Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Is there a way to get more screen resolutions?

This is a discussion on Is there a way to get more screen resolutions? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I need something x 800, and this computer doesn't have that resolution. Could I somehow add ore options to this


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-23-2008, 06:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



I need something x 800, and this computer doesn't have that resolution. Could I somehow add ore options to this computer? I recently re-did this computer, and when I did, I had only two options, then I got the sp2 and I had two more.

__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 07:36 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
nantax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bacolod, Philippines
Posts: 37
OS: WinXP SP2 / Ubuntu 8.04 LTS



Try installing the latest driver for your video card. Installing the latest driver will give your more resolution specially if your are using those wide screen LCD monitor where the default resolution looks very ugly because its stretched out.

__________________
nantax is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 02:55 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



Yep, that's what I'm using and what's happening.

Where can I get that?
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:01 PM   #4
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7,826
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System


Please post make model and size of your monitor and we can locate drivers for it.
__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:08 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



I think the model number is: 500PW
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-23-2008, 04:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



I'm not sure what size of monitor it is. 15 inch?
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:22 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



Just not sure where to go, here...
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:27 AM   #8
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



A 15 inch monitor? Is this a CRT or LCD type monitor?

WHat is the make and model of the video card that you have in this computer?
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:43 AM   #9
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



It is a LCD type monitor.

How do I fing out the make/ model of the video card?
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 10:52 AM   #10
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



Goto My Computer, left click my computer, left click properties, left click hardware, left click device manager, then open display adapter by left click the little box with a plus sign.
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 11:23 AM   #11
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



http://img34.picoodle.com/img/img34/...tm_3e8503d.jpg
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 12:13 PM   #12
TSF Enthusiast
 
kodi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 7,826
OS: Windows 7-Ultimate 64 Bit

My System


Drivers for your card AVAILABLE HERE
Download and install them.
__________________
Brian
kodi is offline  
Old 05-24-2008, 11:28 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



Err, that took away resolution options.
__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Old 05-25-2008, 11:18 AM   #14
Registered Member
 
PrinceRameses's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 278
OS: Windows 7



I guess it's not going to matter anymore. I am now using my old monitor where I don't have a problem. :)

__________________
PrinceRameses is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:21 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts