Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] *** stop: 0x0000008e (0xc0000005, 0x8052ad97, 0xf74045c4, 0x00000000)

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] *** stop: 0x0000008e (0xc0000005, 0x8052ad97, 0xf74045c4, 0x00000000) within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Okay, this has been making me mad for about 2 days. I turn on the computer, it goes to the


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-22-2009, 06:14 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Okay, this has been making me mad for about 2 days.

I turn on the computer, it goes to the loading screen where the loading bar thing is. then it pop's up the BSOD for about a second. I turned off the automatic restart and it read this error.

*** STOP: 0X0000008E (0XC0000005, 0X8052AD97, 0XF74045C4, 0X00000000)

So I put in the XP Disk and go to repair to CHKDSK and it reads...

[I]C:/WINDOWS>chkdsk
The volume Serial Number is 320d-180e
CHKDSK is checking the volume...
CHKDSK found one or more errors on the volume.
94840640 kilobytes total disk space.
75404480 kilobytes are available.

32768 bytes in each allocation unit.
2963770 total allocation units on disk
2356390 allocation units available on disk[/I

I don't know what else to do. I did to FIXBOOT too, but it said it fixed it.

[ Please note I cannot go any further then this BSOD. I can't get into safe mode or anything. There was what I believe to be malware on the computer that's why I believe it started. Can't remove it if I can't get into windows. ]

Thanks in advance for the help

__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:18 PM   #2
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
AustrAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cowra, NSW, Australia
Posts: 933
OS: XP Pro SP3



Hello and welcome to the forum.

Let's see if we can get your system up and running with just a simple amendment to what you have already done.

Instead of using "chkdsk" ....

Use "chkdsk /r"

This will find and repair those errors on the disk and ... with a little bit of luck ... you may find the computer will boot in to Windows.

__________________
AustrAlien
Google is my friend. Make Google your friend too.
AustrAlien is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:21 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Did that and still didn't work
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:23 PM   #4
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



0x8E has been known to be caused by faulty RAM. Try testing your RAM by using memtest86+. A download link is available in my signature.

Any questions - don't hesitate to ask

Good luck,

-Coolfreak
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:24 PM   #5
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
AustrAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cowra, NSW, Australia
Posts: 933
OS: XP Pro SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by BaileyShelhorse View Post
Did that and still didn't work
Exactly ....

what did you do ... ?
and what happened ... ?
and were there any report or message information displayed ... ?
__________________
AustrAlien
Google is my friend. Make Google your friend too.
AustrAlien is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:32 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Ok ill try that tomorrow coolfreak. and australien I did the chkdsk /r and it said it cleared it up, then I did chkdsk /p then exit.

new bsod came up with same error code, but underneath it says memory cleared. tomorrow I will upload the whole message. I thank you all for the help so far, it's just late here and got work in the morning.
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 08:44 PM   #7
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
AustrAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cowra, NSW, Australia
Posts: 933
OS: XP Pro SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by BaileyShelhorse View Post
I did the chkdsk /r and it said it cleared it up
Please repeat as many times as is necessary .... "chkdsk /r" ... until it reports that no errors were found.
__________________
AustrAlien
Google is my friend. Make Google your friend too.
AustrAlien is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 01:46 AM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,478
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



what are you running
video card
cpu
m/board
ram
power supply
brand
wattage

check the listings in the bios for voltages and temperatures and post them


d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

http://www.tacktech.com/display.cfm?ttid=287
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 04:59 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Ok I did the memtest86+ and it said "Pass Complete, no errors, press ESC to exit. Ran the computer again and not it says the same thing.

Re: *** stop: 0x0000008e (0xc0000005, 0x8052ad97, 0xf74045c4, 0x00000000)

I ran (Chkdsk /r) again and nothing changed.
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 05:09 PM   #10
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
AustrAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cowra, NSW, Australia
Posts: 933
OS: XP Pro SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by BaileyShelhorse View Post
Ok I did the memtest86+ and it said "Pass Complete, no errors, press ESC to exit. Ran the computer again and not it says the same thing.

Re: *** stop: 0x0000008e (0xc0000005, 0x8052ad97, 0xf74045c4, 0x00000000)

I ran (Chkdsk /r) again and nothing changed.
Re: memtest86+
Run for at least a minimum 7 full passes .... for any chance of a reliable result. The ideal .... run for 24 hours!

Re: chkdsk /r
Did it report that no errors were found? Was there any message displayed at the conclusion of the check?
__________________
AustrAlien
Google is my friend. Make Google your friend too.
AustrAlien is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 05:20 PM   #11
Part Time Repair Tech
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Santa Monica, CA
Posts: 1,267
OS: XP, Vista, 7, Ubuntu



Try the Windows debugging tool for analyzing Blue Screen errors. http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/devtoo...nstallx86.mspx

You download and install it then analyze the file(s) found in C > WINDOWS > MiniDump >
At the very end of the analysis it will say "Probably caused by......." Then you research what the file does.
__________________
Blade_Jones is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:12 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



I have the memtest86+ running now, the chkdsk /r said if reparid the files, and i run chkdsk /p the just chkdsk an it says everything is good.

Blade Jones I can't get past the BSOD so I don't know if you have to be able to get by that to load that thing. it's not an iso file.
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:24 PM   #13
Visiting Expert
Microsoft Support Team
 
AustrAlien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cowra, NSW, Australia
Posts: 933
OS: XP Pro SP3



Please:
Forget "chkdsk"
Forget "chkdsk /p"

These do not perform the necessary tasks in this situation.

What I need to know is that you have run "chkdsk /r" and that it has reported no errors found. Run "chkdsk /r" as many times as is necessary for it to report that no errors were found.

.... "chkdsk /r" performs a full surface scan of the disk and repairs any errors found (if it can). "chkdsk /r" includes the work done using /p.
__________________
AustrAlien
Google is my friend. Make Google your friend too.
AustrAlien is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:30 PM   #14
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,762
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Hi -

Bugcheck 0x8e with 0xc0000005 exception = kernel mode app threw an exception; the exception = memory access violation

I need to ask if these 2 bugchecks you posted were in fact from 2 different BSODs. From your 1st post -
Code:

0X0000008E (0XC0000005, 0X8052AD97, 0XF74045C4, 0X00000000)
A follow-up post -
Code:

 0x0000008e (0xc0000005, 0x8052ad97, 0xf74045c4, 0x00000000)
If they are from 2 different BSODs, your problem is more likely to be driver related rather than RAM. Parms 2 & 4 are identical in both bugchecks - they are memory addresses and are rarely the same. How long after power-up does the system BSOD?

Where did you run chkdsk from?

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
jcgriff2 is online now  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:36 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



Quote:
Originally Posted by jcgriff2 View Post
Hi -

Bugcheck 0x8e with 0xc0000005 exception = kernel mode app threw an exception; the exception = memory access violation

I need to ask if these 2 bugchecks you posted were in fact from 2 different BSODs. From your 1st post -
Code:

0X0000008E (0XC0000005, 0X8052AD97, 0XF74045C4, 0X00000000)
A follow-up post -
Code:

 0x0000008e (0xc0000005, 0x8052ad97, 0xf74045c4, 0x00000000)
If they are from 2 different BSODs, your problem is more likely to be driver related rather than RAM. Parms 2 & 4 are identical in both bugchecks - they are memory addresses and are rarely the same. How long after power-up does the system BSOD?

Where did you run chkdsk from?

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.
It start up and gets to the windows loading bar where it has it say Windows XP Home and the night rider loading bar. Once it gets there it takes about 4 seconds to go to the BSOD.

I inserted a XP HOME CD and went to repair and did the chkdsk there.

The error message thats the title of this post was done first, then the second one was givin when I did the chkdsk.
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-23-2009, 06:56 PM   #16
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,762
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



So you do not get a BSOD if you load from the XP CD?
jcgriff2 is online now  
Old 07-23-2009, 07:44 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



No when I clik to boot from CD it works fine, but I really don't want to format the drive and loose all my stuff. I just remember loading the computer, seeing my walpaper then my wall paper changes to "warning! your in danger! your computer is infected with spyware" that looks like this (http://www.spywarevoid.com/wp-conten...09_desktop.jpg) and ran a fake virus scanner and try to make me buy there product. when I click my computer it froze, then i had to re-boot and then I got the BSOD.
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-24-2009, 06:03 AM   #18
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Microsoft MVP
BSOD Kernel Dump Expert
 
jcgriff2's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: New Jersey Shore
Posts: 30,762
OS: Windows 10, 8.1, 7 + Windbg :)



Quote:
Originally Posted by BaileyShelhorse View Post
No when I clik to boot from CD it works fine, but I really don't want to format the drive and loose all my stuff. I just remember loading the computer, seeing my walpaper then my wall paper changes to "warning! your in danger! your computer is infected with spyware" that looks like this (http://www.spywarevoid.com/wp-conten...09_desktop.jpg) and ran a fake virus scanner and try to make me buy there product. when I click my computer it froze, then i had to re-boot and then I got the BSOD.
I can say without a doubt that the screen you encountered beginning with -
Code:

	WARNING
   YOUR'RE IN DANGER
. . . is not part of Windows XP. Your system has apparantly been infected and the BSODs are directly related to it [the infection]. I would usually refer you to our Security Forum to have your system checked for malware, but you must be able to run the programs as directed, which you cannot do at this time.

I would then suggest that you try to boot into SAFEMODE if you want access to your files. Keep in mind that they may be infected as well. After that, I would recommend re-installing XP.

Regards. . .

jcgriff2

.


You appear to be infected and there are only t
jcgriff2 is online now  
Old 07-24-2009, 09:04 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 12
OS: Windows XP Home



I can't get into safe mode it still goes to the bsod so does it look like I'm screwed?
__________________
BaileyShelhorse is offline  
Old 07-25-2009, 07:46 AM   #20
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



You could try running Ubuntu as a live CD and see if you can access your files that way..

http://www.ubuntu.com/GetUbuntu/download

__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:17 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts