Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

Increasing the maximum windows?

This is a discussion on Increasing the maximum windows? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I do a lot of multitasking on my computer, and tend to leave many webpages open for later reading. A


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2005, 08:56 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
OS: WinXP



I do a lot of multitasking on my computer, and tend to leave many webpages open for later reading. A problem I keep running into is that I keep reaching the window maximum, which seems to be around 40, in WindowsXP. You're probably wondering how I ever end up with that many open, but it happens very often.

Usually when I reach the max, no more windows will open, and sometimes the last open window will have various problems with it. (some menus not showing up, errors, etc)

How can I increase this maximum window amount in Windows XP? Is it even possible? It would be a big relief for me if so.

P.S. I'm aware that other third party browsers support tabbing which would probably at least help my problem, but i'd rather stick with IE if there is any other way to accomplish this.

__________________
bigmo24 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 09:20 AM   #2
Uh oh.
 
cjessee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 794
OS: Windows NT/2000/XP, Dictaphone, Windows 2003 Server


Send a message via AIM to cjessee

How much memory are you currently running on your system? This could affect the way windows acts when it has numerous windows open. You can always view the task manager when you get this error and see if lack of memory is causing the problem.

__________________
cjessee is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 09:26 AM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
Resolution's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Louisiana
Posts: 1,089
OS: FreeBSD/Win98/2000/XP


I must say that opening that many windows is pretty ridiculous. The limit is there for a reason. If you don't want to have an issue with browser or system crashes due to a conflict in resource management, then I suggest you finish what you are doing on the other windows and close them, and yes, using tabs would be more ideal.
__________________
Resolution is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 12:44 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
OS: WinXP


I've got 1GB of DDR RAM. The first time it happened I suspected it might be low memory also, but according to the task manager when I checked it, I still have plenty of memory left, up to 500mb free, and the page file is hardly used too.

My system is pretty scotch free. It hasn't crashed once in over a year, and I really put it to the test at times.

Although it would be a great convenience if I could get some way to open as many windows as necessary when the need arises, without having to switch to a tabbing browser.
__________________
bigmo24 is offline  
Old 10-18-2005, 01:17 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 33
OS: xp pro


yes i would switch to the FIREFOX browser as-well,then you can open TABS inside your browser windows instead of new windows.

get firefox here :


http://www.mozilla.org/products/firefox/
__________________
common is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 05:04 AM   #6
Moderator Hardware Team
 
koala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: UK
Posts: 21,397
OS: Win7-64

My System

Having that many windows open will drain your system resources (not memory). Using Firefox, I sometimes have up to 50 tabs open and I can see my resources dropping gradually. When the resources reading drops to about 20%, with Firefox and a few other programs running, I start to notice the problems you mentioned (missing menus and icons).

Try a resource manager like Cacheman and choose the multitasking option to optimize Windows for the type of work you're doing (there are other settings for gaming, multimedia, old PCs, etc)

Cacheman shareware,no disabled features and no time limit
__________________
koala is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 08:38 AM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
OS: WinXP


I'll give that a try. Thanks.
__________________
bigmo24 is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 12:34 PM   #8
Registered User
 
oshwyn5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Dallas , Tx
Posts: 1,433
OS: DOS,Win95,98,ME,XP, Fedora


Quote:
Originally Posted by bigmo24
I've got 1GB of DDR RAM. The first time it happened I suspected it might be low memory also, but according to the task manager when I checked it, I still have plenty of memory left, up to 500mb free, and the page file is hardly used too.

My system is pretty scotch free. It hasn't crashed once in over a year, and I really put it to the test at times.

Although it would be a great convenience if I could get some way to open as many windows as necessary when the need arises, without having to switch to a tabbing browser.
Check in the BIOS for your video aperture. This is additional ram on which your video card can cache textures and images. With that much RAM I would up it to the max of 256MB reserved (note this is not the same as VRAM or memory reserved for onboard video . THis is ram dedicated to the Video card which the card can use inaddition to its own RAM)
I have seen this caused when people have huge number of windows open to view pictures/Wepages and it overwhelms the video card. It even happens when they are using tabbed browsers to view lots of pictures/ webpages.

Normally, it is assumed that 128MB is plenty for a normal user with a good video card , and that a better card with more ram decreases the need for aperture, but if you have a great many images displayed, then it still willl need all that aperture.
__________________
oshwyn5 is offline  
Old 01-24-2008, 04:09 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
OS: XP SP2



There is a registry setting that will allow you to open up more windows. For me, the max was 35 windows (variety of programs). Every time I would get to window # 36, things would start to go crazy. Alt+Tab would minimize windows, I couldn't open anything, etc.
Open Regedit & go to:
hkey_local_machine > system > currentconrolset > control > sessionmanager > subsystems
Open up the Windows string --- there is text in there that includes
SharedSection=1024,3072,512
If you change that to
SharedSection=1024,4096,512
then you will be able to open up more windows.
__________________
sf9rnut is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 12:35 AM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
OS: XP



Thanks.

I was having a problem with 2 apps, poser and photoshop. Both open a handful of windows upon startup. If I have a few other windows open, it wouldn't work at all. Hopefully this will alleviate my Windows Explorer problems as well.
__________________
pwiecek is offline  
Old 01-20-2009, 10:18 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 4
OS: XP



This worked.

Thank you.

__________________
pwiecek is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:46 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts