Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

My monitor keeps flickering!

This is a discussion on My monitor keeps flickering! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hey! A few months ago I noticed my monitor began to flicker on and off every once-in-a-while. As time went


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-15-2007, 11:19 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Hey!

A few months ago I noticed my monitor began to flicker on and off every once-in-a-while.
As time went by, it got worse (the flicks would be more constant, and sometimes last for longer).
I figure it'd be my monitor (it was 6 years old), so today I finally went out and bought a new one "ViewSonic VA1912w" 19" LCD screen.
I install it, with no problems, up-to-date drivers and all that, and now the monitor flickers for a longer period of time; Like, the screen will flick black for 3-5 seconds at a time..

My computer model is "Q-Tech".
I am using XP Pro, Version 2002, Service Pack 2.
I have 2.41GHZ, with 256MB of RAM.

Does anyone have any suggestions, please?
If you need more information, I will try to provide it; I am so desperate to sort this out - I thought today would be the end of my problems, but it appears just to be worse :(.

Thank you for your time. J.

__________________
just.mills is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:21 AM   #2
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



post your specs including the power supply detail

__________________
dai is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:27 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Our power is supplied by "EDF". On the back it has "VOLTAGE 230V" next to the plug on the case, that goes into the main supply on the wall
What specific info are you after/How do I find out what you need to know; I am an ubern00b when it comes to information such as this. I am ever so sorry.
__________________
just.mills is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:35 AM   #4
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



cpu
video card
from the label on the side of the power supply
brand
wattage
12v+ line[s] amps
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:49 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Pentium 4 CPU 2.40GHz
NVIDIA nForceWin2kXP
GeForce 4 MX 420?

Mate, I don't really know where to look for -all- of this information..
__________________
just.mills is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 11:57 AM   #6
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



take the side cover off the computer and you should see the label on the side of the power suppply
it needs to be putting out 18amps on the 12v+ line
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 12:13 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Power Supply:
Model number ATX-1125BTA
300W Power Supply W/PFC
Input: 230V ~ 4.5A 50Hz
Output +3.3V, MAX: 20A



From what you just said.. its putting out 13A on the 12 V
How do I sort that?

I guess it flickers longer, cos it needs more power, right?
Any idea how I can upgrade this stuff, mate?
Highly appreciate you taking the time to help me, btw.
__________________
just.mills is offline  
Old 12-15-2007, 12:25 PM   #8
dai
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: west australia
Posts: 74,479
OS: win 7 32x 64x rtm



see if you can borrow a psu with 18amp output on the 12v line to try in it
if it fixes
time for a new psu
__________________
dai is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 01:26 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 1
OS: win7 64bit



Quote:
Originally Posted by just.mills View Post
Our power is supplied by "EDF". On the back it has "VOLTAGE 230V" next to the plug on the case, that goes into the main supply on the wall
What specific info are you after/How do I find out what you need to know; I am an ubern00b when it comes to information such as this. I am ever so sorry.

I had the same problem, here is what I did. I have windows 7.

In Windows 7, click start, control panel, aperance and personalization, personalization, then on left panel towards bottom click display, then click adjust resolution, then advanced settings, then click monitor tab, change screen refresh rate: from 60 Hertz to 75 Hertz. Click apply then ok.
Now I believe your screen flicker has stopped. I hope so, it worked for me.
__________________
grumpy457 is offline  
Old 10-14-2010, 03:40 PM   #10
TSF Team Emeritus
Microsoft Support
 
Geekgirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 15,124
OS: XP Home SP3 x3 /XP Pro SP3/Vista Ultimate SP2/Win7 Pro 64-BIT



Do you have onboard video or is it an adapter card? Open the case and make sure if its an adapter card that it is seated correctly and not half way out the slot. reseating may be a good idea. Also if this does not help try a different video card, yours may be failing

__________________
Geekgirl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:04 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts