Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Windows WPA2 hotfix

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Windows WPA2 hotfix within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I cannot get the hotfix for WPA 2 to work on my desktop but I can on my laptop. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-09-2007, 03:16 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



I cannot get the hotfix for WPA 2 to work on my desktop but I can on my laptop.

I am running Windows XP PRo on both.

I show the hotfix as installed in my addremove programs but when I go to manually add a network I do not have the choice to choose WPA2 as I do on my laptop.

Laptop:



Desktop:


I also posted more details here.

TIA for any help.

__________________
cliffhucker is offline  
Old 12-09-2007, 07:57 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
cliffhucker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 206
OS: XP Pro-SP2



Problem solved.

It is the wireless adapter I have that does not support WPA2.
I guess the security parameters in windows networking is dictated by the adapter.

I tried another adapter of mine and the WPA2 options showed up.
__________________
cliffhucker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts