Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

My Videos Dont PLay on Windows Media Player

This is a discussion on My Videos Dont PLay on Windows Media Player within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. hi i hav a dell dimesion runing on windows xp and when i click to waTCH a video i downloaded.


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-31-2008, 09:41 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
djseane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 52
OS: xp



hi i hav a dell dimesion runing on windows xp and when i click to waTCH a video i downloaded. when i click on it it doesnt show.. or i would hair audio but dont c anything please help
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	untitled.GIF
Views:	20
Size:	8.9 KB
ID:	33297  

__________________
djseane is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:18 AM   #2
Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Belfast N.I.
Posts: 1,551
OS: Puppy Linux 4.12



Suggest you D/L VLC player. It 's a lot better than WMP.

__________________
belfasteddie is offline  
Old 09-01-2008, 12:54 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 11
OS: xp sp3



other than dl vlc player. go to google. type in kazaa codec pack. and download it and install

your computer is probably missing codecs for the file.
__________________
jeremy1133 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:38 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Windows Vista



djseane-

Hi, my name’s Cody, and I’m working with the Windows Outreach Team to help people out with any questions or concerns they might have. I see that jeremy1133 had some pretty decent guidance for you in telling you that the problem is probably an issue with the codecs installed on your system. Aside from the codec pack he mentioned, here’s a handy guide created by Microsoft about codecs that might be able to help you out: http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...faq/codec.mspx

If you keep running into problems even after you’re sure the codecs are correct, another good place to look for answers is at Microsoft’s Windows Media Player FAQ at http://www.microsoft.com/windows/win...q/default.mspx

This page is a great resource for pointing people towards a useful answer to their Windows Media Player questions. If you’re still having problems even after using these resources, please let me know, and I’ll see if there’s any other way I can help out!

Thanks,
Cody
Windows Outreach Team
__________________
Codyg is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 11:54 AM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS: Windows 2000 SP4 and Windows XP SP3



I don't trust codec packs in general (because they can install a lot of stuff, and when things go wrong, pinpointing the cause can be difficult) and I believe in downloading codecs on an as-needed basis. If you can relate to my philosophy, I suggest using gspot or avicodec to determine the container and codecs the video file uses, then doing a google search to find and download it.
gspot: http://www.headbands.com/gspot
avicodec: http://avicodec.duby.info

If you're just lazy and don't feel like downloading codecs one by one, the only codec packs / all-in-one media players I would recommend are ffdshow-tryouts and vlc media player. Both are open-source.
ffdshow-tryouts: http://ffdshow-tryout.sourceforge.net/
vlc media player: http://www.videolan.org
__________________
blah789 is offline  
Old 09-03-2008, 12:20 PM   #6
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,499
OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

My System


I'd go with the vlc player
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 11:58 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP Media Edition



I can relate. I've downloaded and installed several codecs, VSL, DivX and Xvid and still my Windows Media Player doesn't play video. I also downloaded the Windows Codec Checker Utility and it says my computer doesn't have codecs installed. They each go into their own file. Should I be placing them elsewhere to have them work with Media Player or am I destined to buy something. Thanks for the help.
__________________
don3245 is offline  
Old 09-04-2008, 09:29 PM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,439
OS: Windows 2000 SP4 and Windows XP SP3



Quote:
Originally Posted by don3245 View Post
I can relate. I've downloaded and installed several codecs, VSL, DivX and Xvid and still my Windows Media Player doesn't play video.
That's why I recommend using gspot or avicodec. They can detect what codec the video you can't play uses (assuming it's really a video file and not corrupted; sometimes people will post fakes out there).

Quote:
Originally Posted by don3245 View Post
I also downloaded the Windows Codec Checker Utility and it says my computer doesn't have codecs installed.
Windows XP Video Decoder Checkup Utility
http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/d...displaylang=en
only checks for ONE codec, and that's MPEG-2 (related to DVD). It checks if your PC has a commercial DVD or MPEG-2 decoder. And it's not always accurate either; it will only check for ones that register themselves within the registry (so things like VLC or Media Player Classic won't get detected, although they play MPEG-2 and DVD's just fine).
__________________
blah789 is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 09:43 AM   #9
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,499
OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

My System


just download vlc player you can play anything usually on it
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 09:57 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



For one thing you do not get anything from Kazaa this is off a P2P network and almost everything is infected.

To solve this problem get the codec pack from this site:

http://www.free-codecs.com/index.htm

The package you want is on the left side menu: · CODEC PACKS

Either one of these:

XP Codec Pack

K-Lite Codec Pack
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 11:55 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Banscare's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: St John's NL
Posts: 201
OS: Windows7 pro 64bit

My System


vlc player my friend
__________________
Banscare is offline  
Old 09-05-2008, 01:53 PM   #12
TSF Team Emeritus
Moderator, Microsoft Support
 
justpassingby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Belgium
Posts: 6,472
OS: XP Home SP3 / Ubuntu / Win 7

My System


@ djseane and don3245

Start by uninstalling all the codecs and third party players you have installed (xvid, divx player, ...) and restart the computer, different codecs from different packs will definitely conflict with each other. This will give you a clean base to start from.

Vlc that has already been suggested above is the no-brainer solution. If you really wish to play most videos with WMP then the K-lite codec pack has been tested against incompatibility issues (use the standard version with ffdshow). Remember WMP won't be able to play some multi-stream formats like mkv files with several audio and video tracks so you'll need vlc or media player classic (included in the K-lite pack) to play those files.
__________________
Malware removal steps. Post your logs there and not here !
Posting system specs
justpassingby is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 08:45 PM   #13
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,499
OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

My System


I just hope the posters of this thread actually pay heed to this advice
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 09-08-2008, 09:16 PM   #14
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



If you do not have the correct codecs on the computer then even vlc player will not work correctly and if you read the error box that was posted in the first post it sort of mentions lack of codecs.
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:56 AM   #15
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,499
OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

My System


I thought vlc player gives you a bunch codecs embedded in it?
__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:03 AM   #16
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



I stand corrected about vlc player apparently it does not need external codecs to work it does have them built into itself. Even though the internal codecs in vlc do not allow use by other programs like media player and thus the codec pack k-lite is needed.
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 10:55 AM   #17
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: My house
Posts: 78
OS: 1) XP SP3 2) Vista SP1 3)Server 2K3 4) Server 2K8



I have used K-Lite codecs (all versions) for over 5 years now and I have had no issues.

BTW the K stands for Kazaa It is clean too.
__________________
renegade X is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 07:49 PM   #18
Games Team | Tech
 
McNinja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 12,499
OS: Windows 8 Pro x64

My System


beh Kazaa blows chunks!!

__________________

http://folding.stanford.edu
If you have a problem, PM me and I'll respond in the thread you made.
power-supply-information-selection
Nvidia Drivers ATI drivers Direct X
McNinja is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:45 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts