Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[SOLVED] Computer takes FOREVER to reboot

This is a discussion on [SOLVED] Computer takes FOREVER to reboot within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. This is the only real problem with my computer...it takes like 10 minutes to restart!


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-25-2007, 09:27 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



This is the only real problem with my computer...it takes like 10 minutes to restart!

__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 05:25 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



Maybe spyware or something?

__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 08:18 AM   #3
chin
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:



have you scanned for spyware and virus' yet? After doing that I would do a repair on your install and see if that fixes it.... repair usually sorts out all of my problems...

My comp is doing something similar but less extreme, mine's only taking a full minute to reboot and shutdown... not sure why because this is new build and fresh install so I'm thinking hardware related.

good luck
__________________
 
Old 09-26-2007, 09:05 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
OS: XP



chin, just read your response to chinacat. I too have problems with the length of time it takes my PC to start up, and I would appreciate it (me being a "newbie") if you could explain how to do a "repair on your install"...please oblige lolly70
__________________
lolly70 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 09:10 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



Quote:
Originally Posted by lolly70 View Post
chin, just read your response to chinacat. I too have problems with the length of time it takes my PC to start up, and I would appreciate it (me being a "newbie") if you could explain how to do a "repair on your install"...please oblige lolly70
This is how:
http://www.informationweek.com/hardw...tech/189500364
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 10:42 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 30
OS: XP



Kinbard, many,many thanks for your very speedy response to my question. I have had a quick look at the link you posted and it looks to me like even a "newbie" like me will be able to follow the instructions. It's going to take a while for me to completely digest and put it into practice, so I thought I would thank you now because I didn't want to give the impression that I had taken the info. and not thanked you. I will get back to you when the operation has been completed(fingers crossed)...lolly70
__________________
lolly70 is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:17 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



We never feel that way. Let us know how it turns out.
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:19 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



thank you ! I did a virus scan (ad-aware) and the norton virus......nothing. I also didn't know how to do repair on my install, so thanks for posting that site. Have to go work out now and I will work on the problem as soon as I get back!!
__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 12:21 PM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



You are welcome. However, that is just a repair install of xp, and might not resolve the issue. Something else could be the culprit, like startup programs and processes. Let us know how things work out.
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 09-26-2007, 09:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



Uh oh, I don't have the setup CD!
__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 09:03 AM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



Quote:
Originally Posted by chinacat View Post
Uh oh, I don't have the setup CD!
I don't think your issue is related to that, anyway. Click start, go to run and type msconfig. On the startup tab, what all is listed there?
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:14 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



dc++, word, calculator, ad-aware, quick time, iTunes, e-mail, firefox
__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:20 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



Haha...ignore that post.


idfxtray
hkcmd
SOUNDMAN
sm56hlpr
ZCfgSvc
PRONoMgr
ccApp
SNDMon
QTTask
iTunesHelper
ctfmon
msmsgs
GoogleToolbarNotifier
aim6
Adobe Reader Speed Launch

then all of these are unchecked:

(blank)
msmsgs
CfgWiz
qttask
PDVDServ
jusched
GoogleToolbarNotifier
Google Updater
__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:28 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



Would you say that the "delay" is evenly spread out? In other words, from the moment you hit the power button to the Windows welcome screen to the time you reach your desktop and all the statup programs are loaded.
__________________
tosh9i is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:34 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



It takes awhile in the beginning, but then to have everything show up (the task bar icons etc) that takes awhile longer.
__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:40 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 103
OS: xp



Saw that you said you did a virus scan. But did you do a spyware check? 9Sorry if you said you did and I missed it somehow in your posting.

Also, when was the last time you did a defrag of your disk?
__________________
fklauber is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 12:49 PM   #17
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



After you go to IE > Tools > Windows Update, do you see Microsoft Update or Windows Update.

I had Microsoft Update installed on mine and it caused my computer take an extra 5 minutes to load up.
__________________
tosh9i is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 01:05 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



Where do I find IE? I probably do have the updates because they usually do it automatically.
__________________
chinacat is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 01:05 PM   #19
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



IE as in Internet Explorer.
__________________
tosh9i is offline  
Old 09-27-2007, 01:06 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: New York
Posts: 143
OS: WinXP



I defragged it last week sometime..maybe over the weekend. I thought it would help but it really didn't. I did an ad-aware and a norton virus scan. I think ad-aware is spyware check, but I'm not sure.

__________________
chinacat is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts