Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

I cannot change any internet settings!!

This is a discussion on I cannot change any internet settings!! within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. I am getting REALLY REALLY PO'd. I AM AM AM the computer administrator, but I cannot go up to TOOLS,


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-03-2003, 10:04 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
Evil

I am getting REALLY REALLY PO'd. I AM AM AM the computer administrator, but I cannot go up to TOOLS, INTERNET OPTIONS, and do anything. I get the nice msg. that says HELLOO!!! You are not allowed to do this!

BUT..when I go to CONTROL PANEL/INTERNET SETTINGS, I can do a lot more, but one thing I CANNOT do is change my homepage setting. What is going on here?!!??

__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 10:14 AM   #2
SPEEDO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Is this a stand alone box and did you set up an administrator password if you set this up in the first place?

__________________
 
Old 11-03-2003, 10:26 AM   #3
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
My husband and I have our own log-ins for XP, but I am the administrator. I do log in with a password on the XP screen, but that is the only password I have for this.

Now...as far as a standalone box, do you mean the error msg?
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 11:11 AM   #4
SPEEDO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Stand alone meaning that it's not networked to any other machines.
Do you have a virus scan program on there? And you may want to try Ad-Aware available at http://www.lavasoft.de/

Right now their site is down for some reason.

Have you tried repairing IE yet?

Method 1: Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.x Repair for Windows XP

From the Start menu, select Run.
In the Open field, type sfc /scannow (Note: There is a space between sfc and /scannow)
Select the OK button.
Follow the prompts throughout the System File Checker process.
Reboot the computer when System File Checker completes.

Method 2: Microsoft Internet Explorer 6.x Repair for Windows XP

From the Start menu, select Search, select All Files and Folders.
Select More Advanced Options and place a checkmark beside Search Hidden Files and Folders option.
Ensure that Search System Folders and Search Subfolders are also checked.
In the All or Part of the File Name box, type ie.inf
In the Look In drop-down menu, select C: or the letter of the hard drive that contains the Windows folder.
Click the Search button.
In the search results pane, find the ie.inf file located in Windows\Inf folder.
Right click the ie.inf file and click Install on the context menu.
Reboot the computer when the file copy process is complete.
__________________
 
Old 11-03-2003, 12:00 PM   #5
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


My suggestion, before tinkering with any settings, is to ask your husband if he placed any local Group Policy that restricts you (or any other user) from making changes to the Internet options.
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 12:10 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
My husband is CLUELESS on computers so I know that he wouldn't even know how to do any of that.

I did try both methods of repair and nothing worked :(

But isn't it weird that I can do EVERYTHING else but that? I mean, I CAN go into internet options, but only from the control panel ...I can change other user settings, etc...but I just cannot change the homepage NOR do anything at ALL from the browser itself. Huh. Weird.

I do have Spybot and I run it all the time. That is all set. As is Norton.
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:00 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


Ok, let's see,

You still need to check if any change has been made to your Policies, you know how to do that, right?

If not, let me know
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:03 PM   #8
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
No actually...I don't! I am REALLY new to XP....
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:12 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


•>Start >run >Type mmc >click OK

•>File >Add/Remove Snap-in >click Add >Scroll down to highlight "Group Policy" >click Add >click Finish >click Close >click OK

•Expand "Local Computer Policy"

•Expand "User Configuration"

•Expand "Administrative Templates"

•Expand "Windows Components"

•Expand and highlight "Internet Explorer"

•On the right pane, you'll see all the policies that are affecting your browsing, one of the
policies is "Disable changing home page settings" see wether that policy is enabled or not.
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:16 PM   #10
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
I got to the point to where I need to add GROUP POLICY and that does not exist in the list. There is Local Users and Groups, Computer management and some others...but not group policy.
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:23 PM   #11
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


you using XP Home or Pro?
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:33 PM   #12
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


scroll all the way down, sometimes the list isn't ordered alphabetically.
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 01:54 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
No..it is not there even way down.
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 02:02 PM   #14
SPEEDO
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
OS:


Have you looked through your cookies to see if there is one for that site?
__________________
 
Old 11-03-2003, 03:17 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


XP HOME or PRO?
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 03:44 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
Opps! I forgot to answer that, didn't I??

It is XP Home.
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 07:24 PM   #17
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


XP Home doesn't support Group Policy edition. So we need to try something else.

First, do you have an error mesg number?

if not,

•try to search microsoft or google using the exact error message, i.e.:
"XP HOME" and "<error msg>"

•post the error msg if you can, I'll try to search myself using other options.
__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 07:42 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
carrie640's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Lansing, MI
Posts: 314
OS: XP on Desktop/Vista/7 (64 bit) on notebooks!


Send a message via AIM to carrie640 Send a message via Yahoo to carrie640
Grin

GREAT NEWS!!! I got it fixed! I had to go into the registry and change the value data from 1 to 0. I was then able to at least get into all this from IE. But, the homepage issue was still an issue..it was grayed out. SOOOO..I read that Spybot (a new version) has an option to lock it out. All I did was uncheck that and VOILA! I am back to NORMAL!!!!


Thanks for your help. I never would've found that if you hadn't told me to search with the error msg! :)
__________________
carrie640 is offline  
Old 11-03-2003, 08:05 PM   #19
Registered Member
 
breakerfall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 266
OS: XP pro


funny, I was about to suggest checking for that kind of issue on programs running on your PC.
I use "Tracks Eraser" (Great program, I recommend it: http://www.acesoft.net) and i had the
same problem once. The program is actually so good, that doesn't let you change the settings
for the homepage.

TIP: to speed up the loading of Internet explorer, this is what I do:

•right click your Internet Explorer shortcut
•At the en of the "Target" field, where it says: "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" add the "-nohome" switch.

The final command should read:
"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\IEXPLORE.EXE" -nohome

the result of doing so:

•IE will load very very fast, even faster than setting the homepage to "use blank"
•Improves security: Even if your spyware protection program fails to avoid a change in the homepage, the "-nohome" switch will baypass the loading of ANY home page set by any spyware.

safe surfing! enjoy! ;)

__________________
breakerfall is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:52 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts