Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Procedure Entry Point Could Not Be Found

This is a discussion on Procedure Entry Point Could Not Be Found within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I downloaded some CA software to control spam. Started getting Blue Screen of Death. Went into SafeMode and performed restore,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-27-2011, 08:54 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
OS: XP



I downloaded some CA software to control spam. Started getting Blue Screen of Death. Went into SafeMode and performed restore, no help. removed SW, no help. Reloaded Windows with Repair feature (twice), no more BSoD but now get "Procedure Entry Point ???? Could Not Be Located in the Dynamic Link Library ????" where ???? represent different points and different libraries for different actions. I have purchased RegCleanPro and ran, no help. Reinstalled SP1 and 2, no help. I can not open or reload I.E. of any version. I can not get a list of files in the "Add/Remove Software" section of the Control Panel. I have not reloaded any .dll files. There may be a few more actions that I have taken, but can't remember everything I have tried at this point. FireFox and email still work fine. Hope you have some new ideas.

__________________
mryates is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 09:31 AM   #2
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,806
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Start>Run>sfc /scannow
Registry Cleaners not a good idea.

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 10:02 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Start>Run>sfc /scannow....did not resolve issue. Forgot to mention, I also can not get System Information to display.
__________________
mryates is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 10:16 AM   #4
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,806
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Uninstall SP2. Reinstall + SP3. The dll library version might not match current OS. Purpose of uninstalling SP2 is possibility that your reinstall didn't completely work.
Also, take a look at this: You receive an "Explorer.EXE - Entry Point Not Found - The procedure entry point SHCreateThreadRef could not be located in the dynamic link library Shlwapi.dll" error message after you install the MS04-038 security update
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 11:28 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Unable to access "Add/Remove" programs except in Safemode. I get an error message stating that I can't remove SP2 because I am in SM or a problem exists with Windows Installer. Tried to re-install Windows Installer, but it says SP is too low. Trapped in a cycle???
__________________
mryates is offline  
Old 10-27-2011, 02:42 PM   #6
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,806
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



You really have to get rid of Regclean Pro. It's a questionable program. Now go to: How to remove Windows XP Service Pack 2 from your computer and use the hidden $NtServicePackUninstall$ method to uninstall SP2.
__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 10:33 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 4
OS: XP



I was able to get the previous SP uninstalled, then re-installed SP2, then SP3. I saw positive changes, my IE started working (but extremely slow), and then I did an update on my system. When the updates were complete, and the system restarted, I started getting the BSoD. I tried to fix it by running repair with my windows CD, and now I am back (almost) to ground zero. I am restarting the process, but if anyone knows why I got the BSoD after loading the Windows Updates, I would love to hear a solution. This problem is getting quite aged now and I seem to be caught in a loop.
__________________
mryates is offline  
Old 11-01-2011, 12:48 PM   #8
Team Manager
Microsoft Support
 
Corday's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Midlands of South Carolina
Posts: 10,806
OS: Windows 7 Pro, ME, Vista. In the past CP/M, DOS, Windows 95, 2000 & 98SE



Something like indigestion. One of the updates didn't agree with your computer. After SP3, might try one update item at a time. I'm assuming when you look at Installed Updates all show "Successful".

__________________



The stability of an OS is in direct proportion to the stability of the user.
Corday is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netbook Hijacked? freeze problem, Acer AspireOne
To whom it may concern: Thanks for taking the time to help me. My Acer netbook worked great for over a year before it recently was overcome with locking up / freezing issues. I've performed many hard reboots lately, which leads me to believe I have a nasty trojan or rootkit issue, but I have...
badbassrandy Inactive Malware Help Topics 7 05-28-2011 07:29 AM
XP repair, now getting 'Entry Point Not Found' errors
Hi I have an old desktop running XP. Dell Dimension 2200. One of the 256Mb ram chips failed and Windows wouldn't boot either so I 've run an XP repair (and I'll go look for replacement ram). Following the repait the PC is on XP SP1. I'd obviously like to take it up to SP3 but whenever I try...
Tiridhe Windows XP Support 6 04-28-2011 03:09 PM
Java Trojans, etc
Greetings, Thank you for taking the time to address my problem. Your help is much appreciated and I understand this is volunteer based, so I will maintain patience. I am trying to set up an older laptop for my kids to use, so I downloaded Avast and ran their Full Scan and their Boot Scan. ...
treefrog1 Inactive Malware Help Topics 44 04-10-2011 04:53 AM
Please check to be sure virus was completely removed
I'm not sure where I got them from but Webroot showed a virus warning and says it removed it...I ran Super Antispyware and it found two others...I would like someone to look over the scan and see if it was removed completely... Here are the screenshots from the quarantine...and I will attach...
tiggere Virus/Trojan/Spyware Help 13 02-10-2011 05:45 AM
Explorer.exe not fully loading + some
I have been having trouble with Explorer.exe fully loading at startup. I can get it to load eventually through cmd. Also, when I go into task manager it doesn't show what processes are my login and which are system anymore. Windows update wont load and I think I have the redirect thing too. If I...
Invertediq Resolved HJT Threads 12 01-19-2011 06:01 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:45 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts