Tech Support Forum banner
Status
Not open for further replies.

OS Repair didn't work. Comp won't turn on. Help please!

2K views 4 replies 3 participants last post by  divad130 
#1 ·
-I have an HP laptop, bought from a year ago. I tried repairing the my Win Xp operating system because my computer was a little slow and i thought it might help. I followed all the instructions on the manual. After it was done repairing, it restarted.

-However, this is what came up. And if you can't see the pictures, then there's a description on the bottom. (I'm a computer newbie)

Then...

Then...

After that, the computer just restarts. I tried doing a disk check in BIOS, I booted the computer with and without the OS repair CD, is there something I'm missing?

ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED THANK YOU!!! Sorry for such a long thread!
[/SIZE}

Description:
1)The computer turns on, then it goes to the screen that says Windows didn't start successfully and gives you the different options to boot up (like safe mode, ect).
2)No matter what I choose, it goes to another screen that says "A problem has been detected and Windows has been shut down to prevent any damage." The other parts say, "Check your computer for viruses...run CHKDSK /F to check for hard drive corruption..."
3) Then, the computer restarts. HOW CAN I CHECK FOR VIRUSES WHEN I CAN'T EVEN TURN MY COMPUTER ON!?

See less See more
#3 ·
I had the exact same issue with my PC about a year ago. Mine was related to a hard drive beginning to fail. Don't worry, your hard drive is probably fine.

I also reinstalled XP and then got this nasty message.

There is no easy fix for it. You are going to have to reinstall the OS (clean).

If you are not comfortable with backing your data up with dos utilities and doing a reformat and install, I would reccomend getting a professional to do it for you.

#4 ·