Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Laptop Slow and programs unresponsive

This is a discussion on Laptop Slow and programs unresponsive within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. My computer has gotten terribly slow and the internet is stuck on loading or is totally unresponsive and this happens


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2010, 08:48 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



My computer has gotten terribly slow and the internet is stuck on loading or is totally unresponsive and this happens constantly. I have defraged, run ccleaner, spybot search and destroy, and i have bit defender 2010 anti virus. I am running windows xp. Please let me know if you can help cause im sick and tired of my computer running like this and i have it protected or so I thought.

__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 05-29-2010, 09:28 PM   #2
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


I sense your frustration but we will need additional information.

What version of IE or what ever else you may be running?
Do you have al ot of add on such as extra tool bars etc?
What is the make/Model and amount of memory installed?
Looking in the bottom right corner are there alot of icons?
What are they for?
can any of those programs be stopped?

__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 05-30-2010, 07:17 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



I stopped using IE because I was told it causes a lot of problems so I have been using mozilla firefox 3.6.3.i have just the standard toolbars cause i don;t use that other junk. It is a toshiba satellite intel r pentium r m processor 1.60 GHz 480 mb ram. I went into system config and stopped all the unneccesary programs at startup so only toshiba touchpad, bitdefender, and my network connections show up as icons in the tray.
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:30 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



pat,

will you still be helping me with my computer issue? Any suggestions
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 01:50 PM   #5
Ubuntu > Mac > Windows
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Birmingham, UK
Posts: 968
OS: Ubuntu 11.10 Oneiric Ocelot, Windows 7 Starter SP1 (netbook)

My System


Hi

Open Windows task manager (Ctrl + Alt + Del), click on the processes tab and see which processes are using the most CPU + memory.
__________________
deleted6052011 is offline  
Old 06-01-2010, 02:00 PM   #6
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Im sorry I am back with you.
I wasnt feeling well for the last couple of days and have not been on.

Please do as Afccarl66 mentions.
Please make sure that the box for show processes for all users is unckecked at the bottom.
This will make the list much easier to read by not showing all of the MS entries.
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 05:51 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



the most on cpu is system idle at 95 percent and mem usage the most is firefox since i am on it and the mext biggest is explorer at 21024 and then svchost at 16744
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 12:35 PM   #8
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Could you post the make and model of your computer?

I see above that you mention 480 MB of ram.
This will be the first matter of concern.

With that amount there may be some things that can be done but some crucial things must be looked at as well.
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 01:37 PM   #9
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,225
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


You need to know what processes are running, what should be running, and what you can do without.

This guide is a bit long but has some great information about task manager and controlling startup processes.

http://www.zen22142.zen.co.uk/Media/man_virus.htm

Be aware also, that what you see as a process may have been started as a service, if you can use autoruns you can control both processes and services using autoruns, if not an easier approach is to google for
"startup inspector" this can go online showing what is being run, users choice and what is unneccary.

Spyware and anti virus detect just what they say on the can, the new threat is malware so download malware bytes anti malware and run a scan with that.

You may also want to try downloading firefox or google chrome, IE browsers are weak, full of vulnerabilities and dont comply with CSS standards (apart from IE7 and higher).

One word of caution: dont get all gung-ho and disable everything that starts, if you disable something that is required at boottime, windows may not start, so make one change at a time, reboot check all is working and google anything you dont understand, HTH
__________________
hal8000 is offline  
Old 06-02-2010, 02:31 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 23
OS: winXP32bit



I don't want to jack this thread but I have noticed over the past several weeks that my computer also has been slow....mostly at just after boot up....I looked into the task mgr and found that a process named WMIPVSE.EXE was doing a 100% CPU for about 2 or 3 minutes just after you get to the windows desk top...it then clears and WMIPVSE.EXE disappears...any clue

have a HP pavillion 7955 pentium 4 xp sp3 (fully updated) 256k ram.....using McAfee 2010 elite AV
__________________
golf strom is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 12:52 PM   #11
Alternative Computing
Moderator
 
hal8000's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,225
OS: Linux Mint 16 Petra (KDE), Arch Linux, Ubuntu 13.10 Raspberry Pi Model B (running Raspmc)

My System


Quote:
Originally Posted by golf strom View Post
I don't want to jack this thread but I have noticed over the past several weeks that my computer also has been slow....mostly at just after boot up....I looked into the task mgr and found that a process named WMIPVSE.EXE was doing a 100% CPU for about 2 or 3 minutes just after you get to the windows desk top...it then clears and WMIPVSE.EXE disappears...any clue

have a HP pavillion 7955 pentium 4 xp sp3 (fully updated) 256k ram.....using McAfee 2010 elite AV

If you google that process you will see many reports, this page infers that it may be due to IIS services:
http://www.tek-tips.com/viewthread.c...1244670&page=1

Although, check spelling wmipvse.exe returns wmiprvse.exe this may or not be the same thing. Find out where it starts from using task manager or autoruns.
However if you only have 256M RAM then its most likely that a larger paging file is being created (especially if theres lot of HD activity). Extra RAM will fix this, but with 256M RAM you need to make sure you dont run any superfluous processes.
__________________
hal8000 is offline  
Old 06-03-2010, 01:56 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



Pat I believe I posted it was a toshiba satellite m35x-s311. I just went under my computer properties and the 480 of ram is what it stated there.
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-04-2010, 02:31 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



Pat are you still with me? Thinking about just wiping my drive cause i cant seem to find out what is wrong.
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 08:43 PM   #14
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


In the properties it should say 480MB or 480GB
this is a huge concern

Please verify or possibly post a screen shot if you can
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 06-06-2010, 09:38 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
ElmoFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Illinois
Posts: 20
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3

My System


480MB is an odd number for RAM, I would definitely check that out and verify it.
__________________
ElmoFreeman is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 02:10 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



when i did system information it says 512mb total physical memory when i right click on my computer it says 480 mb. My computer ran great last time i had my friend restore it cause it had registry issue and virus. i have bitdefender now to protect my computer.
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-08-2010, 03:27 PM   #17
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Ok 512MB is a rather low number depending on what else is running.

In the bottom right corner of your screen is there a lot more than 4 icons.
These icons represent what is running on your system.

Aslo do you have additional tool bars in IExplorer?
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 06-09-2010, 06:02 AM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



there is 8 icons. my bitdefencer, battery life, touchpad, sound, local area connection, wireless connection, and another local area connection icon that says it is unplugged. toolbars just menu and navigation tool bars.
__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Old 06-10-2010, 05:46 PM   #19
Enthusiast
 
pat mcgroin's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Toledo Oh.
Posts: 2,862
OS: Windows 7 Professional x86 :W7 x 64

My System


Is the other network connection necessary?
Network connections use a lot of memory whether operational or not.
They still provision themselves and consume memory that is better utilized somewhere else.
__________________
pat mcgroin is offline  
Old 06-11-2010, 06:47 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 11
OS: win xp



how can i get rid of it?

__________________
ruffshady187 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:10 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts