Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

[resolved] No default gateway, please help

This is a discussion on [resolved] No default gateway, please help within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hello all, This is my first post on any forums of any kind, so wish me luck. For the last


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-04-2005, 06:15 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
OS: WinXP



Hello all,
This is my first post on any forums of any kind, so wish me luck.

For the last little while I've been having problems with my second computer. The OS is WinXP pro. I finally fixed the one problem by deleting 26 viruses and 5 adware, but after I manualy deleted one virus I encountered another problem. The virus was an infected dll; fltmgr.dll. I used a site to help me remove it but I apperently don't have the service pack 2 update because the command;
netsh winsock reset catalog
did not work.

I now do not have a default gateway on that computer. I do have an IP address and a subnet mask, but no default gateway or DNS server. I've tried setting the gateway manualy, but that has yet to work with the attempts I have tried. Although, I am not that certain what my default gateway would be. The first two numbers of the IP address? first three? then what? I'm not really sure, but I have tried many combinations.

Any advice or helpful tips, or just something that can point me in the right direction would be very appreciated. I will note now that a reinstall of WinXP is not an option, my dog ate the disc (and I'm not lying, he actually ate it).

If you have any questions about my system that might help you help me, ask and I'll post the info. I'll keep tabs on this site for awhile, I really want to use the internet on that computer again.

Thank you for your time, sorry if this was a long post.

__________________
Amaroq is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 08:37 AM   #2
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf
Are you behind a router? If so, the default gateway is the ip of the router. If not, it should be automatically assigned by your ISP (as should the DNS server).

Try just running the network setup wizard, maybe turn off your modem, and computer, then power on the modem, wait 10seconds then turn on your computer.

You can always do (from the command prompt): ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew to release and renew all your ip information.

__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 10:50 AM   #3
tgo
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 185
OS: slackware 10.1


Send a message via AIM to tgo
on linux with ifconfig you can set your default gateway , so maybe google about ipconfig and see if you can do that. Also if you have a router try renewing the dhcp tables.
__________________
tgo is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:07 AM   #4
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf
It is easy to set the default gateway with windows, the harder part is knowing what your gateway should be.
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:13 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Ashler's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Memphis, TN
Posts: 128
OS: XP Pro


I have seen winsock get corrupted when deleting viruses and malware. Run the windows xp winsock fix. You can find it here: http://www.snapfiles.com/download/dlwinsockxpfix.html
__________________
Ashler is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 11:18 AM   #6
tgo
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 185
OS: slackware 10.1


Send a message via AIM to tgo
Quote:
Originally Posted by elf
It is easy to set the default gateway with windows, the harder part is knowing what your gateway should be.

Well I thought she had a router which would be the gateway obviously but after I re-read she didnt mention it.
__________________
tgo is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 01:40 PM   #7
elf
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
elf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Knoxville, TN or Austin, TX depending
Posts: 7,196
OS: WinXP Pro SP3 and Windows 7

My System

Send a message via AIM to elf
__________________

If TSF has helped you, Tell us about it! or Donate to help keep the site up!
I do not subscribe to threads, so if I stop replying, PM me with a link to your thread so I can find it again.
elf is offline  
Old 07-05-2005, 05:41 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2
OS: WinXP


Ashler! I don't know how to thank you!
That completely fixed my problem.
Thank you all for your time, have a great day!
__________________
Amaroq is offline  
Old 10-25-2008, 02:50 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XPservice pack 3


Grin

I know this thread is finished, but i would like to say i had the same problem and that link fixed it. Thanks alothttp://www.techsupportforum.com/images/smilies/wave.gif
__________________
ig40kman is offline  
Old 12-28-2009, 12:47 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 17
OS: xp



I am having same problem
Did everything no default gateway-no dns server-no wins server ?
I have fios ,tried reboot unplug router etc -no good
Win XP Media SP2
2 laptops in use can connect to internet ,desk top cannot
Any help ?

__________________
hbhager is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:47 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts