Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Windows XP won't load, even in safe mode

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows XP won't load, even in safe mode within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Today I tried to power up my Dell desktop with Windows XP, and it wouldn't start. At first I got


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-30-2010, 12:09 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



Today I tried to power up my Dell desktop with Windows XP, and it wouldn't start. At first I got a blue screen that I think said that STOP 0x000000001 (0x000000180x0000002 0x0000000,0X F71A425F) DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL IASTOR.SYS ADDRESS F71A425F BASE AT F7195000 datestamp 42b2d42) DRIVER_IRQL_NOT_LESS_OR_EQUAL. Some of the letters and numbers I wrote down that were in strings may be off (I hope I copied them down correctly). However, I tried to restart using the last configuration that worked (which someone said I should try), and now I can't load at all; I don't even get this error screen. When I try to load with safe mode, it loads up to muy.sys and then nothing happens. I have not installed anything terribly recently, and I unplugged all the stuff in my USB drives to see if that would fix it. No luck.

I don't know what to do from here. :( I'm not very computer savvy, so I'm hoping someone can help me.

__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:13 PM   #2
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



and welcome to the Forum

Do you have the Dell Reinstallation Disc?

Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:15 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



If that is the disk that says, "Operating system. Already installed on your computer. Reinstallation DVD" then yes, I do.
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:21 PM   #4
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



You can try a Repair Install . . But furst, do you have your data backed up?
Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:24 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



I have everything that is really important backed up, but I don't have absolutely everything backed up. I'd like to save my data if possible, but if it isn't, then it isn't.
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:47 PM   #6
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



A Repair Install should not affect your data or applications, but it is always good to have the data backed up . . you can pull the drive and salvage the data first if it is important to you.

This is a good guide to performing a repair install

http://www.michaelstevenstech.com/XPrepairinstall.htm
Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 12:48 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



Thanks so much for your help! I'll try that, and I'll post and update when it's all done. I have to go drop off a job application right now, though. So thank you again!
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 01:03 PM   #8
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



Let us know how it goes
Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 06:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



I got to the "Windows XP Professional Setup" page, and it seems to be stuck at "Examining startup environment . . ."
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 06:37 PM   #10
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



I would run diagnostics on the hard drive

http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287

See this for how to make a bootable cd
Old Rich is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 06:42 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
seriously's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 296
OS: win xp



apparently it's a known issue with dell pc. try this at the dell support site:

http://support.dell.com/support/topi...808&doclang=en

edit: weird, the link doesn't seems to work :( try going to this site and click on the link from the third post:

http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/showthread.php?t=94560
__________________
seriously is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 07:16 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



I'm reading up on how to do the diagnostics on the hard drive.

If I do what seriously indicated, the blue screen comes up again (whereas before I wasn't able to get that far) but I have a new message which includes UNMOUNTABLE_BOOT_VOLUME. Technical information: STOP 0x000000ED (0x8712FE30,0xC0000006, 0x00000000, 0x00000000).

If I go back and try to do a Repair Install, I don't get an R screen (indicating I'd have to completely reinstall and lose my data).

I'm going to poke around for a while, so if anyone has any further ideas, I would be very grateful. ^_^
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 04-30-2010, 08:52 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



I'm going to try something, and I'll post an update on how it goes tomorrow.

(I wanted to edit this in to my last post, but I can't find the edit button, soooo).

Thank you all again for your willingness to help me!
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 06:17 AM   #14
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



I would pull taht drive and attach it to a working pc to salvage the data while you can
Old Rich is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 08:39 AM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 23
OS: XP, Vista



My computer now works! I fixed the latest error I was getting using the process described at this website, and the computer starts up just fine and seems to be working normally. Thank you both, so, so much for your help. This site is wonderful. If I hadn't found this site, my computer would still be sitting on my desk as a giant paperweight.

simpswr, I'm absolutely going to pull the data from the computer while I have it up and running in case it implodes again. Thanks so much for the advice. External hard drive, get ready for a workout!
__________________
Araisa is offline  
Old 05-01-2010, 09:19 AM   #16
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware
 
Old Rich's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston, Texas
Posts: 47,087
OS: XP, Win 7



Glad you got it sorted out!!

Old Rich is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:18 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts