Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Unable to open Google home page

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Unable to open Google home page within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-21-2010, 07:40 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
OS: XP service pack 3



Hi Guys and Girls

I am currently working on a HP compaq machine was an odd problem, Upon opening Internet explorer I am taken to the HP home page as it is set to but if I try to navigate to the Google home page IE isn’t able to open it and comes back with:

'Internet Explorer can not display web page'

if i try typing in another web page such as BBC.co.uk or Techsupportforum.com I get to it fine. I also attempted to use another search site like yahoo to try and get to Google but Yahoo was another site that came back with that error.

I have tried running anti viral programs such as, Malwarebytes, Spybot and superanti spyware with no success. I can also provide a Hijack this log to view if needed.

One thing i did discover is if I disable the local aria connection and enable it again i have no errors connecting to Google and any other site for that matter, but once the machine is restarts Google and Yahoo have the same problem again.

Any help you could provide my be great! ^^b

__________________
L Yami is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 09:41 AM   #2
Networking Team |Tech
 
IT-Barry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Falkirk, Scotland
Posts: 1,029
OS: XP, Win7



Disable your anti virus program/programs and try to access google.

__________________
IT-Barry is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 01:01 PM   #3
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Try clearing the browsers cache

http://www.wikihow.com/Clear-Your-Browser's-Cache
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-21-2010, 04:16 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Candy Loving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 113
OS: XP



IE>Tools>Internet Options>Advanced

Hit "Restore Advanced Settings" and "Reset" both.

The way you establish a relationship based on respect with a mule is by first hitting it square between the eyes with a 2 X 4.

Do you get the same behavior with Mozilla ?
__________________
Candy Loving is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 02:40 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
OS: XP service pack 3



First off thanks for all your quick replies!

@ IT-Barry - I disabled the machines main Anti Viruses program for the test and also removed all the clean up programs I was using to no success

@ GeekGirl - I ran through the short guide in the link you provided but unfortunately this didn’t solve the problem.

@ Candy Loving - I reset all the settings on IE as you explained below but again this wisent successful. I installed Fire Fox onto the machine and I get the exact results that IE gives me.

Thanks for you help! Is there anything else that might be worth trying?
__________________
L Yami is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 03:45 AM   #6
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



UNCHECK the box for Enable Third Party Browser Extensions in the Advanced Section (all other setting in Advanced Section are set to Default). Click "Apply" then reboot computer. Check your sites

Try updating the driver for the Ethernet card.
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 04:05 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,593
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Browse to C:\Windows\System32\Drivers\etc open the Hosts file with Notepad. Delete any lines after 127.0.0.1 localhost Save the file and try it again.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 09-22-2010, 06:56 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
OS: XP service pack 3



@Geekgirl - Right I unchecked the box asked, saved and restarted the machine. I attempted to open Google with no success, I also uninstalled the network driver and installed a fresh copy, again no luck =(

@spunk.funk - I made my way to the hosts file and opened it and the file was completely empty... umm, yeah

Thanks for the suggestions guys!
__________________
L Yami is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 12:34 PM   #9
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Please d/l and install Firefox. Then try Google and Yahoo sites
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-23-2010, 10:32 PM   #10
Registered User
 
Candy Loving's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 113
OS: XP



Quote:
Originally Posted by Geekgirl View Post
UNCHECK the box for Enable Third Party Browser Extensions in the Advanced Section (all other setting in Advanced Section are set to Default). Click "Apply" then reboot computer. Check your sites

Try updating the driver for the Ethernet card.
OP already did that with same results as IE. See post #5.

Well, if IE and FF are both not letting you browse to Google, then I would assume you are infected with some kind of redirector.
__________________
Candy Loving is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 06:54 AM   #11
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Quote:
Originally Posted by Candy Loving View Post
OP already did that with same results as IE. See post #5.

Well, if IE and FF are both not letting you browse to Google, then I would assume you are infected with some kind of redirector.
Missed that thanks for pointing that out

L Yami what version of IE are you using?
Read thru this and try the Fix it button from Microsoft
http://support.microsoft.com/kb/956196
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 09:46 AM   #12
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Mr. Garvin, I already removed your first post regarding a link to a TDSS scanner. We do not support the removal of malware in this area of the forum and we do not permit the instructions of doing so either. Please do not post this type of information in the Microsoft Support forum again and merely send the OP to the Security Forum where it is permitted.

Sorry L Yami for the confusion
__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Old 09-24-2010, 10:08 AM   #13
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by Geekgirl View Post
Mr. Garvin, I already removed your first post regarding a link to a TDSS scanner. We do not support the removal of malware in this area of the forum and we do not permit the instructions of doing so either. Please do not post this type of information in the Microsoft Support forum again and merely send the OP to the Security Forum where it is permitted.

Sorry L Yami for the confusion
Ok, I didn't realize that. I could have sworn I posted last night and was wondering where my post went.

L Yami sounds like you have a rootkit so it might be worth posting in the virus section too.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 01:59 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
OS: XP service pack 3



Hi all

@GeekGirl – Right I had already downloaded FireFox and attempted to navigate to Google to no success, I also followed the link you provided and tried the ‘Fix it for me’ as suggested but only found a Yahoo tool bar under the diagnostics, I removed the Yahoo tool bar but the same problem had not been fixed.

@Fred Garvin – Thanks for the suggestion, I have also made a topic on the Viruses section of this forum.

I’m thinking that a reload of the OS on the machine could be the only possible fix.
__________________
L Yami is offline  
Old 09-27-2010, 09:05 AM   #15
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
- Networking
 
Fred Garvin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: RI
Posts: 3,472
OS: XP Pro



L Yami, I would follow through with whatever advice you're given in the virus section, first. Some rootkits, if that turns out to be the problem, hide themselves in a way that they will still be there even if you reinstall Windows.
__________________
Fred Garvin is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 01:28 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 15
OS: XP service pack 3



Ok, it seems that my problem has now been fixed!

I took a stab in the dark so to speak and reverted IE 8 back to IE 7 then upgraded it again, after a reboot of the machine I tested Google with success! I successfully navigated to Goggle, then Yahoo then back to Google using there searches.
I also tested Fire Fox and it seems that it too could once again navigate to Google and Yahoo!

I’m going to test the machine for the rest of today to see if the problem accrues again but for now it seems to be in working order!

Thanks for all your suggestions!
^^b
__________________
L Yami is offline  
Old 09-28-2010, 10:19 AM   #17
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,123
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Glad you got it fixed

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:43 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts