Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Keyboard is typing consecutive numbers...!

This is a discussion on Keyboard is typing consecutive numbers...! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Preface: I'm a computer tech of 13 years, and I've not seen a problem like this, nor can I figure


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-03-2011, 08:52 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
OS: XP Home SP2



Preface: I'm a computer tech of 13 years, and I've not seen a problem like this, nor can I figure out a way to successfully search for a similar problem online, so I figured I'd try here.

I've got a computer on our network that is displaying a unique symptom. When you type anything, it appears as a series of incrementing numbers from 0 to 9 and repeating. This happens when pressing any letter or number keys. The only key that appears to work is the tilde/backapostrophe (~`). Also interesting is that pressing Shift + any key gives you the symbol appropriate for pressing shift and that number.

So, for example, if I were to type:

This is a test! >> !234 56 7 8901@
AaaaaaAAA >> $56789)!@
qwertyuiopasdfghjkl; >> 34567890123456789012

Etc...

The computer had a malware infection prior to this, including the WinAntivirus 2010 infection, as well as a rootkit infection that Gmer's tool located and "successfully" removed.

I don't think this is being caused by an infection, as MBAM and SAS are both showing the system as completely clean. I've tried a PS2 and USB keyboard, both which give the same result. Rkill doesn't show anything running in the background that shouldn't be, and for all other purposes, the computer is working perfectly.

Any ideas here?

__________________
Zeromus-X is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 09:12 AM   #2
TSF Enthusiast
 
MikenandezNST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 1,336
OS: Win Vista Ultimate EditionSP1/WinXPSP3



I do not have a fix at this moment for this one but can recommend a work around.

Open Start>Run type osk.exe to access the on screen keyboard.

Maybe someone else around here has experienced this issue and will have a fix but for now if this PC is really needed to function this is one work around.

__________________
MikenandezNST is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 09:33 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
OS: XP Home SP2



Well... I can't exactly type osk.exe to run it ;) ... but the OSK is what we've been using to get things done on the system, slowly. Fortunately it's available as a link through the start menu and wasn't removed from the image.
__________________
Zeromus-X is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 09:36 AM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
MikenandezNST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: California
Posts: 1,336
OS: Win Vista Ultimate EditionSP1/WinXPSP3



Oh ya sorry about that but yes it is accessible from the start menu.
__________________
MikenandezNST is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 10:39 AM   #5
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 4,842
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



What happens when you connect via remote desktop or VNC? Do you get the same issue with the characters?
__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is online now  
Old 05-03-2011, 10:46 AM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
OS: XP Home SP2



This computer isn't set up for remote connections (aka I haven't tried it yet), but I'll install Team Viewer on it and see what happens in a minute.
__________________
Zeromus-X is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 10:57 AM   #7
Management Team Networking
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Oregon
Posts: 14,401
OS: Vista/Win7



set to standard 101 keyboard in the control panel?
any keyboard settings in the bios?
Wand3r3r is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 11:13 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
OS: XP Home SP2



Via Team Viewer, I'm having the same problem -- keys I type are showing up as numerics, in increasing order.

No apparent keyboard settings in the BIOS, it's pretty stripped down (Dell Dimension 4600). Standard 101-key keyboard, US language in control panel.

Booting to a BartPE disc or a Linux distro, the keyboard works perfect. This is definitely a software issue.
__________________
Zeromus-X is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 01:39 PM   #9
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,670
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Have you tried booting from the original WinXP CD and done a 'restore' (2nd occurrence of 'restore')? That will save your files and may overwrite a left over malware attachment. Disconnect from the network first.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:08 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
OS: XP Home SP2



Yes. The letters work fine during the reinstall (such as when you're typing in the product key), but once we're back into Windows, we're in the exact same situation.
__________________
Zeromus-X is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:28 PM   #11
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 4,842
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Same behavior in safe mode?
__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is online now  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:35 PM   #12
Moderator
- Microsoft Support
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: United States
Posts: 4,842
OS: Win7, Win8, XP, Ubuntu



Does the user have any software installed that could be used as an anti-keylogger?
__________________

TSF does not support assistance through email or private messages, please keep all questions in the open forum.
JMPC is online now  
Old 05-03-2011, 02:56 PM   #13
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,670
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


I'm of a mind to recommend you turn to the Spyware/Malware experts here on the forum and see if they can help you because I've got no clue what this could be...other then an infection of some kind that wasn't completely cleaned out.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 07:25 PM   #14
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 27
OS: XP Home SP2



Same behavior in safe mode. If I boot to a Windows disc and drop to the recovery console, it works fine. It's definitely something in Windows, but the fact that it still does it in safe mode is what really throws me.

If someone wants to transfer this thread over to Malware they can, but as I said, malware scans are showing it's clean. I even pulled the drive and hooked it up to another system and ran a scan with Malwarebytes, Gmer's rootkit finder, and SuperAntiSpyware, and all of them show completely clean. I've manually deleted all temporary files from a DOS prompt in Safe Mode (windows\temp as well as the user profile \temporary internet files folders).
__________________
Zeromus-X is offline  
Old 05-03-2011, 08:13 PM   #15
Hardware Tech Team
 
Jim@HiTek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 1,670
OS: Win7 Home Premium

My System


Well, the problem is that brilliant software engineers work for the dark side and are always coming up with unique and amazingly capable handfuls of code that can be at best, difficult for even the best AV or AM software writers to find every little piece of virus, spyware, or malware hidden on the computer.

Every once in a while, I'll bump into something like you're describing and usually, I'll wipe the HDD clean and do a complete reinstall of the OS and software. That's the only way to be sure.

Meanwhile, I'll ask a moderator to look at your thread, but I suspect they'll want you to start a new one rather then move it.
__________________
Jim@HiTek is offline  
Old 05-19-2011, 09:22 AM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan but not Detroit
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Hey Z-X,

I had (I repeat had) the same problem and just soved it a few moments ago... Your posts and others helped me slueth this out. THANKS!!!

I hope this will help you.

To begin, typing anything with this problem is a major-beeeeyotch. Mouse to your
START
RUN
and then in the RUN box Cut and Paste from anywhere you can these three letters: osk (for the on-screen-keyboard).
Now you can type... Laborious but effective.

I found a few posts like the following ( Keyboard only typing numbers in sequence, num lock OFF - Page 3 - Windows 7 Forums) mentioning "GID Desktop Application", a keylogging software, causing the problem. If you have it on your system, you may remove it. I found these steps on a Lenovo forum:
http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/IdeaPad-Y-and-U-series-Laptops/Typed-letters-appearing-as-increasing-numbers-0-1-2-3-4-5/ta-p/301034

This issue is caused by a software called GuardedID software, please follow the steps provided below to prevent the application from Starting up or you may remove the application if you want to.

Prevent GID application from Starting Up

Click Start
  1. Click Run
  2. Type "msconfig"
  3. Select "Startup" tab
  4. Unchecked GID desktop application
  5. Press OK then reboot laptop.
or

Uninstall GID Application from Windows
  1. Click Start
  2. Click Control Panel
  3. Click Add / Remove Programs
  4. Search for "GID" / "GID Desktop Application
  5. Select the item and select uninstall
  6. Reboot when uninstallaion is done.
This, however did not solve my issue. I do not have GID... I took a guess at the Norton AV Suite I just installed through Comcast. I installed the software about a week ago and this issue showed up yesterday (odd???). There is an accompanying software "Constant Guard", which loads along with NAV, but does not appear to symbiotic (I hope).

I got rid of it via "Add Remove"... Problem solved!

If this works for you, please pray (chant, chicken dance, etc.) that the Detroit Tigers get some relief pitching. Or that we start plunking holes in the ground/ocean to get oil... man, petrol is waaay too expensive.

MWK
__________________
10Thumbs is offline  
Old 05-20-2011, 06:10 AM   #17
CCT
Helper
 
CCT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 4,121
OS: abacus



For what it's worth, typing of numbers versus letters on a laptop had some responses here -> Keyboard is typing numbers instead of letters? (NUM LOCK IS NOT ON)

Of course, if that isn't a laptop, then ........
__________________
CCT is offline  
Old 06-07-2011, 08:23 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: south east
Posts: 1
OS: Vista Hm Prem SP2, XP Pro SP3



Thanks 10 thumbs,
Spent days researching this problem, Removing Guarded ID did the trick.
__________________
gw_bergeron is offline  
Old 06-08-2011, 01:29 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan but not Detroit
Posts: 6
OS: XP



Glad it worked out!
__________________
10Thumbs is offline  
Old 06-13-2011, 09:43 AM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 1
OS: Win XP Pro



I was just having the same problem. Removing Norton's Constant Guard fixed the problem. Thanks!

__________________
tooflyryguy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
External Keyboard Typing Wrong Letters
My kids' laptop has an HP external keyboard. I don't know why, but when you press the "A" key - it types an "A" .. but when you type a "G" it displays an "I". Several other keys are incorrect. No number lock issue, what else can I do?
jbcote Other Hardware Support 2 04-28-2011 01:06 PM
keyboard types numbers instead of letters
it will do this with all keys, I have to minimize the browser then bring it back up and it will work until the next time it happens, what can I do to fix it
merlin59 Windows 7 Support, Windows Vista Support 1 03-11-2011 04:35 PM
keyboard only types numbers in sequencial order
How do I fix this problem without buying a new computer?
ewgotts Windows XP Support 1 03-02-2011 03:33 PM
PS/2 Keyboard Not Working
So, I have a tendency to hit several keys on my keyboard, especially since I play using both hands on the keyboard in some scenarios... With the breaking of my USB keyboard (Ideazon Zboard, or SteelSeries Zboard), I decided to get a more durable keyboard operating on the PS/2 port rather than...
moltendorf Motherboards, Bios & CPU 1 02-11-2011 06:13 AM
System Beeps when typing on keyboard.
I was working on a Dell Inspiron 6000 for a client and the problem was that the system would beep every time they typed anything on his notebook. It really seemed like it was an OS issue, yet found out that it was not. It was in fact that the notebook was stuck/placed into the notebooks...
Diphyus Laptop Support 0 01-31-2011 12:35 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:51 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts