Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

I restored my computer and now i cant see anything!

This is a discussion on I restored my computer and now i cant see anything! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I restored my computer to a year ago (January 15, 2007 to be exact), i know it was stupid from


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-30-2008, 09:46 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



I restored my computer to a year ago (January 15, 2007 to be exact), i know it was stupid from my part, but anyways, i restored it and now NOTHING will show up in my computer. Well only my background the one i had before restoring my computer and the mouse thing. I want help! Nothing shows up, not even the START button. How can i undo it, or what can i do? Did i lose all my information? I restored my computer before but never to such longer date and nothing erased... will this time will it erase? PLEASE HELP!

__________________
Patricia Montan is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 01:57 AM   #2
Registered Member
 
kibakiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
OS: U know the OS tht was used in the USS Enterprise?



I love these errors.
Ctrl Alt Delete, open task manager, file > run > explorer.exe
You can now see normal windows interface. Backup your data and reinstall :)
http://www.techsupportforum.com/f10/...ml#post1607045 for a really detailed post on fixing, but that is hardly guarenteed :)

__________________
kibakiri is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 04:31 PM   #3
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



it still doesnt workk...
it says something about application not found when ii click on file
HELP
__________________
Patricia Montan is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 04:36 PM   #4
Certifiable Lazy Bum
 
sobeit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NEAR
Posts: 16,503
OS: win7pro/mint17


Send a message via Yahoo to sobeit

are you able to get into safe mode?
__________________
the truth is a three edged sword - your truth, my truth and the real truth.
sobeit is online now  
Old 07-31-2008, 06:20 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



honestly i dont know anything about computers
this is what it shows:
only my background
NOTHING ELSE, not start button nothing..
i did the ctrl alt and delete button thin
& when ii clicked on file then run
it said that the COMRES.DLL application
was not found.. then it says tha its not responding..

WHAT TH EN???
:(
ii neeeeeeeeeeeed help
my newborn baby's pictures and videos from the day she was born are there!!
HELP!!
__________________
Patricia Montan is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 06:24 PM   #6
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



When you turn on your computer, continuously tap F8 until it brings you to a menu.

At that menu, select Safe Mode. If that doesn't work, try Last Known Good Configuration.

Let us know the results,

-Coolfreak
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 07-31-2008, 10:06 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



noope nothing
PLEASE HELP!!!!!!!!!!!
__________________
Patricia Montan is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 01:54 AM   #8
Registered Member
 
kibakiri's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 56
OS: U know the OS tht was used in the USS Enterprise?



Can you try the taskmanager thingy in safe mode pls? assuming you can boot into safemode ofc...
__________________
kibakiri is offline  
Old 08-01-2008, 06:39 AM   #9
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



If both of those didn't work, it looks like you'll have to do a repair install.

You can do this by booting from your Windows XP install disc.

You'll have to go into your BIOS and change your boot priority so your PC boots from your CD-ROM drive before your HDD.
__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 01:15 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 5
OS: Windows XP



ii just cant
i'll go to a computer store
thanks!
__________________
Patricia Montan is offline  
Old 08-02-2008, 04:47 PM   #11
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
Coolfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Wilkes-Barre, PA
Posts: 5,187
OS: Windows XP Pro / Windows Vista / Windows 7



Alright. . .

Sorry we couldn't help you? I guess?

Best of luck,

-Coolfreak

__________________
I subscribe to all threads I post in. But, if in case I don't or I forget, and I don't post back within 24 hours, please PM me. I will get back to your thread ASAP.
Coolfreak is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts