Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Reoccurring hang

This is a discussion on Reoccurring hang within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-09-2012, 08:52 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: E. Texas
Posts: 76
OS: XP Home SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to kortmann

Every second or third day, I get up to find my XP SP3 desktop hung up with 2-3 error messages on the screen. Rarely the same messages. Reboot sets everything working until the next time. Sometimes they refer to memory at “X” location that cannot be read. Others refer to files not being where they are supposed to be or insufficient resources available to complete a task. The problem always seems to occur at about the same time of day but never two days in a row. The only thing I have scheduled to run in this time period is Ghost backup and it runs every day.
I am finding a large number of errors in the system log with “Event Viewer” that seem to roughly correlate to the same time period as the hangs. I do not have the knowledge to evaluate these however.
I have run “chkdsk” on both of my drives and they show no problems. I have also run “memtest” through 20+ cycles with no errors.
I would greatly appreciate help resolving this.

__________________
kortmann is offline  
Old 04-09-2012, 10:21 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: E. Texas
Posts: 76
OS: XP Home SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to kortmann

Sorry,
In re: the above post, Reoccurring hang, I forgot to post sys. info.

OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz, x86 Family 15 Model 4 Stepping 1
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 1015 Mb
Graphics Card: Intel(R) 82915G/GV/910GL Express Chipset Family, 128 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 232868 MB, Free - 201140 MB; D: Total - 1430796 MB, Free - 696810 MB; E: Total - 5585 MB, Free - 330 MB;
Motherboard: ASUSTeK Computer INC., Goldfish2, 1.xx, X312345678
Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Enabled

__________________
kortmann is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 02:13 AM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,634
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Take the side off of the computer and look at the label of the PSU, report the Make, Model #, and Wattage. You may have a failing PSU.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 03:20 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: E. Texas
Posts: 76
OS: XP Home SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to kortmann

Hi again spunk.funk,
Sparkle Power Int'l. LTD
Model # ATX-350PN
350 Watt
__________________
kortmann is offline  
Old 04-10-2012, 07:39 PM   #5
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,634
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


350 Watt PSU is too low powered for a computer with a separate video card. If the RAM and the HDD both test fine then the next culprit will be the PSU
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 12:51 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: E. Texas
Posts: 76
OS: XP Home SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to kortmann

spunk.funk,
The video came with the desktop off the shelf but with a 300W PS. I upgraded to 350W when I added the second internal HDD. I used software to pull the specs and didn't notice it referred to "Video Card". The machine is an hp a819n. I have noticed the second drive is only 1/10 read/write speed compared to "C" drive according to my video editing software. I am pretty sure that was not always the case.
__________________
kortmann is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:12 AM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,634
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
If the RAM and the HDD both test fine then the next culprit will be the PSU
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 01:38 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: E. Texas
Posts: 76
OS: XP Home SP3

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to kortmann

Well then, what PSU do you recommend?
__________________
kortmann is offline  
Old 04-11-2012, 03:44 PM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,634
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Here is a good site to explain your needs Want A High Performance Power Supply Unit?
Get at least a 550 Watt PSU name brand The Big Power Supply Guide - Brands - 10stripe

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:23 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts