Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Movie Maker won't save to disk

This is a discussion on Movie Maker won't save to disk within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I use Movie Maker to transfer videos from VHS tape through a camcorder. I have done this ever since XP


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-16-2007, 09:48 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
OS: XP



I use Movie Maker to transfer videos from VHS tape through a camcorder. I have done this ever since XP SP2 was released which allowed digital pass through. I have successfully transferred videos of more than 3 hours in length and saved them in the best format MM can do.

A few months ago the following problem appeared. After I clicked the "finish" button when I transferred the amount of video I was interested in, MM did it's usual processing and then instead of displaying a bunch of clips, like it normally does, a dialog appeared stating "Operation Complete". I click the "ok" button and the video clips appeared. I ignored the message and edited the video as in the past. I attempt to save the movie to disk as I have done a thousand time before. However, instead of saving it to disk, it tries to burn it to a CD.

I have tried opening small videos and saving them but I get the same problem every time. I checked for viruses & spyware. I downloaded MM and re-installed it (there's no way that I could see to un-install MM). I verified that I have tens of gigabytes free on the hard drive. I have increased the page file. I am running a 2.58Ghz P4 with 768MB ram. The resources look good.

Aside from a total re-install of XP, any suggestions?
Thanks

__________________
stephens_rj is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 10:39 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
src2206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 2,086
OS: WinXP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to src2206

I suggest that you try to edit and save another video, but this time do not ignore the message as that may give us a clue of what really is happening.

__________________
Don't try to fix something which is not broke. And if it is then throw away the old one and get the new one :up: .
This is how I kill my time: Painting with Light
src2206 is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 03:52 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
OS: XP



I have tried editing and saving many different videos - even small ones of only 2 minutes long. All the message says is "Operation Completed". The only option is to hit "OK". I know that this appears to be a useless error message. Normally this message should never occur. I run MM on several computers. Now I am wondering if it's not a hardware issue because the laptop that I use at work recently started doing the same thing after many hours of video editing. Although I get this message on the laptop, it still saves to disk correctly. Maybe it's some hardware that just starting to go bad. What's a good, intensive tool to check ram & cpu health?

Thanks
__________________
stephens_rj is offline  
Old 06-16-2007, 07:41 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
src2206's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Kolkata, India
Posts: 2,086
OS: WinXP Pro SP3

My System

Send a message via Yahoo to src2206

If you wish you may benchmark your hardwares using SiSoft Sandra Lite http://www.sisoftware.co.uk/index.ht...=sware_dl_3264

BTW, what is the file system of the partition where you intend to save your edited video? I hope it is ntfs.

__________________
Don't try to fix something which is not broke. And if it is then throw away the old one and get the new one :up: .
This is how I kill my time: Painting with Light
src2206 is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 06:28 AM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 3
OS: XP



Yes, the disk is formated NTFS and I have ~20GB free.
__________________
stephens_rj is offline  
Old 06-18-2007, 09:00 AM   #6
Roaming To Help
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: US-UK
Posts: 5,650
OS: Too Many



I've had this problem when your disk is fragmented heavily, especially the space where MM saves.

Orthos will test your CPU health and Memtest86+ will test your RAM.

Run a disk defrag and make sure you look at the details to see where and how many most of the fragmentation occur.

But it may also be a setting changed, one I'm not too sure about just yet, but will check later up in MM once I'm home.

__________________
Kalim is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with Movie Maker... Anyone??
Well hello there. Last night me and my good freind tryed to make a movie on movie maker.. nd al was going well until we tryed to play aclipand a message popped up saying: "Not enough storage is available to process this command". What the hell does that mean? Merci beaucoup, Alex
the-thing Windows XP Support 3 05-20-2007 01:08 PM
Windows Movie Maker
Hi, I'm new to this sort of stuff but I took a 'movie' of a mate's 50th birthday party on my son's MiniDV camcorder at the weekend and I was attempting to stream it into a .wmv file using WVM and it seems to work fine up until I try and save the movie as a .wmv and then it seems to get stuck - any...
heirpin Graphic Design, Digital Imaging, and Multimedia 0 03-14-2007 01:05 PM
Does not recognise some DVDs?
Hello all, Could someone please help? I've just fitted a new DVD-RW and immediately began using Nero 7 Premium to burn a DVD. I'd previously tried out the player with about 3 DVDs. The first two played fine but the third seemed to get stuck midway through playing. I know that the drive plays...
Ibsen3 Removable Media Drives 34 03-29-2006 09:50 AM
Windows Movie Maker - can't burn project
I edited some home videos in Windows Movie Maker and wanted to burn them on DVDs, but when I tried to burn the videos I got a message saying there was no disc in the drive. I've tried it with various types of DVDs and CDs and it doesn't work. But my burner works fine when I use Nero. Do you know...
Kolur Removable Media Drives 3 02-16-2006 03:14 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts