Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Preparing to Standby or Hibernation Hangs

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Preparing to Standby or Hibernation Hangs within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi, My system has Windows XP pro Service Pack 3 with intel centrino2 and 4 GB RAM. Few days back


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2009, 09:41 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



Hi,
My system has Windows XP pro Service Pack 3 with intel centrino2 and 4 GB
RAM. Few days back my system was affected by malware and after I cleared the
system now the Standby and Hibernate option stopped working. Earlier it used to
work but now when I try to put the system on standby mode manually it shows
"Preparing to Standby ( or hibernation)" and nothing else happens. The mouse
is still active but nothing else could be done. I had to finally turn off the
power button and then restart the computer. But I noticed that if I try to
put the computer on standby mode as soon as I reboot it works but couldn't
really find out whats interfering with the process.

If anyone can help me with this I will really appreciate that.
Thanks

__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 11:50 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan, US
Posts: 50
OS: XP/Vista



The usual culprits are a bad driver or bit of software.

You may find this article helpful.

As an aside, 32 bit systems only recognise 3Gb of ram and this has been known to cause problems in some instances, not sure if it applies to you.

__________________
TheBrit is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 12:06 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



hi,
The article is not opening if you could again send the link that would be really good. You might be right may be some traces of software are left or the drivers need to be updated but this system is pretty new.

Regarding the 3 GB thing, I was wondering if there would have been problem with that in that case it should not have worked since the system was built but my system was working fine few days back.

I am not sure if anything can be done to solve this problem or not but hope to find a solution.

Thanks
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 12:21 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan, US
Posts: 50
OS: XP/Vista



try this link
__________________
TheBrit is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 03:18 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



I am trying every single option to fix this standby problem but nothing is helping . I already went through the article but I don't think anything is working. I need real technical help to fix this problem. I don't think I can do it on my own.
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-12-2009, 04:11 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Kalamazoo, Michigan, US
Posts: 50
OS: XP/Vista



The plain truth is that there are only so many fixes to try for this problem. If none of them work then the only way I know round it is a complete reinstall or do without it.
__________________
TheBrit is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 09:31 AM   #7
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Do you have an XP PRO SP3 CD ? If you have a regular XP Pro CD without SP3 (borrow one if needed) then you can slipstream SP3 on it using this guide. Then go to start => run and type sfc /scannow (don't forget the space after sfc). The system file checker (sfc) will check system files and registry entries and replace them with the correct ones if needed, it'll ask for the XP SP3 CD if some system files are corrupt. Don't use the computer while sfc is running and restart it once it's done.

If that didn't help take a look at this ms support article (kb907477) :
How to troubleshoot hibernation and standby issues in Windows XP
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 10-13-2009, 03:36 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



Thanks so much, I will try these steps and hope, that this will fix the problem

Thanks once again
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-14-2009, 02:14 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



I tried sfc /scannow but this did not help. This option did not ask for XP cd. I think I will have to live with this because I have gone through the kb907477 article and none of the solutions were suitable for my systems problem.

Thanks anyways for your help
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-15-2009, 08:21 AM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Tell us whether standby works in safe mode. To get into safe mode repeatedly press F8 at startup and select safe mode in the options there.

Go to the device manager : start => run => devmgmt.msc. Are there any devices with a yellow, red or black icon in the list there ?
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 10-16-2009, 10:26 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



Standby does not work in safe mode and none of the icons are yellow or red or black in color. It seems that all the devices are working fine.

But the standby option is greyed out I can't select it. I am not sure if its normal or not.

Thanks
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-17-2009, 03:02 AM   #12
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Right-click "my computer" => properties => advanced => settings (under performances) => advanced => change (under virtual memory) => tick system managed size. Click ok until you're back on the desktop, restard the computer and recheck the standby option.

If this didn't work reinstall the display and motherboard drivers. Is this some brand computer or a custom build ?
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 10-17-2009, 08:36 AM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



I tried the system manage size but it did not help. I still have to reinstall the display and motherboard drivers but am not sure how will I do it.

My computer is dell Latitude E6400 Windows XP Professional Service Pack 3 and everything used to work fine until this system was struck by the virus (as I already mentioned).

Yesterday I found out that the windows installer was not working it was showing that there are updates but could not download or install the updates. But finally after much effort it was solved (reason was msiexec.exe was missing).

The problem with standby or hibernation is that it does not show any error message nor I can't find anything alarming in the evet viewer.

I am not sure but may be some files might be missing thats needed for standby process

Thanks a lot for your help
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-18-2009, 03:41 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 38
OS: windows XP professional



Thanks everyone for your help. Finally I found the solution for my systems problem, I did not reinstall the display and motherboard driver.

The steps that I followed are:

1) Start-> Run-> devmgmt.msc-> ok
2) Imaging devices-> Integrated Webcam-> DblClick
3) Click Driver Tab-> Roll Back Driver (to any previous version)
4) Ok
5) Close device management

This worked for me, am not sure this will work for others or not.

Good Luck
__________________
us_desi is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 06:15 AM   #15
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


Glad you had it sorted and thanks for sharing the solution
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 12-05-2009, 09:51 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
OS: XP, Sp3



This is EXACTLT my problem, however I don't have any "Imaging devices" nor a webcam on my laptop. Its a Sony viao, windows XP sp3.
__________________
Romaru is offline  
Old 12-07-2009, 12:26 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 17
OS: XP, Sp3



Does anyone have any idea?

__________________
Romaru is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:35 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts