Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] No internet after system restore

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] No internet after system restore within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Greetings. After my actual computer went down due to HDD issues, I decided to restore an aging HP pavilion I


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-26-2010, 02:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Win XP



Greetings. After my actual computer went down due to HDD issues, I decided to restore an aging HP pavilion I had lying around. It was full of junk and the registry was messed up, so I ran HP's system restore and got it to fully functional status. The internet was fine, and I was able to clean most of the system off with Avast!. However, when I was removing the old anti-virus I had on there, Norton, it asked me to restart my computer. When I did so, the internet did not work. I checked the drivers, the IP and DNS, and the DHCP, but they all seem to be fine. By rights, the internet should be working fine. However, Firefox refuses to connect, and online apps that I have, such as Xfire and MSN Messenger are not functional. I've checked the cables and they work fine. Also, the laptop I am typing on now which is hooked into the same router is fully operational. If anyone has any ideas as to why the internet would suddenly stop working, I'd appreciate the tips.

Operating System: Windows XP
RAM: 512 Mb
HDD: 200Gb
Computer Model: HP Pavilion a530n

__________________
Tazgrent is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:32 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Dover,Fl
Posts: 211
OS: XP Home service pack 2



Maybe the lan setting got set to a proxy server. Just a thought stranger
things have happened.

__________________
fiddle faddle is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 03:46 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Hi Tazgrent. You could try resetting your TCP/IP network stack.

Start>Run and type 'CMD' and hit enter.
Next type 'netsh int ip reset resetlog.txt' (note the spaces; don't type the apostrophes)
__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 04:05 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Win XP



Ah ha! Fixed it. Turns out Norton forgets to uninstall a DHCP registry dependency, therefore stopping it from starting. Thankfully, I removed it from the registry and it now works like a charm. Go ahead and mark this question as answered.
__________________
Tazgrent is offline  
Old 05-26-2010, 04:16 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
TheGift73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Lewes UK
Posts: 1,539
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate X64 and x86 SP1 & Windows XP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to TheGift73

Cool. Thanks for letting us know how you fixed it as it may help some other people out in the future.
To mark this as solved go Thread Tools>Mark This Thread as Solved.

__________________
TheGift73 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:55 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts