Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge not enough resources?!

This is a discussion on PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge not enough resources?! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. In my device manager I am seeing 2 entries of "PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge" yet one is giving an error


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-01-2009, 12:22 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

In my device manager I am seeing 2 entries of "PCI standard PCI-to-PCI bridge" yet one is giving an error of not having enough resources.

I have no clue what the issue is, this is a new reinstall, the only thing I can think of is that I have a new sound card in a PCI slot that I have never used before (I bought a new video card so I had to move the sound card)

Any help would be appreciated.

__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:59 AM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 448
OS: WinXP



Click "show hidden devices" and report if there are any flagged devices. Uninstall all flagged devices. Uninstall both PCI-PCI bridge devices and reboot. One or both will come back.

Report results.

__________________
Johnny Tremaine is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 01:41 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

I looked under show hidden and there were no flagged devices, I uninstalled both and restarted. Both came back but the problem is still present.
__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 04:52 AM   #4
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



It is likely that you have an IRQ conflict with that PCI slot - can you move the audio card to another PCI slot?
__________________
CCT is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:08 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

Yes and I have, I have 2 PCI slots and the sound card has been in both. Not change when it is moved. I also have this issue with the vid card in my wife's rig as well as my previous vid card.

Even when I do a complete reinstall of the OS the problem is still there to greet me, could my MOBO be dying?
__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 06:13 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

On a side note, not sure if this is related to the above issue (I think it is) but when I try to install drivers for the video card, the system acts as though it cannot detect it.

I have picture and the display is perfect, but there are no display drivers listed in device manager at all, and no driver install program can detect the video card.
__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 08:54 AM   #7
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 448
OS: WinXP



When you did the XP reinstall, did you install the motherboard drivers ? Many people forget this.

Post the model, etc... of motherboard.

Post model, etc... of video card.

Post exact text of your error message.

If the problem survives XP reinstall, it's going to either be drivers or hardware.

Remove the sound card and see if the problem goes away on reboot. Report results.

Did you remember to click "show hidden devices" ?
__________________
Johnny Tremaine is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:33 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

Yes I installed the Motherboard drivers.

Abit IP-95 (about 3 years old)

Nvidia GeForce GTS 250

This device cannot find enough free resources that it can use. (Code 12)

If you want to use this device, you will need to disable one of the other devices on this system.

Click Troubleshoot to start the troubleshooter for this device.


When the sound card is completely removed the error message goes away. However the sound card is brand new and I have verified that it does work. I had a previous sound card that died, could that sound card dying have screwed with the PCI slots? The sound card is the onlt device using a PCI slot.

Yes I had "show hidden options" enabled.
__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 12:41 PM   #9
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2,854
OS:



You have to reassign different IRQ for the device. The Troubleshooter program will walk you through it.
__________________
deleted010511 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 02:30 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

I am unable to assign a different IRQ to the device. In the window where I would do so it says that there are no conflicts. In the window where I would change the resources the device is using it gives me no options to do so, only the same error message that is seen on the properties screen.

My video card is also acting as though the drivers are not installed. Considering this appears with each OS install, could removing the CMOS solve the issue?
__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 02:56 PM   #11
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



Try disabling com2 - that frees up a port.

Also, verify that you have the latest Bios.

Also, verify that you have Bios set to see a PnP O/S.
__________________
CCT is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 03:50 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

I have installed the sound card in my wife's rig and the same error occurs. Apparently the sound card is the culprit not the MOBO, I'll be RMAing it to Newegg.
__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Old 09-01-2009, 09:31 PM   #13
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 448
OS: WinXP



One of the advantages of using NewEgg.
__________________
Johnny Tremaine is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 03:35 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 382
OS: Win 8.1 64-bit Ultimate

My System

Send a message via Skype™ to thedarkwolf25

My first time ever having to do so though, so the process is new to me lol. Sucks that it cost $13 to ship a 1lb package via UPS.

__________________
thedarkwolf25 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:03 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts