Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Insufficient Memory to load XP

This is a discussion on Insufficient Memory to load XP within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I was in the middle of a system restore when the power went out - Now I cannot get my


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 06-30-2009, 11:24 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
OS: xp



I was in the middle of a system restore when the power went out - Now I cannot get my computer to restart - Messages include insufficient memory, can't find hard drive, I can get to F12 and F2 and F8 but nothing seems to get this working - also tried using the XP disk with no luck - any ideas?

__________________
Candice_AZ is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:26 AM   #2
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,265
OS: Win7



What band and model PC?
Have you tried clearing the CMOS?

Wrench97 is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 11:27 AM   #3
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,343
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


Sounds like you have a hardware failure. Receiving multiple different errors would seem to indicate a motherboard or maybe power supply problem.
__________________
JimE is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 12:31 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
OS: xp



I have a Dell Dimension 2400 and No I don't know how to clean out the CMOS
__________________
Candice_AZ is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 12:34 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
OS: xp



From what I have read it appears to be a BIOS problem and not the OP - The hard drive is only about a year old but I do have a power surge protector that is very old (could that cause a problem with the power supply or is it internal?) Thanks
__________________
Candice_AZ is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 12:52 PM   #6
Moderator,
- Hardware
- Networking
 
JimE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: St Louis, MO
Posts: 16,343
OS: Win 7 SP1

My System


If you can enter the BIOS during bootup, you could try resetting it to "default".

The CMOS is typically cleared by moving a jumper on the motherboard. There may be procedures on the Dell website for how to do that.

However, the fact that you are receiving multiple different error messages would seem to indicate a hardware issue. And with the errors being reported before it even boots, it will likely be the motherboard/BIOS or the power supply.

If it's under warranty, contact Dell before doing anything else.
__________________
JimE is offline  
Old 06-30-2009, 01:06 PM   #7
Team Manager, Gaming
Team Manager, Microsoft Support
Team Manager, Hardware Team
Microsoft MVP
 
Wrench97's Avatar

Microsoft Most Valuable Professional
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: S.E. Pennsylvania
Posts: 49,265
OS: Win7



There is a 2 pin header (JP2) next to the coin cell battery, disconnect the power to the PC press and release the power button a couple of times to remove any residual power remove the side cover and locate the JP2 header near the battery, there should be a jumper attached to one pin only remove it and place it on both pins wait 10 seconds or so and remove the jumper place back on one pin for storage, if by chance the jumper is missing just touch both pins with a screwdriver for 10 seconds, replace the cover replug the power and see if it will boot.
Motherboard image and header locations here> http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...ov.htm#1105465

Wrench97 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 08:25 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts