Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support


[SOLVED] Error 1001.InstallUtilLib.dll: Unknown error

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Error 1001.InstallUtilLib.dll: Unknown error within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Everytime I try to install a software, I get this annoying popup, and all action is rolled back... Any idea


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-21-2009, 05:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



Everytime I try to install a software, I get this annoying popup, and all action is rolled back... Any idea how to fix it?? I don't use InstallShield by the way. So the hotfix available doesn't work... :(
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 03-21-2009, 05:42 AM   #2
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



Hello; while there is an InstallUtilLib.dll and an InstallUtil.exe, there is not, that I can find, an InstallUtilLib.exe.
CCT is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 06:48 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



very sorry... its .dll... Is there any way for me to change the topic title??
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 06:52 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
POADB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,574
OS: Win7



Title changed. I'll leave CCT to assist.
POADB is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 07:22 AM   #5
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



'I don't use InstallShield by the way.'

So, what do you use?
CCT is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:35 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



How do I explain... Umm... Like to use the Hotfix provided on the net for this Error, you need to have InstallShield Installed... A software to make setups... And I dont have it installed... I dont use any software to make setups... Because I dont make any....
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:38 AM   #7
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



No, my question referred to this :"Everytime I try to install a software......... I don't use InstallShield by the way."

If you don't use MSInstaller, what do you use?
CCT is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:42 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



huh??Ok wait, because the Hotfix for this problem, when I tried to run it on my computer, it said InstallShield not installed... So I presume that I don't have InstallShield on my system... I think MSInstaller and Installshield are two different things...
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 08:51 AM   #9
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



Some software/programs come with a built-in InstallShield but it is my undertsnading that XP has it anyway as part of MSI. Perhaps it is corrupted.

It could well be that updating to version 3 will fix this problem:

http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en

edit: there is a method of re-installing the InstallShield component alone also; http://support.microsoft.com/kb/888019

I think they are all related - I may well be wrong.

Re-installs/updates shouldn't hurt anyway.


gl


Perhaps running sfc /scannow would be sufficient;

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/310747
CCT is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:06 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



well the MSI update didn't help... Here's something else, it happens only while installing the Printer drivers... When I tried installing the Drivers y'day, I got the same error, and today when I'm installing Nitro PDF, I'm getting the same error when it tries to install the printer driver.
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:10 AM   #11
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



Is this happening on automatic discovery and install?

Or, have you tried cancelling that and doing a manual install?
CCT is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:14 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



Well for Nitro PDF its automatic... Whereas for the Actual Driver installation, its manual...
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-21-2009, 09:27 AM   #13
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



Well, sfc /scannow should fix any normal 'problems' re damaged drivers.

The Nitro PDF software would be involved with the printer at some point, but how this gets that same error I don't know.

Out of ideas here.
CCT is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 12:12 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



ok can someone upload their own InstallUtilLib.dll file from :
c:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727
on their system and post the link here?? (Note the previous path is for XP)
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 02:28 AM   #15
TSF Enthusiast
 
POADB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,574
OS: Win7



ashwin,

Have you tried to run System File Checker as CCT suggested?

Go to Start > Run and type: sfc /scannow and hit enter. Allow it to complete.

In addition, you can try to re register the dll:
Navigate to the dll file and then right click and 'open with'. Click browse, and open the file with C:\Windows\System32\regsvr32.exe

Finally, you can download a new dll from here:

http://www.dll-files-download.com/I/...1-13/6946.html
POADB is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 02:58 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



I don't have the Windows XP CD with me right now to run the sfc scan. And regsvr32.exe gave me,

"C:\WINDOWS\Microsoft.NET\Framework\v2.0.50727\InstallUtilLib.dll was loaded, but the Dll RegisterServer enter point was not found.

This File cannot be registered."
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 02:59 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



i thought a Re-installation of .NET Framework 2.0 may help, but it doesn't install... I get the same error midway through....
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 03:08 AM   #18
TSF Enthusiast
 
POADB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 6,574
OS: Win7



OK - try downloading a new.
POADB is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 03:35 AM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 112
OS: Windows 8 Professional



I did... I even asked my friend to send over the file from his computer... Same error.. :(
ashwin.terminat is offline  
Old 03-22-2009, 03:56 AM   #20
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,126
OS: abacus



Try unregistering and then re-registering per; http://www.tech-archive.net/Archive/.../msg00177.html
CCT is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:25 AM.


vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 2001 - 2015, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts

 

Partially Powered By Products Found At Lampwrights.com