Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Missing Ip Address

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Missing Ip Address within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I just bought a used dell pc. It was flooded with viruses. I installed Avast anti-virus and cleaned about 5


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-27-2008, 06:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS: vista


Exclamation

I just bought a used dell pc. It was flooded with viruses. I installed Avast anti-virus and cleaned about 5 Trojans 3 trojan-gen and about 10 adware files-viruses whatever they are called. now i hooked up a router using the laptop i already on and got it working so now i have wireless and dsl. so i hooked up the dsl cord to the pc so i can have internet on the pc also and just use wireless on my laptop....now i know its not a problem with the modem cuz i am usin the modem to be online now....so trying to configure my network connection i go to run and type cmd and then when i typed in ipconfig to get my ip address nothing came up....what happened and how do i get my ip address back

__________________
jow45 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:01 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS: vista



by the way i have windows xp home on the pc

__________________
jow45 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 07:53 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 36
OS: (Custom main computer): Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit....(Dell Optiplex Sx270): Windows XP SP3



so when you do ipconfig it says you have a 0.0.0.0 ip address right? do ipconfig /renew
__________________
Imprive is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:13 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS: vista



actually when i do ipconfig the exact reading is:

C:/Documents and Settings/Club Hipnotic>ipconfig

Windows IP Configuration


C:/Documents and Settings/Club Hipnotic>_<<<(thats the blinking cursor)

so as you can see its not showing anything...a number or anything...im stuck...i have never seen anything like it
__________________
jow45 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: S.Cal. La Puente
Posts: 114
OS: xp pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by jow45 View Post
I just bought a used dell pc. It was flooded with viruses. I installed Avast anti-virus and cleaned about 5 Trojans 3 trojan-gen and about 10 adware files-viruses whatever they are called. now i hooked up a router using the laptop i already on and got it working so now i have wireless and dsl. so i hooked up the dsl cord to the pc so i can have internet on the pc also and just use wireless on my laptop....now i know its not a problem with the modem cuz i am usin the modem to be online now....so trying to configure my network connection i go to run and type cmd and then when i typed in ipconfig to get my ip address nothing came up....what happened and how do i get my ip address back
if you type ipconfig and nothign at all populates, it means the nic is not installed or the tcp ip stack is not working, however you type ipconfig and 0.0.0.0 populates this means its still trying to answer the dhcp request, if media state disconnected populates then of course your disconnectede

if you see 169.254.x.x it tdoes not see the dhcp server and is not pulling an ip address...

thanks
Wolf~
__________________
thebigbadWOLF is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 08:28 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS: vista



so since nothing is coming up at all what do i need to do?
__________________
jow45 is offline  
Old 08-27-2008, 09:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
AquariusFX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 148
OS: XP SP3 / Vista SP1

My System


go to device manager and see if there's problem with the network device.
uninstall and reinstall the driver might help.
__________________
AquariusFX is offline  
Old 08-28-2008, 09:07 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: S.Cal. La Puente
Posts: 114
OS: xp pro



Quote:
Originally Posted by AquariusFX View Post
go to device manager and see if there's problem with the network device.
uninstall and reinstall the driver might help.
this is correct :)

try this and postback

thanks
Wolf~
__________________
thebigbadWOLF is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:08 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 5
OS: vista



i uninstalled and reinstalled it worked great...thanks

__________________
jow45 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts