Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

hpofficejet 6500-e709a/no connection?/

This is a discussion on hpofficejet 6500-e709a/no connection?/ within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. Hope somebody has a clue to this. The above printer i have, shows"no computer connection" on screen therefore. i can't


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-10-2013, 07:18 AM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lower mich
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7/



Hope somebody has a clue to this. The above printer i have, shows"no computer connection" on screen therefore. i can't copy scan doesn't work pc doesn't perform completey right. I have checked all the wires at terminal points on printer/@ pc.It faxes good prints good. There s some little thing, i am missing.The repair guy says "throw it out" new ones are cheaper than a Repair bill.
I try to fix things .this printer included. if you can help.....evan maybe please let me know.in plane terms please thanks ahead of time bob s hoping to hear.

xp

__________________
bsa_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 10:52 AM   #2
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,657
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Hi bsa bob your post is a little confusing to read can you re write it and be a little clearer since you say it shows no computer connection and cannot print etc then further on your saying the opposite,did you try reinstalling the drivers and software or a new cable.
Did you check the manual for troubleshooting steps Manuals for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer - E709a | HP® Support
drivers HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer - E709a | HP® Support

__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-10-2013, 01:19 PM   #3
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,249
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Go to Start/Search and type devmgmt.msc. Right click the devmgmt results and Run As Administrator. In the Elevated Device Manager are there any Yellow Flags? or under Universal Serial Bus Controllers is there an Unknown Device? If so, Right click it and Uninstall it. Now go to Start/Devices and Printers. Is your HP printer there? If so, right click it and Delete it.
Now go to Start/Search and type appwiz.cpl and press enter. In the Programs and Features, uninstall any HP software for your printer/scanner. Unplug the USB cable from the computer end and restart the computer. When the computer comes back up, go to Software & driver downloads HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer - E709a | HP® Support and download the drivers and software for your printer. During the install, it will tell you when to plug the USB cable for the printer. Plug it into the back USB port. If this still fails, try replacing the USB cable. Make sure you have the correct power cable for the printer etc. If all else fails the printer can be replaced relatively cheaply.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:45 AM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lower mich
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7/



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
Hi bsa bob your post is a little confusing to read can you re write it and be a little clearer since you say it shows no computer connection and cannot print etc then further on your saying the opposite,did you try reinstalling the drivers and software or a new cable.
Did you check the manual for troubleshooting steps Manuals for HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer - E709a | HP® Support
drivers HP Officejet 6500 All-in-One Printer - E709a | HP® Support

really sorry about that my mind runs way ahead of my fingers.My pc does print on most things,.. the fax works receiving and sending, Now --The Problem is; the little screen on the front,that sets up the printer for its tasks will say" no computer connection"..when i try to use the "setup"button a "light flashes its a exclamation point shape."SEE device manual documentation,.and trouble shooting guide.

i am not to smart on computers! and i tried a different usb cable but to know avail.
__________________
bsa_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 08:52 AM   #5
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,657
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



The easiest thing to do is uninstall and reinstall the software as advised
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 01:27 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lower mich
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7/



Quote:
Originally Posted by bsa_bob View Post
really sorry about that my mind runs way ahead of my fingers.My pc does print on most things,.. the fax works receiving and sending, Now --The Problem is; the little screen on the front,that sets up the printer for its tasks will say" no computer connection"..when i try to use the "setup"button a "light flashes its a exclamation point shape."SEE device manual documentation,.and trouble shooting guide.

i am not to smart on computers! and i tried a different usb cable but to know avail.
I did so.joeten~~~~~~~~ And still not working. bob s
ps Can anyone give me some pointers on what new printer i need to buy? I'm just an affecianado-- 4in 1--but smaller than this "big hp hulk" i have setting here. Although i shouldn't talk bad about it .It worked quite well since 99.~~~~~~~~~~ thanks for any leads and thank you all for the replys.and helpful opinions .

unsolved;
__________________
bsa_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 01:39 PM   #7
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,249
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Did you follow the suggestions in post #3. Try that first.
Most low end HP and Canon all in one printers will do the job. The hardware is inexpensive, ans the companies make them cheap because they make their money on the Ink.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 01:51 PM   #8
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,657
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



Check prices here Printers, Scanners, Inkjet, All In One Printers - Walmart.com
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 05:55 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lower mich
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7/



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post

Thank you again joe you know the funny thing.if there is one,The ink was purchased and installed last week in my printer.Of course i will just have to throw it out ,man that hurts me~~~sometimes you have to lose a few bucks. I just never get used to this sorta thing bob s
Walmart close to me. this week i'll head over there. i gave only $69.00 for this; hp6500-709a 4.5 years ago.life span of printers ain't good is it?
__________________
bsa_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-11-2013, 06:00 PM   #10
TSF Team, Emeritus
 
spunk.funk's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 28,249
OS: Windows 8 64, Windows 7 64 Bit SP1, XP SP3, Mac OSX

My System


Quote:
The hardware is inexpensive, as the companies make them cheap because they make their money on the Ink.
They don't have a long life span.
spunk.funk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-12-2013, 07:48 AM   #11
Microsoft-Team Manager
Hardware - Team Manager
 
joeten's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Glasgow Scotland
Posts: 53,657
OS: win 7 pro/ultimate/xp vm



You can get cheaper inks though you have to be careful as some is so bad as to be useless and even the better ones are never quite as good as original.
__________________









Eliminate all other factors, and the one which remains must be the truth.
joeten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2013, 05:14 AM   #12
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: lower mich
Posts: 143
OS: Windows 7/



Quote:
Originally Posted by joeten View Post
You can get cheaper inks though you have to be careful as some is so bad as to be useless and even the better ones are never quite as good as original.
I tried "cheaper ink"they leaked, and i had a mess on my hands in no time thanks joe bob s

__________________
bsa_bob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Startup Nokia 6500 without battery
Hi my friends. I use 2 mobile phones for 2 other mobile numbers. My second mobile now not work , but i have an old nokia 6500 classic, which have not battery and i dont know it work or no to buy new battery. Now i want to know , maybe there is methods that i can startup my 6500 classic without...
felosargsyan777 Other Mobile Devices & Operating Systems 2 06-30-2013 10:06 AM
Cisco 6500 Layer 3 Switch Help
Hello again guys. I have an issue that I have been dealing with at work and my boss/uncle is really grilling me to get it done as soon as possible. The problem is, I'm stuck. I'm configuring a Cisco Catalyst 6500 layer 3 switch. I have configured some 2950s and 3500s, but nothing of this...
jtikalsky Networking Support 1 07-19-2011 11:35 AM
Infoprint 6500 V15 code page problem
I have this Infoprint 6500 V15 and I am looking for the help all over the world. Even Infoprint tech support is not sure how to help me. This is the latest msg from them to the rest of their supp.team: Summary actual situation: ITSC sold a 6500 (ASCII only) to Bosnia. It can print the required...
Azbaha Printer Support 0 06-06-2011 11:48 PM
HP Officejet 6500 - Paper mismatch
I have been using my HP Officejet 6500 with no problem at all since last week when I started getting the message "Paper mismatch" either when trying to print or when getting a fax. What should I try to do so as to solve this problem?
stevthym Printer Support 1 05-23-2011 04:29 AM
Hp officejet 6500 fax problem
Hi I bought a hp 6500 officejet all-in-one printer not to long ago and im having trouble with the fax, ive set it up, got the page printout that says everything is fine but for some reason i cant send or receive any faxes, also when sending a fax the senders fax number that is suppose to be my...
avernus Printer Support 2 04-23-2011 07:28 PM

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:34 AM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts