Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] How Do I Stop Performersoft Llc From running at startup

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] How Do I Stop Performersoft Llc From running at startup within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Every time I start my Computer I get a box asking if I want to run this program. It's not


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2011, 01:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
OS: Vist home



Every time I start my Computer I get a box asking if I want to run this program. It's not loaded in my programs.I'm not sure how it even got on my computer. How do I get rid of this nag at startup?
Thanks in advance

__________________
DrDave059 is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 01:18 PM   #2
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 4,969
OS: No PC.



Try going to "Run" then type in
msconfig hit enter. Look for the program in the list, un-check it.

Click on "OK" then it will ask you to reboot do so. Then when reboot is done and Windows loads a prompt will appear "Do not show this message again" check it hit ok.

__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 01:22 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Do you have a Motorola Cell Phone or other smart phone, did you install any sync software to sync phone and your computer? If so, uninstall the Motorola Phone tools
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 01:28 PM   #4
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Do you have any Performersoft products installed? PC Performer,Driver Performer,etc

Possibly installed through another program.
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:15 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
OS: Vist home



Thanks for all the input.
I did the run msconfig and didn't see anything. I went ahead and ran and installed the program then uninstalled it ,that didn't change anything. I have nothing synced to a cell phone. I even tried a system restore point back a few weeks and that didn't help.

Any other ideas would be appreciated
__________________
DrDave059 is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:19 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Reinstall the program and uninstall it with Revo Uninstaller. Make sure you do the Advanced method and remove all files in the Registry associated with the program. Restart the computer, when you come back up, do a search for the program and delete all left over files, empty the recycle bin.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
OS: Vist home



Thanks, This problem is on my computer at work. I'll give it a try tomorrow and let you know. Thanks again!
__________________
DrDave059 is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:49 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You may want to speak with your IT admin to help you with this as it might be a program they installed for you.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 06:32 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
OS: Vist home



Thanks for all the help. All is well in Computer Land..
__________________
DrDave059 is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 10:20 AM   #10
Hardware Tech Team
 
makinu1der2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 14,884
OS: Win7,Win XP,PC LinuxOS

My System


Glad you got it sorted. What was your resolution?
__________________
makinu1der2 is offline  
Old 10-28-2011, 01:55 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Yes, share with us the solution and then mark this thread Solved in the Thread Tools at the Top.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 10:04 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 24
OS: Vist home



Re-installing the program and uninstalling it with Revo Uninstaller did the trick.

Thanks again!
__________________
DrDave059 is offline  
Old 10-29-2011, 01:29 PM   #13
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 26,153
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


You are welcome!
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 02:31 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7



I had the same problem as I had accidentally clicked to download PC Performance enhancer software but had not installed it. The pop up message was requesting to install the software every time I started up my laptop. As the downloaded file was in the temporary internet folder by launching internet explorer and going to tools, internet options I was able to solve the problem by deleting everything from the temporary internet folder.
__________________
ShinBoy is offline  
Old 12-14-2011, 02:41 AM   #15
Windows Specialist
Microsoft Support Team
 
CriticalPoint's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 906
OS: Windows 7 Ent x64

My System


Thanks Shin, good post.
__________________
MEMTest ¦ Drive Fitness ¦ IMGBurn
Malware & Virus help ¦ Slow PC?

Looking for support with something else?
Microsoft ¦ Security ¦ Hardware ¦ Networking

Got an SSD?
Disable Defrag, SuperFetch and Prefetch!




*I do not always subscribe to threads*
If you're awaiting a reply after 24 hours, please PM me
CriticalPoint is offline  
Old 06-15-2012, 11:38 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 1
OS: Windows 7 - 6.1 Service Pack 1



Quote:
Originally Posted by DrDave059 View Post
Re-installing the program and uninstalling it with Revo Uninstaller did the trick.

Thanks again!
I had the same problem, and looked at msconfig as suggested. I found Easy-Hide-IP (which I have looked at and decided against) and deactivating that also stopped Performer Soft. Apparently one had dragged the other with it.

__________________
Bisjer is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Internet Explorer blocked this site from downloading files.... EVERY WEBSITE!
Just about EVERY website I visit (including this one) IE8 gives me a popup stating that Internet Explorer blocked this site from downloading files to your computer. I even allowed it once--the file was in Notepad stating: .app_content_140511002640400 a.uiLinkSubtle { display: none; }...
SueJ999 Internet Explorer Forum 12 02-07-2011 10:36 PM
[SOLVED] Internet Explorer running slow
Lately when I am typing in Internet Explorer or using my mouse to navigate in Internet Explorer it is very slow. It seems to be bogged down.
pmlsoccerfan Internet Explorer Forum 16 01-18-2011 08:14 PM
Am I now clean ? Malware.trace removed
I regularly scan with Malwarebyes and less often with SuperAntiSpyware , Spybot, and Avast AV. A scan with MB detected nothing. However, a scan with SAS found Malware.trace and quarantined it. The only listed problem was one registery entry...
Totten Resolved HJT Threads 80 01-08-2011 02:38 PM
[SOLVED] IE8 running slowly
IE8 has been running very slowly lately on my computer. All my other software is running at normal speed. I did a scan for viruses and malware but found nothing. What to do?
botanica Internet Explorer Forum 5 01-03-2011 11:57 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:33 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts