Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

RESOLVED: RPC server us unavailable

This is a discussion on RESOLVED: RPC server us unavailable within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello: I just completed a session in the Hijack This section of TSF with Ried. He did an excellent job.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-04-2007, 01:07 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Hello:
I just completed a session in the Hijack This section of TSF with Ried. He did an excellent job.
I now have another problem I think pertains to this forum and he has referred me here.

I have an HP 1400 series printer connected to this system which had been working fine for at least a year with no problems. A day or so after the malware cleanup I attempted to print a file and when I switched the printer on, Windows announced it had found new hardware. Windows even identified the device as the 1400. The install hardware wizard came up and I proceeded through that process. The wizard halted with an error message that included the name of the printer and "an error occurred during device installation. The RPC server is unavailable." I thought I would try to re-install the software from my printer disc. This did not re-establish the printer.

I think the RPC server is a service that may have been disabled or obliterated either during cleanup or I could invent any number of likely scenarios.

I did a google search with keywords download Microsoft print spooler, since at least one error message might have contained the word spooler. There is a Microsoft Knowledge Base article having to do with a vulnerability involving the print spooler or the server. I downloaded the fix offered just in case I had not done so with Windows Automatic Updates. At this writing, the printer is still seen as new hardware and the hardware wizard will not complete.
If you have any suggestions, I would be most appreciative.
mitcorb

__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 02:19 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



RPC Server is a service configurable via Administrative Tools. Think it should be set to "Automatic".

I would uninstall the HP printer software, reboot and then reinstall.

__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-04-2007, 04:41 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Thanks, Girderman.
I give this a try.
mitcorb
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 08:26 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Girderman:
OK.
I completely uninstalled all components of the printer software using Add/Remove Programs because I could not find a HP specific uninstaller in its folders.
I did a cold boot up and began the install process.
The installer stopped with the error message again about the server and spooler.
I did some screen captures. Let me see if I can insert: NO I could not insert the images in this message. I tried the paper clip button above but it requests a url for the image and I don't know how to give it a url on my local drive.

I will quote/paraphrase some of the dialogue.

HP installer window
Issues stopping installation.
Print Spooler: This service is stopped and installation cannot continue.
A fix button is available in the interface. Selecting this opens a new error window. Basically, it could not fix the problem.

I opened Administrative Tools, Services, Print Spooler, Properties. The service is indeed stopped. When I select start, I get an error window that says: Could not start. Error1075: The dependency service does not exist or has been marked for deletion."
I await your further suggestions.
mitcorb
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 01:45 PM   #5
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



You can save images to this server only if they are JPG/JPEG. BMPs, GIFs, etc... will not work.

Huh.

Print Spooler is dependant on something else and that is either gone or pending deletion.

Registry situation then.

Lemme go Googling, back in a bit.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-05-2007, 01:47 PM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Score ?

Well lessee...

http://support.microsoft.com/kb/915168

Try that, 'n see if it fixy-fixy . . .
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-06-2007, 05:44 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Thanks,
I will try it and get back to you.
mitcorb
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 08:25 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Girderman:
I followed the KB instructions and found LexBCes in the "Symptoms" along with RPCSS, which it says is the typical value. I removed the LexBCes item, but kept the RPCSS.
Well, after a couple of false starts, I did get the printer to reactivate. I had a little trouble with the software but finally got it to complete its install and was able to print. However, I now have two instances of the same printer in Control Panel /Printers and Faxes.
So, I appreciate the hint on the Microsoft KB article.
I will remember to take that extra step and save my captures as jpg from now on.
Thank you, again.
mitcorb

PS. I wil be back with a new thread, because I already have a new question.
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 09:08 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Lol, you just can't get enuogh, can you ?

Quick ! let's mark this thread "Resolved" before he changes his mind.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 09:11 PM   #10
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


Hahaha...

I'll be happy to mark this as resolved if mitcorb asks....but we should be able to remove the extra printers and faxes applet from the control panel too if need be?
__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Old 05-07-2007, 09:23 PM   #11
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Oops yeah I forgot that part.

<DOH !>
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 12:05 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Well, guys:
I could remove the extra printer identity, unless you see something more complex. I am used to having access to more than one printer at work for various formats and output capacities. However, I am not a network manager, so let me know.
mitcorb
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 05:06 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



Usually what I do is right-click the extra printer and hit delete or remove, whichever.

Make sure the one that remains gets the red mark (is it an "X") for "default printer".
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 07:08 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



Thanks, Girderman.
Interestingly enough, when I turned on the printer after deleting the second copy, the tray had a little announcement that it had found new hardware. The funny thing is, Printers and Faxes showed the remaining printer as the default with a white check in a black circle before deletion of the copy.
Clicking on the announcement started the New Hardware Wizard. I went through that process, apparently the wizard liked the software I had already loaded and it completed.
There is no telling what will happen when I run a test print. I will let you know in my next reply.
mitcorb
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 07:11 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 44
OS: xp



OK
That worked.
Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.
Now. Do I post a new thread, or continue in this one? The question is unrelated to the printer issue.
mitcorb
__________________
mitcorb is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 08:12 PM   #16
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2,088
OS: XP Pro



If it's unrelated start a new one.
__________________
Girderman is offline  
Old 05-08-2007, 08:28 PM   #17
Happy to support TSF!
 
nickster_uk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 7,189
OS: XP Pro SP3, Windows 7 Ultimate (x64), Ubuntu v8.04

My System


Nice work Girdie...marking thread as resolved :)

__________________
nickster_uk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microsoft Security Updates planned for February 2007
On 13 February 2007 Microsoft is planning to release: Security Updates . Five Microsoft Security Bulletins affecting Microsoft Windows. The highest Maximum Severity rating for these is Critical. These updates will be detectable using the Microsoft Baseline Security Analyzer. Some of these...
Zazula Computer Security News 6 02-21-2007 05:33 PM
Cant Add Win2003 Server To Domain- Rpc Error
Ive been trying to add a windows 2003 member server to my domain but I get the following error "The remote procedure call failed and did not execute" DNS is pointing to the correct servers Netbios is working ( I have restarted services) I could add other computers to the domain I can ping...
raiders02k Windows Servers 1 01-25-2006 10:15 AM
rdriv.sys
MicroBell has been helping with this problem. Started with AdWatch Alert about unfixable rootkit trojan and now, since trying to download from anti-spyware links I've been deluged with spyware and other maleficent stuff. This is the first I've been able to stay on line without having to hit the off...
paultrue Inactive Malware Help Topics 69 06-21-2005 10:21 PM
Re: hi jack by look-today.com and haunted by trojan swizzor bt.
Hi there, New and novice member here :sad: :sad: It is really frustrating not being able to get rid of the look-today.com tool bar and it's frequent hijack. I had a scan by 'Trendmircro' and result was 'trojan swizzor bt.' being spotted. Like everyone else, i have tried ad-ware, norton...
chankmr Resolved HJT Threads 41 12-21-2004 08:48 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:28 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts