Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

reboot and select proper boot device???

This is a discussion on reboot and select proper boot device??? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I recently unplugged my pc for a week while on vacation. Once I returned I turned everything back on and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-03-2006, 04:02 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
OS: XP



I recently unplugged my pc for a week while on vacation. Once I returned I turned everything back on and I am getting this message:

"Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Inster Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

I have tried almost everything, I do not have any boot disks, only backup cd's.

It also brings up a screen that says the following:
DDR Frequency 400Mhz, Single-Channel or Virtual Single-Channel
Checking NVRAM..Update Failed
2048MB OK
USB Device(s): 4 Storage Devices
Autod-Detecting Sec Master..ATAPI CD-ROM
Auto-Detecting Sec Slave...ATAPI CD-ROM
Sec Master: HP DVD Writer 400 KH27
Ultra DMA Mode-2
Sec Slave: ASUS CD-s480/AH 0.87
Ultra DMA Mode-2
Auto-detecting USB Mass Storage Devices..
Device #01:
Device #02:
Device #03:
Device #04:
04 USB mass storage devices found and configured.

A:Drrive Error
Press <F1> for Setup, <F2> to continue

I press F2 then I get the the message: "Reboot and Select proper Boot device or Inster Boot Media in selected Boot device and press a key"

I have the following:
windows xp professional medial center addition
p4 w/HT

can someone please help. I have rebooted over and over, turned power off and removed battery, reset to default in the bios.....help!

__________________
Mrkwhlr2 is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 04:41 PM   #2
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,382
OS: Win7-64

My System

Make sure you haven't accidentally left a floppy in the drive, and check the boot order in BIOS.

Are any of your 4 USB devices external drives?

__________________
koala is offline  
Old 04-03-2006, 05:00 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,229
OS: XP Professional


Hi,

You didn't say which motherboard you have (unless I missed it) so this becomes a difficult question. Assuming it is a newer board, then you might want to take a look at the hard drive priority order. Many new boards, you must set the hard drive priority before you set the boot order in the BIOS setup menu. Set your priority to the drive you want to boot from and the boot order to:

CDRom - 1st
Floppy - 2nd
Hard Drive - 3rd

*Don't forget to save before you exit.

Post back with more questions and progress.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 01:08 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Kuwait
Posts: 125
OS: Windows 2003, Windows XP SP3...


Did I read primary master anywhere?
__________________
rajthampi is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 05:54 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by koala
Make sure you haven't accidentally left a floppy in the drive, and check the boot order in BIOS.

Are any of your 4 USB devices external drives?
I do not have the floppy drive connected.
I have unplugged ALL USB's, so no external drives.
No disks in any of the rom drives.
__________________
Mrkwhlr2 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 05:56 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed36
Hi,

You didn't say which motherboard you have (unless I missed it) so this becomes a difficult question. Assuming it is a newer board, then you might want to take a look at the hard drive priority order. Many new boards, you must set the hard drive priority before you set the boot order in the BIOS setup menu. Set your priority to the drive you want to boot from and the boot order to:

CDRom - 1st
Floppy - 2nd
Hard Drive - 3rd

*Don't forget to save before you exit.

Post back with more questions and progress.
It is an HP Media Center edition I think the P-4 SDLA
I have changed the boot order so many times in the bios, and still nothing...I did not see anywhere an option for "Hard Drive 3rd" just CDRom then floppy
__________________
Mrkwhlr2 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 06:43 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


Quote:
I recently unplugged my pc for a week while on vacation
try and replace the battery and reset you clock time in the bios
__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:02 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 24,229
OS: XP Professional


Hi,

Possible problem. If you have the floppy selected in the boot order and have it disconnected............then it may search and search and search and not find anything. YOu need to have this and the CDRom plugged IF in the boot order.
__________________
Tumbleweed36 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 08:02 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
OS: XP


Quote:
Originally Posted by whosdat
try and replace the battery and reset you clock time in the bios
I pulled the battery for a few minutes and put it back in.......I will buy a new battery and see if that will help. I think my HD is about to go kaput........not sure.....
__________________
Mrkwhlr2 is offline  
Old 04-04-2006, 04:06 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Ballistic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Atlantic Canada
Posts: 117
OS: Currently Ubuntu, XP Pro/Win7...Various flavors of *Nix


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tumbleweed36
Hi,

Possible problem. If you have the floppy selected in the boot order and have it disconnected............then it may search and search and search and not find anything. YOu need to have this and the CDRom plugged IF in the boot order.
I have to agree here...It's going to have a hard time booting, if it can't find the drive it's trying to boot from.

I also didnt see anything that looked a hard drive in your boot screen. For that matter, I didn't see any primary IDE settings at all...

Try changing the floppy option to your hard drive, see if it finds anything then?
__________________
Ballistic is offline  
Old 04-06-2006, 02:51 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 43
OS: XP


thanks for all the replies. As usual, you guys are quick to help and it's always appreciated. My hard drive was DONE...KAPUT...NATTA! Had to replace

went ahead and replace motherboard also......

thanks again!
__________________
Mrkwhlr2 is offline  
Old 05-19-2009, 09:15 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
OS: xp



I encountered this problem out-of-a-sudden / i.e. suddenly!! The following method works for my case: start notebook, press F2, go to BIOS, boot priority. I realised that the 1st boot-up priority was set to a DVD, i tired setting it to the hardisk (HDD) and reboot the notebook again. But that didn't work. Went in to the same menu (i.e boot priority) and select 'uses default' , then save and exit. I removed my battery pack on the notebook and reboot. It rectifies and boots up properly...not sure why/how...but that works for my case.

__________________
tr1111 is offline  
Closed Thread
Gear in this thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question

Gear in this thread


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:29 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts