Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Microphone is Really Quiet

This is a discussion on Microphone is Really Quiet within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I cannot figure out why my microphone is really quiet. I have the mic's volume set to max in all


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-24-2011, 05:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



I cannot figure out why my microphone is really quiet. I have the mic's volume set to max in all of my programs (vent, steam, ect.) and in my main volume settings, but whenever i go into a voice chat, my mic sounds like I am incredibly far away from my mic unless the mic is less than one inch from my lips. It used to work fine, but then one day it just started acting up. I am using the standard integrated audio card.
Thank you for any help

__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 03:34 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



bump :P

__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 04:11 PM   #3
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,677
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


This typically happens with 'Noise Reduction' circuitry. It is necessary to hold the mic within 1" to prevent that circuitry from deciding your voice is background noise.

In your case, since it was working before, there is the possibility the mic is failing or there is some support software on your computer that came with the mic that's controlling the volume.

Finally, if you have Skype, (it can run in the background even if the program doesn't appear to be running), it could be controlling the mic volume.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline  
Old 12-30-2011, 11:25 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 338
OS: All of them but Mac



I do usually blame the mic first but I know on DDO most people have no idea where the actual mic master controls are so it's worth throwing out there. If you have Windows 7 (or Vista too I think) go to the control panel then find the sound options and open them. Then go to the recording tab and find your mic and double click it. Then go to the levels tab and turn the mic boost up an interval or two. Usually +10 to +20 dB is good. Also make sure the level itself isn't set at like < 50%.
__________________
desolator144 is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 03:04 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



So far I have not fixed the problem with my mic. My mic came with no software to download onto my pc. I use a set of Tritton AX Pro's (not the PC pro's) that plug into my integrated sound card. Could my sound card's mic port just have decided to die out of nowhere? Do you think getting a new sound card will fix the problem?
I don't want to spend a lot of money on a new sound card, but I think that the Fry's near my house has some I can get in the $40 range that support HD sound output (headset has 3 input jacks for pc)

Also, I have checked the mic volume settings on my pc. I use windows XP
__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Old 01-05-2012, 04:53 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,199
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


First make sure you mic is plugged into the Red (Pink) Mic input jack. Use the one on the back of the computer for best results. Go to Control Panel/Sounds and Audio Devices/Audio/Sound Recording/ Make sure your mic is the one listed, or choose the drop down menu to make it so. Then go to the Volume button. Make sure the Volume is all the way up. Click the Advanced button. If there is a check box for Noisy Environment or Mic Boost, check that. Either of these will boost the volume by a few db's.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 01-10-2012, 12:52 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



I have already changed these settings, as it was the first thing I did. The headset is correctly connected. When I turn the boost on, my mic sounds incredibly staticy and is unbearable for anyone to listen to me talk, and it is also constantly transmitting static into my voice programs. (I turned the boost off).
There was no check box for Noisy Environment however.
__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Old 01-10-2012, 01:00 PM   #8
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,199
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


If you have an icon for your Sound software (ex) RealTek HD. in your system tray or Control Panel it will have more options. Other then that, you will need another sound card.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 02-05-2012, 06:10 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



I have installed a new graphics card, a Creative Sound Blaster X-Fi, and now I cannot hear any sound from my microphone. I have followed the instructions in the set up instructions, but neither Steam or vent recognizes my mic now.
__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 06:54 AM   #10
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
JackBauer_24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: New York, USA
Posts: 5,409
OS: Windows 8.1 64bit/Ubuntu 14 LTS 64bit via Vm Player

My System


Silly Question did you install the drivers for the sound card?
__________________

Virus Help
Ubuntu Live CD
PC Running Slow?
Memtest
UBCD
Remember dust buildup in your PC can be a killer!!
JackBauer_24 is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 07:22 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



Haha, yes I have installed the drivers.
__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Old 02-05-2012, 11:14 PM   #12
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,199
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Go to Control Panel/Sound and Audio Devices/Audio/Sound Recording. What is the default device for recording? If t is not the sound card, take the drop down menu and make it so.
spunk.funk is online now  
Old 02-06-2012, 03:24 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Indiana
Posts: 31
OS: 7



I have already changed this setting.

__________________
PopeSquad is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Is there a way to hook up microphone data with video data being ManyCam broadcasted?
This is sort of a follow-up to here: http://www.techsupportforum.com/forums/f217/manycam-does-not-broadcast-sound-how-do-i-fix-this-400781.html Since it is locked and this issue is different, am making a new thread. Basically most cam sites have you configure cam feed and microphone feed...
tyciol Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 01-21-2012 02:17 AM
[SOLVED] Microphone too quiet!
So I've been looking for a solution through many forums on the subject but have come up empty handed, so I figured I would try and ask! The built in microphone for my Dell XPS 1530 laptop worked fine when I had vista, but several months ago I upgraded to Windows 7 and I just recently noticed...
xdandyandyx Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 5 12-12-2011 09:09 PM
Microphone extremely quiet.
I have looked everywhere for a solution to this and haven't found any. So anyway. I just got my Alienware m14x a couple days ago and the mic was working fine till i had tech support fix my web cam that was glowing blue. im guessing it was after that my mic started doing this. it's just extremely...
raquasa123 Sound Cards 1 07-25-2011 03:29 PM
Sound OK but microphone is not working
Hello, I would like to aks for help, because I am really desperate right now. Finding a way for a microphone to get it work, actually with my Asus Xonar DG soundcard. System: Win7 pro SP1, Morther board: Gigabyte P35-DS3L There is little legend, maybe someone should know :) .. My onboard...
DedaToby Sound Cards 1 06-08-2011 05:56 PM
HELP! microphone not responding
several days ago, i was using my headphone + mic set without any problems, everything was clear and the mic input was clear as well. however, the next day i plugged my set in, the microphone just stopped responding. it does not record any sound at all. my microphone is a 3.5mm jack. i...
asdasdqeqe Windows XP Support 14 03-02-2011 02:59 AM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:59 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts