Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Reloading software problem

This is a discussion on Reloading software problem within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category.


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-11-2013, 07:36 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Am using older Dell with XP Professional w/SP 3. I get “Java Virtual Machine cannot be loaded” error when trying to re-load HP 3500C series scanner software. If I try to scan, I get “communication error” when trying to use scanner.

I’m unable to find good working copy of older “msjavax86.exe” software to install (understand MS & Sun had a slight disagreement over the Virtual Machine software). Have currently removed scanner software and Java software (Java 7, Update 10) from computer, plus have unchecked the 3 “script options” from Internet Explorer. Computer had to be rebooted last night with above configuration due to power outage on island where I live.

Need help in direction to go from here to get scanner working again
Thanks
Topbaba

__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-12-2013, 09:15 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi and welcome to TSF did you try here for the driver and software and also the troubleshooting and help pages for info on the issue HP Scanjet 3500c Scanner series*-* Download drivers and software - HP Business Support Center check the links to the left of the page

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:28 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Good morning Joeten,
Perhaps I should say “Good Afternoon” since you are 8 hours ahead of my time zone. Thank you for your reply to my problem. I have looked over the troubleshooting information on the site you suggested, but still have not been able to find anything to correct my problem. To give you a better idea of what I face:
When I try and load the scanner software, I get about halfway through the installation and this error message pops up “Unable to start the application-the Java Virtual Machine could not be loaded. Class not registered”. My only choice is to check “OK”. The software continues to load and when finished, a message pops up that says it was loaded correctly.
When I try and scan, I get the communications error “An error occurred communicating with the scanning device. Please ensure that the scanning device is connected properly and try again”. I’m sure I get this message because of the earlier Virtual Machine error message. I have tried a new scanner cable to no avail.
The best thread that I can find on this problem is at this site. I have had no reply since I listed my problem (at bottom of comments under “Baba1”) HP Answers: Unable to start the application-the Java Virtual Machine cannot be loaded. Class not registered. When installing HP scanners HP printers HP Softwares
I am not a computer geek and know enough to only be very dangerous to myself if I try to sail too far into unknown waters!
Topbaba
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 12:37 PM   #4
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi see if any of the java help pages can give you some insight Java Help Center
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:03 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Have checked this site before, but just checked it again but found nothing that dealt with the virtual machine. Think it may be connected somehow with old MS virtual machine vs the Java virtual machine????
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 02:14 PM   #6
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



They may be able to help using the report link here Where can I get the latest version of Java 6?
or try the info here and see if you can enable it http://www.usgs.gov/humancapital/doc...vasettings.pdf
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2013, 04:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Went to the two web sites you suggested. Re-installed the latest version of Java (Java version 7, update 11) and made sure that Java was installed with proper check mark per their instructions. Reloaded scanner software but same error messages appeared.
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 08:03 AM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi what version of java is the program trying to install for the scanner
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:01 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Don't understand the question. Yesterday I installed what I understand is the latest version of Java (Java 7, update 11) and the scanner software is hp scanjet 3500C series "HP photo & imaging software" version 1.0 for windows. The scanner software is on the original CD install disk that came with the scanner.
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2013, 02:58 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,639
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Go to Start/Run and type appwiz.cpl and press enter. Uninstall all HP Scanning software. Then run JavaRa and uninstall all versions of Java. Restart. Now install the latest version of Java. Then download the HP scanner software do not use the CD.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:09 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



I have now corrected my Java Virtual Machine error problem and no longer get the error message when loading the scanner software (found good copy of older MS Java Virtual Machine software). My only problem now is my communication error message (“An error occurred communicating with the scanning device. Please ensure that the scanning device is connected properly and try again”) when I try to scan a picture or document. The scanner will scan a picture to the printer ok.

The scanner shows up ok in the device manager (under Image & Devices) and also shows ok in the Control Panel (under Scanners & Cameras).

Under Internet properties, I HAVE NOT checked the 3 script notifications.

Have remover current Java software from computer (Sun/Oracle)

Have changed cables and inputs which didn't help.
Any ideas???
Topbaba
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 03:26 PM   #12
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hp has a large page of things to do HP Scanjet 3500c Scanner series*-* HP Scanjet Scanner - Resolving USB Scanner Initialization and Related Communication Error Messages - c01275876 - HP Business Support Center
some you may already have done
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2013, 05:12 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Have tried most of the things on this page before, but will start from the beginning again to see what happens...Thanks
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-28-2013, 06:48 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Joeten,
Have now tried everything on the above hp site, but still get the communications error. There is an additional hp site bps3850 that addresses this problem but it involves editing the Windows Registry, which is something I am not comfortable in doing.
Any other ideas????????
__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 08:48 AM   #15
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 54,286
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



To be honest I 'am out of options for this, the reg fix may be a option lets get some more opinions
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-29-2013, 05:14 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 9
OS: XP Professional, SP3



Opps...the correct hp web site as I mentioned above should read "bps03850" which addresses the potential reg fix.

__________________
Topbaba is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Backdoor:Win32/RDPopen.b appearing in Microsoft Security Essentials
Every once in a while Microsoft Security Essentials is encountering 'Backdoor:Win32/RDPopen.b, and even after clicking remove all, it re-appears after 10 minutes to Half an hour and every time I boot up the system. It isn't really affecting my computer much either, which is probably because it is...
niallforrest Resolved HJT Threads 50 01-16-2013 10:34 AM
Removing searchnu.com/406.
I've somehow picked up this little pain and I'm having trouble removing it. . DDS (Ver_2011-08-26.01) - NTFSAMD64 Internet Explorer: 9.0.8112.16421 Run by Tom at 13:04:17 on 2012-05-05 Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate 6.1.7600.0.1252.44.1033.18.6071.3944 . AV: avast! Antivirus...
TomRiches Resolved HJT Threads 11 05-06-2012 07:12 PM
virus...
Hello, Recentlly I got a problem with a evil virus. It start to delete .dll files , don't alow me to enable antivirus or any program that affect it (close those automaticlly when they...scan the virus), it open some certain .exe files that slow down my internet acces at the limit where i can't...
iully25 Resolved HJT Threads 47 09-25-2011 03:48 PM
Malware
Hi, my laptop got hijacked. When I power my laptop it will bootup and then I will get a security alert that says, "Virus Alert! Application can't be started! The file mpcmdrun.exe is damaged. Do you want to activate your antivirus software now? If you press yes, then it will open Internet...
dv82u Resolved HJT Threads 14 03-19-2011 12:46 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:15 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts