Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Invidia GeForce Not working

This is a discussion on Invidia GeForce Not working within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I bought a new video card Invidia GeForce. I Disable my other graphic card and turn off my computer. Open


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-22-2006, 07:22 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
OS: XP



I bought a new video card Invidia GeForce. I Disable my other graphic card and turn off my computer. Open my computer up and put in the new video card. Once I do that nothing on the monitor appears like it doesn't take no signal. The computer turns on and everything but I can't see nothing on the monitor. Can someone please tell me what's happening?? Thanks alot

__________________
PrettiBoi is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 07:44 PM   #2
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 5,917
OS: XP


how did you disable your old video? in the bios? does your new card need power? reinstate your first video and remove it in the device manager, then try it.

__________________
whodat is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:04 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 4
OS: XP


Already tried it in the device manager disabled it and nothing. Once i put my new video card in and i turn my computer on therez no sign of anything in the monitor
__________________
PrettiBoi is offline  
Old 03-22-2006, 08:28 PM   #4
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 194
OS: Win2000 Pro



looks like whosdat wants you to verify that the old video card will still work in the motherboard, cause...

video cards have to function at a basic level (without the drivers i think), otherwise how could you see BIOS ?

If your new card won't even work in BIOS, I'd be inclined to think it was bad.

Inspect it for jumpers, maybe you need to set one or something. Also look for physical damage, burn evidence, etc...

Is it seated properly in the slot ? Is it locked ?

If it were another piece of hardware, I'd say install the drivers first (using the old card) and then change the cards out, so the new drivers would be available on boot. But I can't believe a video card needs special drivers just to display BIOS.
__________________
George Quick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:44 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts