Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

No Proxy Server

This is a discussion on No Proxy Server within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am trying to browse the internet with my computer but it's saying I need a proxy server. It's done


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2010, 08:47 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP



I am trying to browse the internet with my computer but it's saying I need a proxy server. It's done this before but it let me choose a default proxy server, but now there is no default to choose from. I have no idea why it did this, it just happened randomly. My computer is a custom built computer, I'm not sure of the specs on it but it's about 4 years old and I am currently using Mozilla Firefox for the browser. I am so frustrated with it right now, any suggestions would be great! Thank you!

__________________
MeghanT is offline  
Old 10-20-2010, 09:17 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 388
OS: xp



Do you have Firefox with "TorButton" installed ? If so, the proxy server refusing connections message happens when Vidalia isn't running. If you aren't trying to browse anonymously, click off the TorButton in the lower right hand corner of the browser window.

Try another browser. Internet Explorer or Google Chrome.

__________________
BlackHatJack is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 11:01 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 2
OS: Windows XP



Thank you for your suggestions. I don't have the firefox with "TorButton". How would I get Google Chrome on my computer without internet, I'm open to try anything at this point. Thanks again!
__________________
MeghanT is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 11:32 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
danraj0007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 118
OS: xp


Send a message via MSN to danraj0007

please try with the steps listed in the below link.

http://pcsupport.about.com/od/browse...bleieproxy.htm

Update me the status once after you are done, as this might be due to the related proxy server option which would have got enabled preventing from internet access.

Please try it and check.

All the best...
__________________
danraj0007 is offline  
Old 10-21-2010, 11:33 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
danraj0007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: INDIA
Posts: 118
OS: xp


Send a message via MSN to danraj0007

Incase, if it did not work out try to disable the windows firewall and check as the firewal might be preventing access to internet.
__________________
danraj0007 is offline  
Old 10-22-2010, 06:45 AM   #6
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 388
OS: xp



Internet Explorer has the ability to "reset" it's settings back to factory default. It sounds as if you've been infected, and something has disabled Internet Explorer's functionality.

Do you normally use a proxy server ? If not, then the post above is probably correct, your IE has somehow been set to try to use a proxy.

If you can't get IE "reset", you might restore internet functionality by downloading and installing Firefox from a "standalone" package. Download the file to a flashdrive, and manually install it on the broken computer.

http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/firefox.html

__________________
BlackHatJack is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:16 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts