Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

NVRAM...update failed?

This is a discussion on NVRAM...update failed? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. when booting my Windows XP SP3 desktop, it goes through the normal post, then displays this error: NVRAM...update failed and


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-01-2009, 02:12 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



when booting my Windows XP SP3 desktop, it goes through the normal post, then displays this error:

NVRAM...update failed


and just sits there...............what does this mean?

I ran 'windows memory diagnostic" from a disc and it found no errors. I can get into the bios and (i'm not an expert) but evrything seemed "ok"......any idea to what is wrong? What is causing this? and how to fix?


thanks

__________________
hurleynike is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:39 PM   #2
gone
 
Fren Banklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,912
OS: gone



NVRAM = Non-Volatile Random Access Memory

Not exactly sure, but I am fairly certain that this is the same thing as "CMOS", which is a battery-powered memory storage for the BIOS. It saves your BIOS settings.

CMOS batteries are on the motherboard inside the case, and they go bad, run out of electricity.

Open the case, pull the battery out (it's about the size of a quarter). Take it with you when you go to Wal-Mart, Radio Shack or wherever to make sure you get the same kind to replace it. (Note the model number embossed on the battery.) They cost about $5.00.

That will probably fix it. You will probably have to go through the BIOS and put all the settings back to where they were.

__________________
Fren Banklin is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:40 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
USMC0351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 35
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1 & XP Pro sp3

My System


NVRAM refers to the CMOS memory,the first thing to try is a new battery on moutherboard
__________________
USMC0351 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:44 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
USMC0351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 35
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1 & XP Pro sp3

My System


Sorry Fren Banklin we where typing at the same time,you did explain it better than I
__________________
USMC0351 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 02:51 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



ok, i will try the battery...thanks. If that doesn't fix it.....what are other possibilities?
__________________
hurleynike is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 03:18 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
USMC0351's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Florida
Posts: 35
OS: Vista Home Premium SP1 & XP Pro sp3

My System


It could be settings in the bios,try resetting bios to default,it also could be a driver try updating your drivers
__________________
USMC0351 is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:00 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



windows won't start..i can't update any drivers
__________________
hurleynike is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:15 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



windows won't start..i can't update any drivers
__________________
hurleynike is offline  
Old 01-01-2009, 04:28 PM   #9
gone
 
Fren Banklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,912
OS: gone



did you replace the CMOS battery ?
__________________
Fren Banklin is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 04:36 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



not yet...will later today and post back..thanks
__________________
hurleynike is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:38 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 14
OS: windows xp



just replaced the cmos battery...and it works now. it seems slower when posting and takes longer for Windows to start...sonot sure if i should be concerned about that or not?

But it is working now, so thanks! I may havetopost back....fingers crossed!
__________________
hurleynike is offline  
Old 01-02-2009, 12:55 PM   #12
gone
 
Fren Banklin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1,912
OS: gone



It's probably a separate problem. If it didn't work before you replaced the CMOS battery, and it works now, and it continues to work for a few days, you can assume that part is fixed.

Please mark this thread as "resolved" when/if you believe that part of the problem is fixed.

As far as slowness, that issue can be addressed in another thread. You can start a new one on that issue right away, if you want.

__________________
Fren Banklin is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:47 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts