Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

NTLDR is missing

This is a discussion on NTLDR is missing within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. When i start my computer, i receive the error message "NTLDR is missing. Press ctrl + alt + del to


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-14-2012, 11:49 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Palapye, Botswana
Posts: 17
OS: windows 7



When i start my computer, i receive the error message "NTLDR is missing. Press ctrl + alt + del to restart."

When i Press ctrl + alt + del to restart." it goes back again to display the error message. i have tried to boot from hard drive and to boot by windows xp but experience the same problem.

someone help me out there

__________________
tk54 is offline  
Old 03-14-2012, 11:56 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Sri Lanka
Posts: 6
OS: Windows 7 Ultimate SP 1



You should try to install the OS again..

__________________
husseydx is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 12:08 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Palapye, Botswana
Posts: 17
OS: windows 7



thats what i have been trying
__________________
tk54 is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 12:10 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



boot into the recovery console and run

fixboot
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-15-2012, 10:56 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Palapye, Botswana
Posts: 17
OS: windows 7



the computer is not able to go to setup console. the machine restart then: press any key to boot from cd... i did that, after that it displays the error message.
__________________
tk54 is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 12:16 AM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,152
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Boot off of the Windows Disc Or download the Recovery Console ISO. Burn it to CD with IMGBurn Boot off of the CD and get to the Recovery Console. Here type chkdsk /R and press enter. The Check Disk utility will try and fix any file errors. If that fails, at the Recovery Console type FIXBOOT and press enter then try to start normally. If that fails at the RC type FIXMBR and press enter then boot normally.
You can also download the ISO image for Seatools or Drive Fitness in my signature and burn the image to a CD using IMGBurn also in my signature and boot off of the newly created CD and run the Quick and Advanced tests on the HDD to test the integrity of the drive.
spunk.funk is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:02 AM   #7
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



d/load and run the h/drive makers diagnostic utility on the h/drive

Hard Drive Diagnostics Tools and Utilities (Storage) - TACKtech Corp.
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 03-16-2012, 01:08 AM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 27,152
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
You can also download the ISO image for Seatools or Drive Fitness in my signature and burn the image to a CD using IMGBurn also in my signature and boot off of the newly created CD and run the Quick and Advanced tests on the HDD to test the integrity of the drive.
Follow Dai's sound advice

spunk.funk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cisco EPC3925 stops working when a wired PC is starting
Hello! I have an EuroDOCSIS 3.0 cable modem from UPC Romania. It's a Cisco EPC3925, wireless modem. My problem is that most of the time (like 80% of the time) when someone is starting or closing a PC that is connected using a wire, the whole internet crashes (wired PCs get a ! sign and the...
doom_laur Modems/Cable/DSL/Satellite 36 09-24-2012 02:06 PM
[SOLVED] My computer screen keeps going blank even thought the computer is still runn
I have an Acer Aspire 5536 laptop which is about two years old. It started to run slowly and not very efficiently - then the screen started to go blank. Sometimes it goes blank when i am using it or when i am not. . I can see the computer is actually still processing so the whole computer does not...
simoncasey8520 Laptop Support 24 05-10-2012 11:06 AM
Eye in the sky: How Google's privacy policy is the least of your worries
Last week's column about The Google and its new privacy policy got quite a response, ranging from "I don't get it, what's the fuss?," through to "I don't care, I have nothing to hide," and "it's been pretty obvious for years where this was all heading but very few people bothered to sound the...
Glaswegian Computer Security News 6 03-14-2012 03:10 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts