Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

my laptop shuts off right away when I turn it on

This is a discussion on my laptop shuts off right away when I turn it on within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. so as the title says when I turn on my laptop after about 5 seconds it turns off and about

Closed Thread

Old 07-12-2008, 11:43 AM   #1
Registered Member

so as the title says when I turn on my laptop after about 5 seconds it turns off and about 2 seconds later it turns on by itself again shuts off again after 5 seconds. This is the first time this has ever happened to me. I leave my laptop on all day I dont turn it off unless I have to. I have my laptop set up on a desk. It does let the fan run and it isn't blocked. I've had my laptop set up in my desk for two years I never really move it unless I travel. My laptop does get really hot but I usually ignore it and I've been doing so for the last two years so I doubt that's the problem. My battery is charged so that's not the problem. Oh and when I woke up this morning my laptop was on but completely frozen I couldn't move anything so I had to shut it off by holding the power button. I tried letting the laptop cool off for a couple of hours and using a hair dryer to blow inside the fan I thought it would cool it down. I also used a vacume tube to suck out all the dust on the fan area and yet I still get the same problem. So if anyone has any suggestions that would be great thanks

Old 07-12-2008, 11:49 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

Welcome to TSF....

Never ignore a hot laptop (Overheated not stolen) Overheating can cause a lot of problems and especially one that is left running all of the time. Since the laptop does not stay turned-on long enough to do much I would suggest to take the laptop to a certified repair shop for a look see before it is too late. Contact the manufacturer of the laptop and find out where they recommend service.