Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

insufficient permissions

This is a discussion on insufficient permissions within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am running Windows XP - Home Edition - Google Chrome Browser - I am an Administrator - It is

Closed Thread

Old 07-12-2012, 07:09 AM   #1
Registered Member

I am running Windows XP - Home Edition - Google Chrome Browser - I am an Administrator - It is a home use machine - I am the sole user.
I download programs such as IE 8 and Adobe reader 8. They download O.K. but when it comes to "run", the message comes up - "insufficient permissions". I have in the recent past downloaded and run a few programs with no trouble. I probably made some stupid inadvertent mistake, but I don't know what. I am a novice so I would please ask for step-by-step guidance to rectify this problem. I suppose I could reload Windows XP BUT I do not have a disc, and I am a pensioner who lives in a mission which is pretty isolated. If anyone has a spare Window XP disc, I would be happy to get it. Hoping you will be the bringer of good tidings. Thanks - Ken Miles

Old 07-12-2012, 11:25 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager

Hi and welcome to TSF please do not make more than one thread on the same issue it leads to confusion thank you for understanding.
please try using system restore to a time when the computer worked with out issue
How to restore Windows XP to a previous state

Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
Closed Thread

Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Folder Permissions Problem - Cannot force new inherited permissions