Go Back   Tech Support Forum > Microsoft Support > Windows XP Support

how to reset windows mouse settings?

This is a discussion on how to reset windows mouse settings? within the Windows XP Support forums, part of the Tech Support Forum category. basically i want to figure out how to reset windows mouse settings to default. any1 can help?


Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-05-2008, 01:04 PM   #1
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



basically i want to figure out how to reset windows mouse settings to default.
any1 can help?

__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 02:33 PM   #2
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 207
OS: XP Pro SP2



What settings are wrong? I might be able to help walk you through setting "default" ones in the mouse control panel, although there is no button to do this.

__________________
tech313 is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 02:36 PM   #3
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



What is the make and model number of the mouse?

Does it have an install disk with it?
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 03:17 PM   #4
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



i dont use mouse drivers i just want like all the settings back to default like a screenshot of what all the settings should be default in CPANEL -> Printers and other hardware -> Mouse
since my brother on my computer changed sensitivity for a game he played it messed everything up (suck as mouse click speed, and sensitivity).
also is their like a way to clean the whole mouse registry?
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 03:43 PM   #5
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



As far as I know there is no mouse registry but there more than likely settings in the registry for the mouse since the registry contains everything about windows. WHere and what they are I actually do not know and even if I did this is one area that you should not be messing with unless you are an expert with windows registry and I am afraid that you are not an expert.

If in add/remove programs you have anything about the mouse like Microsoft Intellipoint 5.3 you can remove this and then re-install after you reboot the computer likewise with anything like Logitech mouse items, and also re-install after rebooting.
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-05-2008, 04:42 PM   #6
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



nope nothing in add remove about mouse or microsoft intelli
also would repairing my whole registry with default settings with tweakUI have any affect?
also if any1 can help me gettin all the settings backi to default in cpanel for mouse that be great
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 04:16 PM   #7
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



BUMpp11
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 04:28 PM   #8
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


er why don't you just adjust the sliders to your liking?
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 05:43 PM   #9
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



i kinda wanted default ?
the way i alwaysed used
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 05:50 PM   #10
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


ok. by default it's exactly in the middle. or you can ask a friend who hasn't changed the default options to confirm.
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 05:51 PM   #11
TSF Enthusiast
 
ThorXP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 2,568
OS: Windows XP Pro SP3, Kubuntu & Ubuntu 8.10



I did a search on the Microsoft Knowledge base for reset mouse to default settings and got this listing:

http://support.microsoft.com/search/...3comm=1&res=20

Give this a look see and if you find something a try.....
__________________
I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
Heaven goes by favorites, If it didn't then your dog would get in first. Amen.
ThorXP is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 06:03 PM   #12
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


If you have Tweak UI, then clicking on "Restore factory settins" under the Mouse tab should do I think...
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline  
Old 11-06-2008, 08:46 PM   #13
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



i do not see anything about restore under mouse
heres ScreenShot
but will reparing regedit to default under tweakui be good or bad?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	o0-o0o.bmp
Views:	1215
Size:	664.0 KB
ID:	35955  
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 01:14 AM   #14
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


which version are you using? if it's older than 2.10, download this one:
http://www.download.com/Tweak-UI/300...-10002117.html

In the screenshot it shows a restore factory settings button.
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 12:55 PM   #15
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



ok trying it now
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 01:00 PM   #16
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



ok i unistalled my old tweakui and rebooted installed the one your link was at
i download it and the one i have does not look anything like the one posted on that link.
It still looks the same as the one i had in my first screenshot.
nothing different. :\
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 01:09 PM   #17
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


:(
Have you tried looking for the restore button under all the mouse settings (Hover, wheel, x-mouse)?

If that doesn't work, there's one way-- your screenshot says that the mouse sensitivity, etc. are per-user settings. that means they're set individually for every user. so you can just create a new user account, log in to that account and see what the numerical values for those settings are there (those will be the default ones). then log back into your account, enter the settings and delete the account you made. Hope this works.
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 02:26 PM   #18
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 181
OS: xp



ok ill do that and get back to you
and there is no restore
only a restore regedit and a few others for example they have a restore icons, font folder, a bucnh other icons and a restore unread mailcount
__________________
brandonengell is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 02:33 PM   #19
Custom User Title
 
ssj4Gogeta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: India
Posts: 1,884
OS: Windows XP SP2, Vista, Ubuntu Intrepid Ibex, Leopard (Kalyway)

My System


I'm sorry but I don't think I'll be able to check your reply today. It's 3 am here and I need to get some sleep before my 6 hours class which starts at 8 am.
bye :)
__________________
ssj4Gogeta is offline  
Old 10-19-2009, 01:38 PM   #20
Registered Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Canuck
Posts: 1
OS: 98se 2K XP Vsta Lnx ect...



It's a long while since any reply to this thread has come about!
"How to reset windows mouse settings" but the info here in this thread is clever
(ssj4Gogeta)
and not too old... so I joined and this is my first post.
brandonengell is asking the same thing I needed to know for an old Win98se machine, so
here is the answer for this OS = 98se and it worked pefectly after I rebooted.

Run regedit and use this fairly self explanatory way of setting your mouse to default
for Windows 98 ,not exactly default but this may be closer to what you are looking for?
There is likely just as simple a way for 2K or XP but I opted to join and post here instead
of search this out but I will find out for my I7 machine that sits in parts in boxes until
time allows assembly.
I am an avid gamer in mind with no time to be avid as to play like I used to.

Thanks to this URL and it's writer.

http://www.mvps.org/serenitymacros/win98.html

This reg file contains the general mouse settings.

REGEDIT
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Mouse]
;The time in milliseconds for two click to be considered a double click
"DoubleClickSpeed"="500"
;If mouse speed is 0 then no aceleration
;If mouse speed is 1 then when the mouse has moved the number of pixels in MouseThreshold1
;during one interupt the speed is doubled
;If mouse speed is 2 then when the mouse has moved the number of pixels in MouseThreshold1
;during one interupt the speed is doubled and when it has moved the number of pixels in MouseThreshold2
;during one interupt the speed is quadrupled
"MouseSpeed"="1"
"MouseThreshold1"="4"
"MouseThreshold2"="0"
;Swaps the left / right buttons
"SwapMouseButtons"="0"
[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Control Panel\Desktop]
;The lines to scroll the page per click when rotating the wheel. minus numbers is pages
"WheelScrollLines"="-1"
;The number of pixels that the mouse can move to be considered a double click or drag
"DoubleClickHeight"="2"
"DoubleClickWidth"="2"
"DragHeight"="2"
"DragWidth"="2"
[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\Config\0001\Display\Settings]
;0 is no trails, 7 is maximun trails
"MouseTrails"="7"

end of post...Brax

__________________
Braxis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is on
Smilies are on
[IMG] code is on
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Post a Question


» Site Navigation
 > FAQ
  > 10.0.0.2


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 09:30 PM.


Copyright 2001 - 2014, Tech Support Forum

Windows 7 - Windows XP - Windows Vista - Trojan Removal - Spyware Removal - Virus Removal - Networking - Security - Top Web Hosts