Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Restore to factory conditions

This is a discussion on Restore to factory conditions within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need some help with restoring my computer to factory condition. I've had some trouble with spyware and other issues

Closed Thread

Old 01-03-2009, 12:41 PM   #1
Registered Member

EEK!

I need some help with restoring my computer to factory condition. I've had some trouble with spyware and other issues and want to just start from scratch. A fresh start. My computer is an Emachine T3422, and it didn't come with any install disks for windows. The OS is partitioned, but I don't know how to make my one copy for the install disks. I'm pretty new to this, so any help is much appriciated.

Old 01-04-2009, 10:04 AM   #2
Registered Member

Even if I don't get a detailed response, can someone point me in the right direction?

Old 01-04-2009, 10:07 AM   #3
Administrator
Microsoft MVP

Team Manager
- Networking
- Microsoft Support
- Hardware

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional

When you first turn on the power . . do you see a prompt to "Press XXXXX to restore the system" or something like that ( different verbage for different manufacturers )

When you look at the hard drive, do you see partitions? . . if so, tell us how they are described.

eMachines offers online support here where you can ask them what to do

Old 01-05-2009, 01:17 PM   #4
Registered Member

Yes, I know how to restore windows, but only from a cd. When I go to the restore option before windows loads, it requires that I insert the install cd, but there is none.

The partitioned drive is labeled "Restore" and is about 4 GB. How can I create my recovery disks?

And Emachines isn't very helpful. There's no straight forward answers (not a big surprise) and when I try the email options for help it gives ne an error when I fill out the form and try and submit.