Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Machine freezes at the same time everyday

This is a discussion on Machine freezes at the same time everyday within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hi there, I have a user who is using a 6710b which freezes at exactly 16h31 everyday yet can work


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-13-2009, 08:39 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp pro



Hi there,

I have a user who is using a 6710b which freezes at exactly 16h31 everyday yet can work with no problems the whole day. When the machine freezes he can unplug the network cable and work 100%. I have reformatted the machine and loaded a fresh copy of XP pro on (didn't work). I have created a new user profile on the machine (didn't work). I also created a new account (added 1 at end of name) in the AD (didn't work). The thing that gets me is I can log onto the machine with my account and no problems log him onto my machine and no problems. Please help, run out of ideas here.

__________________
Clayslade is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 02:54 PM   #2
Moderator, Design Team
 
zuluclayman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 12,546
OS: Windows Seven Home Premium

My System


Is the machine set to receiving a software update at that time maybe? Are there any scheduled tasks hidden away? my old machine updated security software at a certain time and ran like an old dog at that time but was fine at other times

zuluclayman is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 03:17 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



I'm in agreement with zulu. I would see what all is updating and when.
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 03:36 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 234
OS: fc9



define "freeze" EXACTLY.
can you move the mouse cursor?
can you open or close existing programs?
__________________
fishphood is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 03:46 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



Does event viewer say anything at the time your computer freezes?
__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 04:21 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 234
OS: fc9



well, if you must go this route. install a packet sniffer. = )
__________________
fishphood is offline  
Old 02-13-2009, 06:45 PM   #7
TSF Enthusiast
 
kinbard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Texas
Posts: 3,459
OS: Experimenter



Quote:
Originally Posted by fishphood View Post
well, if you must go this route. install a packet sniffer. = )
This might help, if you understand what you are reading. However, it would be easier to follow the previous advice. This screams something updating or scanning. It is following a schedule. That is unusual for any malware or attacks. Thank you phisphood and tosh9i for your input. Good examples of deductive reasoning
__________________
Half viking, half pirate, stronger than both
XP Repair
Malware Removal
Vista Repair
Downgrade Vista
kinbard is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 12:43 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
OS: Windows Xp pro



I have checked event viewer and nothing is running. The only sceduled software is the McAffee which was not installed after formatting as I also suspected scanning or updates.yet machine still freezes. He cant print or do anything. When I unplug the network cable it works fine. This would indicate something running on the network but if i log on the machine it works fine. If he logs onto my machine he can work fine. My last resort is format his and my machine and swop them.
__________________
Clayslade is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 10:55 AM   #9
TSF Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,047
OS: Windows 7



Well, I have two ideas that might help find the culprit:

1) go to Control Panel > Admin Tools > Services > right click on Automatic Updates > Properties > then click on Stop and change startup type to Disabled > do the same for Task Scheduler

Or

2) unplug your network cable right before 16h31m, by doing so, it might create an error in Event Viewer, saying that "something" failed to start due to lack of internet access. And that "something" might be the culprit.

__________________
Tosh
tosh9i is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts