can't find the file
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 04:00 PM   #35
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



ok then type this

dir D:\ then hit enter and see if it shows you the folders in there.
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 04:10 PM   #36
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



now I am really confused... it shows the exact same numbers as when It did when the xp disc was in there....

also shows the the XP_home_sp2 disk is in there and it's not.
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 04:24 PM   #37
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Ok thats apparently not going to work as it needs the windows disk to run the repair console. It was worth a try. I'm about at my pain limit for tonight but I would like you to try one more thing tonight before I log off. Its worth a try to see if we can use that disk for the repair without data loss, I seriously doubt it will work but like I said its worth a try. This link will show you how to do it. Read the entire document before proceeding.

http://www.freenerd.net/index.php?ti...hout_data_loss

If that won't work I would suggest doing the fixmbr. and if that fails then it will be time to download linux live, burn it to CD, and use that to boot into a windows like enviroment so that you can drag and drop copy and paste the files.

That however will have to wait until the next time you are free to work on this. I am avaliable everyday starting at around 8AM EST. I'm disabled and am in sever pain all the time and the meds I am forced to take make me tire easily, that's the only reason I have to quit at this point. I apologise for that. But take the disk you have in out. Put the Windows disk back in power off the computer and restart it with the windows disk to perform this proceedure. Then follow the steps outlined in the link and post back the results. I figure this will take you about 1/2 hour to see if it will work or not, so I will check for your post then. Also let me know when you want to continue if that doesn't work ok buddy?
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 04:53 PM   #38
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



as is the norm, that didn't work.

After I hit F8 on the license agreement, I got a screen that showed the partitioning and where to set up XP.

The link says I should have gotten to a screen that has a "repair" option...

didn't get that
__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 05:10 PM   #39
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Visiting Expert
 
patmark's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Port Saint Lucie Florida
Posts: 1,172
OS: XP home



Ok buddy thats kind of what I figured would happen. The trouble is that the re-installation disk can't repair a newer version so it won't give you the repair option. Windows is such a pain sometimes. and of course nothing is ever easy with a computer. I will leave which option you want to go with to you. The fixmbr can be done from the repair console using that disk. Or I can contact Outcaste and have him post where to download either linux live or unbutu and how to use it. It will give you the option to install it or try it when you boot the computer with it. So you select try it and it will give you a windows like enviroment that may make it easier for you. Outcaste will have to guide you there as I have never used it myself. I really have to go for tonight but let me know how you would like to proceed and I will get started on it first thing in the morning. If you want to continue tonight with the fixmbr command when you get to the screen you were on before go ahead with it and let it do its thing. I'm sorry I couldn't get it working for you today but we will get it fixed.

Night
Patmark
__________________

Sometimes its the simplist solution that fixes the problem.

Keep it simple stupid.
patmark is offline  
Old 11-21-2010, 05:30 PM   #40
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 51
OS: xp



I tried the fixmbr again.... made no new progress.

I am currently downloading Ubuntu, I plan on making a "Live CD" so I can boot from the disc... hopefully will be able to get the files off I want, transfer them to my external hard drive, save the drivers... and wipe the drive.

Please contact your friend, I won't do anything tonight except finish the download. I'll wait for further instructions.

Again.... a million thanks for your help and patience

__________________
maynard59 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:23 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts