Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] this file does not have a program associated with it for performing this act

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] this file does not have a program associated with it for performing this act within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. The title says it all, this is the error message I get when trying to run any .exe file. I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-14-2008, 04:35 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



The title says it all, this is the error message I get when trying to run any .exe file. I have searched the internet for solutions and they all say do something that involves an .exe file. Well I can't open them so I can't use any solution that involves a .exe file. Does anyone have any idea how I can fix this problem? Thanks

__________________
kaktuz is offline  
Old 01-14-2008, 04:58 PM   #2
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

In that case, try running this file. It has a .com extension. Save it to your desktop and double click it. The problem is often caused by a virus affecting the registry entry related to the file association for .exe files so you may have to remove the offending virus.

__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 01-14-2008, 06:09 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 10
OS: Windows Vista Home Premium



All I got when opening that file was a website http://www.winhelponline.com/ and all the problems on that website are not the ones im having. Is there anyway to do system restore through cmd.exe?
__________________
kaktuz is offline  
Old 01-15-2008, 12:56 AM   #4
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

That's strange. That file should repair the registry. However, you can try manually repairing the registry. Before doing so, try setting a System Restore point. Because of your problems with .exe files I'm not sure if you will be able to so I'll show you another way to backup your registry once inside the registry editor.

Press Start>Run and type cmd in the box and press OK.
At the command prompt type cd c:\windows and press return.
Type copy regedit.exe regedit.com and press return.
type regedit.cm and press return. You should now be in the registry editor. On the menu bar click file and select export. Save the registry as registry.bak.


If Registry Editor opened successfully, navigate to the following key:
HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT \ exefile \ shell \ open \ command.
Double-click the (Default) value in the right hand pane and delete the current value data, and then type:
"%1" %* exactly as shown including the quotes and asterisk.
Navigate to HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\.exe
In the right-hand pane, set (default) to exefile
Exit the Registry Editor.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 05-28-2008, 05:27 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP Pro SP2



The .com file would not execute after download, but the manual fix worked beautifully. Thanks a lot!
__________________
Karye is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 12:14 AM   #6
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

Glad to hear it. Welcome to TSF.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 06-17-2008, 11:24 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 1
OS: xp sp2



Where exactly does the registry backup go? I might need to get to it,

and in the manual fix, how do you change (default) to exefile? I'm confused by that part,

thanks
__________________
jgklein1994 is offline  
Old 06-18-2008, 01:08 AM   #8
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

The backup is wherever you chose to save it. I usually advise saving it to the desktop. To change the default for .exe, right-click on default and a dialogue box will open. You can enter exefile in there.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 12-22-2008, 08:23 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1
OS: xp



This solution fixed my problem instantly. Many, many thanks!
__________________
stevehoskins is offline  
Old 12-24-2008, 07:33 AM   #10
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

Good to hear. Welcome to TSF.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 01-19-2009, 07:56 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 3
OS: vista sp1



Hi

This is the same error message that I keep getting every time I boot. Only my message has this file listed at the top of the message: c:\windows\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\lxbxtime.dll I know that the lxbxtime.dll file is associated with my Lexmark printer, but I can't find anything that helps me associate the file or get rid of the error. I can't even locate this file on my hard drive.

Will this fix work for my situation also, or is this entirely different?

Suzette
__________________
suzetteml is offline  
Old 01-21-2009, 03:56 AM   #12
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

If the fix doesn't work then it's likely you have a different problem. If so, please start a new thread. Threads are user-specific and not topic-specific for the very reason that the same sypmtoms could be caused by different problems.
__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Old 01-23-2009, 07:22 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Win XP



Hi, I am having the same problem that Kaktuz was having, but I cannot get the run > cmd to execute. My computer says that Windows cannot open the file and asks whether to use a web service or select a program from the list.
I recently updated my antivirus software and had it run all night, then this morning told my spybot to deny changes that had something to do with %1. I think this may be the root of my problem, but I am not sure how to undo the denial. Any suggestions?
I cannot open any file with a .exe extension, so I'm searching for help with a friend's computer.
Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!
__________________
Jaybulie is offline  
Old 01-23-2009, 03:21 PM   #14
Registered User
 
rbalaji's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 1,193
OS: Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by Jaybulie View Post
Hi, I am having the same problem that Kaktuz was having, but I cannot get the run > cmd to execute. My computer says that Windows cannot open the file and asks whether to use a web service or select a program from the list.
I recently updated my antivirus software and had it run all night, then this morning told my spybot to deny changes that had something to do with %1. I think this may be the root of my problem, but I am not sure how to undo the denial. Any suggestions?
I cannot open any file with a .exe extension, so I'm searching for help with a friend's computer.
Any suggestions would be great. Thanks!
Did you read the post just above yours? If this thread does not work for you, do not hijack it, start with a new thread.
__________________
Balaji Ramanathan

Computers - You can't live with them, you can't live without them!
rbalaji is offline  
Old 01-24-2009, 03:26 AM   #15
Manager, TSF Articles
 
JohnthePilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Cheltenham, near Wales.
Posts: 35,470
OS: Windows 7 Home Premium, Service Pack 1

My System

Send a message via MSN to JohnthePilot

Thank you Balaji.
Welcome to TSF Jaybulie. Please post your query in a new thread. I am now going to close this one.

__________________



Cenedl heb iaith, cenedl heb galon

JohnthePilot is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:06 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts