Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Keyboard is typing consecutive numbers...!

This is a discussion on Keyboard is typing consecutive numbers...! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Preface: I'm a computer tech of 13 years, and I've not seen a problem like this, nor can I figure

Closed Thread

Old 05-03-2011, 08:52 AM   #1
Registered Member

Preface: I'm a computer tech of 13 years, and I've not seen a problem like this, nor can I figure out a way to successfully search for a similar problem online, so I figured I'd try here.

I've got a computer on our network that is displaying a unique symptom. When you type anything, it appears as a series of incrementing numbers from 0 to 9 and repeating. This happens when pressing any letter or number keys. The only key that appears to work is the tilde/backapostrophe (~`). Also interesting is that pressing Shift + any key gives you the symbol appropriate for pressing shift and that number.

So, for example, if I were to type:

This is a test! >> !234 56 7 8901@
AaaaaaAAA >> $56789)!@
qwertyuiopasdfghjkl; >> 34567890123456789012

Etc...

The computer had a malware infection prior to this, including the WinAntivirus 2010 infection, as well as a rootkit infection that Gmer's tool located and "successfully" removed.

I don't think this is being caused by an infection, as MBAM and SAS are both showing the system as completely clean. I've tried a PS2 and USB keyboard, both which give the same result. Rkill doesn't show anything running in the background that shouldn't be, and for all other purposes, the computer is working perfectly.

Any ideas here?

Old 05-03-2011, 09:12 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast

I do not have a fix at this moment for this one but can recommend a work around.

Open Start>Run type osk.exe to access the on screen keyboard.